Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.946435
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I recently started volunteering with RPSM after moving to Michigan. I think it's great that this group is able to save the lives of so many unwanted dogs because they ended up in shelters because the... more

August 9, 2014

I love that I'm able to help RPSM in ways I never thought would be possible! I'm disabled and unable to work because I get dizzy a lot when standing for any amount of time. When I found out I could help by doing work from home, on my pc, I was overjoyed at the opportunity to help out a great group of people and a great program! The dogs, trainers, and volunteers all benefit from this great program, and I'm so happy to be a part of it!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for more foster homes!! We are ALWAYS in need of foster homes for the dogs that need to come into our program. We can only help so many dogs with limited foster homes!! So please, if you have room in your home and your heart, please foster, you won't be sorry!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering with RPSM after moving to Michigan. I think it's great that this group is able to save the lives of so many unwanted dogs because they ended up in shelters because they lacked the training to be a 'desirable' pet. With the help of trainers at the prison in Coldwater, we are saving the lives of many men and dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned of RPSM by accident when I was searching for just the right addition to my household. I saw a dog that I fell in love with from his picture. I started inquiring about him and found out HE WAS TRAINED TOO!!! The more I learned about RPSM, the more I respected their roll in helping unfortuante animals get a chance at forever.

After I adopted my big boy and he got all settled in, I contacted RPSM to let them know I (we) would like to open our home to other animals in transition. We (my 2 dogs and I) feel it is only right to share our good fortune and blessings with others.

Fostering will lift your spirits and warm your heart. It's not a life-long commitment, just a very important one. Think about becoming a foster parent with RPSM. You will be glad!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get them $$$ to advertise, advertise, advertise. Many people don't know about the inmate training program. Would be great to get a news spot or documentary. I know, high hopes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fostering dogs for RPSM for 8 months, I have never seen or heard anything like this before and I absolutely love it. Everyone I have meet that helps with the program go out of there way to help anyone or any animal. I couldn't ask for a better program to volunteer for. I especially love getting to meet new people and animals. I think the program not only helps the animals but the prisoners as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A fantastic organization that really cares about the animals. The prison program has changed so many prisoners lives soo amazing. I foster for RPSM and i plan to continue for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for RPSM a little over a year ago and I am so glad I did. I already had 3 dogs, but knew there were so many others out there that needed someone and wanted to find a way to help them too. As luck would have it, I saw a post on Facebook looking for volunteers for RPSM and I thought it would be perfect. I am proud of every one of the dogs that RPSM has been able to make a difference in the lives of. Seeing how the dogs make a difference in the prisoners lives and how the prisoners make a difference in the dogs lives makes me see what a positive thing this program is. The group is wonderful and I have not only found a group that does positive things for people and dogs, but I have also found some very good friends and wonderful people. As long as I am able, I will continue to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I have volunteered in a few ways for RPSM. They really do try everything to help as many animals as possible. They are actually taking in one of my mothers dogs into their prison program this week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

My Mother was looking for a dog since hers had passed away. I found a dog for her through this group and the dog and my Mother are great together. This group is a good group that not only helps the dogs but also the people in prison too. The dogs can than be placed in homes and have basic training needs completed. Wonderful program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I was introduced to RPSM by a friend who was adopting a dog. Both of my elderly dogs had passed away during the previous year. I had started looking at rescue organizations and when I learned that R... more

April 10, 2013

My husband and I adopted Gracie June from RPSM last August. He says that she is the "perfect" dog, and she's pretty darned close! The training she had in the prison really facilitated her transition from the streets to coddled home. RPSM screens potential adopters carefully to determine suitability of homes, owners and pets. They do education about spaying and neutering. What really attracted me to the program though was the rehab potential for the incarcerated trainers. This could be something that really turns their lives around. This is an amazing group, totally devoted to their cause. I also do occasional volunteer work for them and wish I could do more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

I was introduced to RPSM by a friend who was adopting a dog. Both of my elderly dogs had passed away during the previous year. I had started looking at rescue organizations and when I learned that RPSM worked with rehabbing prison inmates as well as dogs, I was sold! The difference the dogs make for the prisoners and that the prisoners make for the dogs is truly a God-thing. After adopting our Gracie through them, I became a volunteer. This is the only rescue group that I know of that rescues people and pets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

I had lost my best friend of 12 years, Zeek, and was looking at pet finder. The sweetest little face caught my eye. He was Buttons, a RPSM rescue. I knew I wanted him, so I filled out an applicatio... more

April 9, 2013

RPSM is the best ! They seriously care about the pets they rescue and adopt, and that love shows in the wonderufl animals and the happy people who adopt them. The prison program is fantastic, a definite win, Win, WIN for everyone. I highly recommend this program to anyone searching for a wonder new addition to their family, and wish that more people could foster and adopt rescue animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

I had lost my best friend of 12 years, Zeek, and was looking at pet finder. The sweetest little face caught my eye. He was Buttons, a RPSM rescue. I knew I wanted him, so I filled out an application. It seemed crazy at first, the references, vet check, and even a home interview. The more I went through the process, the more sense it made. There are too many bad people out there who abuse dogs, and some are, well, basically ignorant of what a pet entails. They are a member of the family, and require love, attention, discipline and vet care. The fence requirement almost ended it for me, but the meeting with Kathy B. changed that, she realized I knew what I was doing and also that "Buttons" now Butters, had the qualities that would fit with me and no fence. It seemed like forever while I waited, the updates from the prison helped, and man was I ready when my adoption day came ! I have had wonderful experiences with RPSM, their compassion and concern for the animals is the tops, and Kathy B. was, and is, a wonderful foster (and now a great friend, she probably gets sick of my calls and pic posts...lol). Diane was very helpful with the updates also. It was well worth the wait, and almost a year later, Butters and I are both happy and healthy, and fence free, and I have met wonderful people with the same compassion for fur kids as I have. Wish I could do more. I am glad I could hook up Sheri and Penny and Barkley, I will continue to try to match people and pets. I think if everyone was as intuitive as Kathy with the fence issue, more would possibly be adopted, but I do understand the concerns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Volunteering for a 100% non profit organization that rehibilitaes not only unwanted, death row dogs, and prisoners that train them and enable the dogs to be adopted is one of the most rewarding things I have ever done in my life! This program does not cost our taxpayers a dime. It is funded by fundraisers, grants, and wonderful donations. The adopters of the trained dogs are thoroughly questioned to ensure provided our well trained, totally vetted dogs a forever home. Far too many dogs are euthanized yearly due to many reasons that are superficial at most. The dogs, after being trained are wonderful and the inmates doing the training find emotions that they never knew in their lifetime. A win-win program for all concerned.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help transport a pet to a vet appointment or help with a fundraiser. There are always things that RPSM needs volunteers to help with. Volunteer