Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.933335
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I am very please with the screening process RPSM does to find the very best and the most likely to succeed homes for these companions. We were matched up with a very nice dog and she fit into our family perfectly. She will be with us forever. It is only because of the time that the RPSM people took to match us up that this worked so well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

After taking in a homeless 5 month old puppy, I soon discovered the dog and my 12 year old cat were completely incompatible. I didn't want to abandon the dog, but, for the safety of the cat, couldn't keep it in my home. Faced with this dilemma, a friend recommended contacting Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan. So I did, and from that very first contact, RPSM was wonderful in helping me find a positive solution to a difficult situation. The people in the RPSM organization understood the dog/cat problem and were quick to respond. Within a week's time, the puppy was temperament tested and given the opportunity to be housed with a caring volunteer and start the next prison/partner program. They were prompt in answering my many questions, they understood my concerns, they empathized with my feelings, and they were 100% solution-based in helping me find the best possible situation and future home for my dog. It was a pleasure working with RPSM, and I can't thank them enough for their kindness and compassion!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Like many other adopters, we had lost a beloved pet. Our beagle seemed to grieve the loss like we did, and we decided to adopt another dog to keep him company. That was when we found RPSM. We were very impressed with their prison training program. We found Gus and filled out an application for him. We had a great visit with his foster mom when she came for our home visit. The adoption process went quickly and smoothly. We had to wait a few weeks for Gus to complete his training, but it went by quickly as we received regular updates on his progress. We knew his favorite toys before he came home. The day we picked him up, Gus was a bit stressed because of all the changes that he had gone through that day - leaving the prison, going back to his foster home, and then meeting us and his new brother. But he soon settled in with the family routine and everyone in the family loves him. Even our four year old nephew can play with him like he's his own dog. We love being able to see updates of the other adopted dogs and seeing the new dogs as they come into the RPSM program. The RPSM volunteers do a wonderful job and were a pleasure to work with through the adoption process. We speak highly of RPSM and recommend them to everyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

After the loss of our beloved Charlie (a white standard poodle) to cancer, I was sure the hole in my heart would never close. However, I went on line to RPSM and there was a litter of standards ready for adoption. Because of the timeliness of the posting, I could only rationalize my good fortune as angels sent from Charlie.....thus Bosley came into my life. Bosley is an apricot standard poodle and a true treasure. Anyone who comes in contact with him is immediately drawn to his hypnotic eyes and loving nature. All who get to know him, ask about him constantly.....he is unforgettable. I cannot thank RPSM enough for all the work and care they do for animals in need. I also cannot thank them enough for all the concern and deligence they demonstrate in the adoption procedures. They are top-notch!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

We adopted our dog, Jordy, in August of this year for our 7 year old son. We were so excited to find a group that would take a dog with a good personality and put them through professional obedience training before sending them off to their new homes. This worked particularly well with us. We are experienced dog people but are at a busy time in our lives so bringing in a dog that knew the basics of obedience allowed my son to interact positively with Jordy as soon as he arrived. He still loves to show off Jordy's "skills" to anyone visiting the house. Even though Jordy had a few emotional scars from his early life, we have found that his obedience foundation has helped us work through this. I would also like to commend the community of volunteers working for RPSM. They are a fantastic group of people who truly care about the dogs and their new familites. The Facebook community is great and keeps the adopters connected with each other and their fosters. I love to read the updates on dogs I've never met but feel I know from hearing their stories and updates. I volunteered for other dog rescues for many years in another state but I can say that this group is special. The positive attitudes and sense of community is the best I have ever experienced. Jordy has not only touched our hearts but he has also helped bring our older dog, Buddy, out of his shell. Buddy was a severe abuse case who never really learned how to play. Jordy came in and was so well socialized that he quickly won Buddy over and taught him how to play for the first time in his 13 years. The two now entertain us with their antics and rough-housing. He's even won over our cat. I don't think he'd ever seen one before because he didn't seem to recognize the smell. But now the two curl up together on a dog bed and snooze. I credit the personality profiling and socialization done by RPSM for selecting such a sweet dog for inclusion in their program. Overall, we have been very happy with our new addition and I'd say he's pretty darn happy here. A great big thank you to all the dedicated RPSM volunteers. You have certainly made a difference in Jordy's life. Thank you for seeing somethig gspecial in him and bringing him to us. We love him dearly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

On May 5th, I lost my best fur-girlfriend, Thelma Jane to cancer. My two adoptees from RPSM, Penelope Louise "Penny" and Barkley LeRoy "Barkley" have helped soothe the pain of such a loss. Our family is grateful for all who played a part in this amazing journey to bring us all together. RPSM is the BEST rescue organization! These people have hearts bigger than their bodies. I can't thank them enough for the work they do, and for allowing "Sweet P" and "Barkles" to join our home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I adopted a dog from RPSM earlier this year, and I couldn't be happier with him. Everyone thinks he is the nicest dog, and they're impressed by his training (he's also very beautiful!). We make sure to tell everyone where we got him, and we encourage them to look into adopting from RPSM as well--if they're thinking about adding a dog to their family. RPSM was always available--before and after the adoption--to answer questions and concerns and offer help. They are invested in finding great homes for their dogs and ensuring that the match between dog and family is perfect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Our hearts were broken from loosing a much loved dog when we first learned of RPSM. The process was intense and smooth all at the same time. We believe this process is why they have such a great success rate. All the way up till we met our dog we learned about him through detailed updates provided by the inmates/trainers through RPSM. This. Helped us to bond with him before we met him. They described him in such great detail. We met him and fell hard. He is the calmest and sweetest dog we have ever owned. Our hearts have healed with the help of all the people and this lovable character Buckley from RPSM. I recommend them happily and constantly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I was fortunate to adopt a RPSM dog, Jax. He is so well behaved, trained and so cute. This group not only rescues dog from unhealthy places, trains them at a local prison, but adopts them out to only those families that are suited for their dogs. The prisoners who train the dogs are so attached to them and they bond with them while teaching them the basics as well extra fun tricks. I love my dog and appreciate and support RPSM for the work that they do on a daily basis. Thank you, RPSM!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

As soon as I saw Teddy on your website, I was totally in love with this dog. Diane Anthony couldnt be nicer and helped me through the adoption process. Since I live 5 hours from RPSM, I couldnt do a at home interview, I sent Diane pictures of my home, and family for review, I had a phone interview with Teddy's foster Mom, Keri Ramirez, who couldnt have been nicer. When I got the phone call from Diane that we were approved and Teddy was ours, I think I cried. I drove that poor woman crazy with my emails and phone calls, but she was always a joy to work with. I tell everyone I know about your rescue and how wonderful it is. Teddy was too little for the prison program, but he was well behaved and housebroken from the day we got him. We have him since March and I couldnt imagine life without him. He is an amazing little guy!!! THANK YOU RPSM!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help transport a pet to a vet appointment or help with a fundraiser. There are always things that RPSM needs volunteers to help with. Volunteer