Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I learned of RPSM by accident when I was searching for just the right addition to my household. I saw a dog that I fell in love with from his picture. I started inquiring about him and found out HE WAS TRAINED TOO!!! The more I learned about RPSM, the more I respected their roll in helping unfortuante animals get a chance at forever.

After I adopted my big boy and he got all settled in, I contacted RPSM to let them know I (we) would like to open our home to other animals in transition. We (my 2 dogs and I) feel it is only right to share our good fortune and blessings with others.

Fostering will lift your spirits and warm your heart. It's not a life-long commitment, just a very important one. Think about becoming a foster parent with RPSM. You will be glad!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get them $$$ to advertise, advertise, advertise. Many people don't know about the inmate training program. Would be great to get a news spot or documentary. I know, high hopes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

I have family & friends who work at the prison where these dogs are trained. All speak highly of the RPSM program. The dogs are socialized but if one doesn't pass muster, it is removed from the program. Most are so eager to please! This program benefits the animals, teaches patience & compassion to the inmate responsible for their care, as well as the adopting individual or family. This is truly a win-win program!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I can think of at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I have been fostering dogs for RPSM for 8 months, I have never seen or heard anything like this before and I absolutely love it. Everyone I have meet that helps with the program go out of there way to help anyone or any animal. I couldn't ask for a better program to volunteer for. I especially love getting to meet new people and animals. I think the program not only helps the animals but the prisoners as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

A fantastic organization that really cares about the animals. The prison program has changed so many prisoners lives soo amazing. I foster for RPSM and i plan to continue for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

I started volunteering for RPSM a little over a year ago and I am so glad I did. I already had 3 dogs, but knew there were so many others out there that needed someone and wanted to find a way to help them too. As luck would have it, I saw a post on Facebook looking for volunteers for RPSM and I thought it would be perfect. I am proud of every one of the dogs that RPSM has been able to make a difference in the lives of. Seeing how the dogs make a difference in the prisoners lives and how the prisoners make a difference in the dogs lives makes me see what a positive thing this program is. The group is wonderful and I have not only found a group that does positive things for people and dogs, but I have also found some very good friends and wonderful people. As long as I am able, I will continue to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering with rpsm about 4 yrs. ago. I was retired, widowed, and needed to do something that would make a difference for the dogs I was seeing in shelters. I found this rescue to be one of the most caring and devoted rescues to work with. The prison training program is a winner for both the dog and the inmate trainers. I became a "foster failure" during my first year, by adopting the dog I had fostered. There was a real connection between this cho. Lab. named Hank and me. After his wonderful training I decided he had to be mine. I cannot say enough about how great this program is and how it changes the lives of so many people and dogs. The inmates that become trainers are learning a skill that has helped several find careers upon release from prison. The dogs are saved, trained and adopted and are given a second chance to enjoy the love of a family. All of our volunteers are so giving of their time and energy and are always willing to go that extra mile to help in anyway. As long as I can walk a dog I will continue volunteering with rpsm.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Hi, We have adopted twice through Rpsm and both times it has been a wonderful expierence. Our first Abby is a treasure even though she is a little ball obsessed. She could play all day if only would could throw that long. Our second boy was pretty timid(Shield) and it took a long time for him to truly blossom but Ozzy as he is now called is a crazy happy bundle of joy now. we stay in touch with the folks from Rpsm and send pics and post on Facebook all about our furkids for the world to see. If ever we adopt again and I am sure we will in time they will be our first contact. They care deeply about the dogs they foster and want the best for all parties. We are he proud parents of 5 rescue dogs and I must say these guys took the most care in checking us out before placing a dog with us and I feel that is very important.
Karen and Karl Long

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted Cinder more two years ago. We love her so much, she is a great addition to our family. We are looking forward to bring Daisy home later this month. Thanks to all the volunteers that make this program be a success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

In May my family and I were searching for a family pet. We came upon a beautiful dog named Juliet and immediately fell in love. We looked into adopting her and contacted RPSM and filled out the paperwork. We later found out what a fantastic organization we had become apart of. These dogs are strays, abandoned and not wanted dogs, and RPSM builds these dogs back up again by using prisioners at Coldwater Penitentiary to train them. It not only helps the dogs, but the inmates as well. We were so thrilled with how the apodtion process went and what a fantastic dog Juliet was, that we apodted another dog Bo 3mo later. Since then RPSM have become more of a second family to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger so they can help more animals..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I was introduced to RPSM by a friend who was adopting a dog. Both of my elderly dogs had passed away during the previous year. I had started looking at rescue organizations and when I learned that R... more

April 10, 2013

My husband and I adopted Gracie June from RPSM last August. He says that she is the "perfect" dog, and she's pretty darned close! The training she had in the prison really facilitated her transition from the streets to coddled home. RPSM screens potential adopters carefully to determine suitability of homes, owners and pets. They do education about spaying and neutering. What really attracted me to the program though was the rehab potential for the incarcerated trainers. This could be something that really turns their lives around. This is an amazing group, totally devoted to their cause. I also do occasional volunteer work for them and wish I could do more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

I was introduced to RPSM by a friend who was adopting a dog. Both of my elderly dogs had passed away during the previous year. I had started looking at rescue organizations and when I learned that RPSM worked with rehabbing prison inmates as well as dogs, I was sold! The difference the dogs make for the prisoners and that the prisoners make for the dogs is truly a God-thing. After adopting our Gracie through them, I became a volunteer. This is the only rescue group that I know of that rescues people and pets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help transport a pet to a vet appointment or help with a fundraiser. There are always things that RPSM needs volunteers to help with. Volunteer