Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I found RPSM 4 years ago when searching for my first dog. Upon learning about their program, I knew this was the rescue we would get our dog from. Willow was everything you could hope for in a dog. And I know that the work the trainers did with her that helped her to become the best dog she could be. We were so impressed with RPSM that I began to do home visits for potential adopters and have also fostered for them. Which is how we ended up with our second dog, Cricket. He was what we call a "foster fail." We just couldn't give him up. So now we have two great dogs from RPSM. I wouldn't adopt for any other rescue. I refer everyone who is looking to adopt a dog to RPSM. I cannot say enough good things about this rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We had to put our 14 yr old lab down on Christmas Day 2013. A few months passed. Our other small dog Sophie, missed Cocoa terribly. She was unhappy for weeks. She would lay the patio door watching for her to come home. I began searching for a lab or lab mix on Petfinder.com I located Ellie's picture and bio. She was in foster care in Coldwater, MI. So her journey home began! She was a 6 month old stray that was picked up running the streets. RPSM put her in foster care until she was evaluated and accepted into Coldwater Inmate Training Program. We received weekly updates and evaluations from her training team. We were notified when she had graduated and told when and where to pick her up. She was 9 months old the day she was released from the program. I picked her up that same day at her foster mom's home. As I signed the adoption papers, she laid down next to me and fell asleep. It took very little time for her to acclimate to our home. RPSM are very attentive to your questions and concerns post adoption. We were encouraged to call or email with any time. We were amazed at the numerous commands Ellie knew and especially grateful that she was completely housebroken. She's never had an accident. Ellie is a beautiful, energetic one year old, black lab mix. She LOVES to play with Sophie and has brought new energy and happiness back to our household. She runs around the back yard with glee, trying to keep her toys from Sophie. She also loves to play in the hose and bite the water! Her only bad behavior now is barking at dogs that pass by. However, most of her anxiety is provoked by Sophie who is a yappy small dog breed. LOL We are putting her in a program to socialize her more with other dogs and further her leash training. We have been truly blessed by the time and effort the volunteers at RPSM have given, to bring Ellie to our forever home. We just LOVE her! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the foster mom review and show me how to use the commands my dog learned in the prison program before I took my dog home. We were given an "instruction manual" but I would have benefitted more if the commands were shown to me in person.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered rpsm when I was searching for my first dog. I was thrilled that they could give me so much information about temperament and personality. When I read about shiloh I knew he was the dog for us. The volunteers for this organization clearly love these animals and make sure that they are a good fit for adopters. Shiloh is the very best dog I've ever known. Everyone falls in love with him. He's just a kind, gentle sole. Our lives were so boring before he joined our family. I will never look anywhere else for a dog again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have these wonderful volunteers paid! They give so much of their time to these beautiful animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were looking for a dog after we lost our boxer, and we discovered RPSM. We saw the various dogs available through them, and found our cute Ransom... he had the look of a clown, and sure enough, that's just what he is. The trainers said he wasn't the most brilliant dog, but he sure is lovable... and he knows his tricks really well. We laugh at him every day, and I just appreciate so much what RPSM does to help save these animals that might have been euthanized if they'd been left in the shelters. Thank you, and give the trainers our thanks again for training our Handsome Ransom!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

after we picked the two dogs we wanted. and things were put into motion for adoption , we started getting up dated on the progress they were making with their training at the cold water prison. this was hand written letters from the prisoners that trained the dogs. i was impressed that the dogs and prisoners lived together during this training.
finally we got the dogs. we were very pleased with the condition, and their behavior.
today we have two dogs i would never give up . they are healthy loyal and obey their commands to the letter. we would highly recommend looking at the dogs with in the prison training system.
by the way the two we got were play buddies at the prison and i have never seen two dogs that played ,slept and ate together so well

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more advertising for the dogs at the prison . not just face book which a lot of people dont go to

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I recently started volunteering with RPSM after moving to Michigan. I think it's great that this group is able to save the lives of so many unwanted dogs because they ended up in shelters because the... more

August 9, 2014

I love that I'm able to help RPSM in ways I never thought would be possible! I'm disabled and unable to work because I get dizzy a lot when standing for any amount of time. When I found out I could help by doing work from home, on my pc, I was overjoyed at the opportunity to help out a great group of people and a great program! The dogs, trainers, and volunteers all benefit from this great program, and I'm so happy to be a part of it!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for more foster homes!! We are ALWAYS in need of foster homes for the dogs that need to come into our program. We can only help so many dogs with limited foster homes!! So please, if you have room in your home and your heart, please foster, you won't be sorry!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering with RPSM after moving to Michigan. I think it's great that this group is able to save the lives of so many unwanted dogs because they ended up in shelters because they lacked the training to be a 'desirable' pet. With the help of trainers at the prison in Coldwater, we are saving the lives of many men and dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My Golden Retriever, Bear, passed in April 2013 and by May I was really missing the companionship a pet offers. I wanted another Golden Retriever, but didn't know where to go to find one. I did a general search on the internet for Golden Retrievers and the RPSM Group came up with a hit for an adoptable Golden Retriever mix. I took one look at Cedar and knew she was the dog for me. I contacted the RPSM Group through their website and the rest is history. They worked with me through the whole adoption process, from application to approval to the day I picked Cedar up in June. Their program for training dogs is amazing. The behavior Cedar learned through her training with her handlers at the prison is why she's the well behaved, social girl she is today.

I am seriously thinking about getting a fur sibling for Cedar and wouldn't go anywhere else.

I HIGHLY recommend the RSPM Group to anyone looking for a well trained pet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Little did I know that a picture of a little terrier mix would change my life. After mourning my 14 year old corgi's death and thinking I could never go through that pain again, I found Mickey's picture while web surfing rescue sights. I live over 4 hours away and worried that distance would affect the adoption process; yet RPSM assured me I could adopt if I met their requirements. The rest is history! I'm the proud owner of Mickey-Moo my little clown who happens to be all terrier-even tho he's really a mutt!! After bringing him home I needed advice on an unexpected behavior issue that was kinda scary. They were right on the mark with their advice and he has blossomed. No more issues. He gets along with dogs and people. They were upfront about his high prey instinct and we manage it with games and toys and water play. We let him hunt mice and shrews in the yard and occasionally he grabs the unfortunate bird from the air but I understand this is part of being a terrier. He can't help himself. He loves to hunt. He's my little shadow and life is very busy again Now, if only I had his energy . . . Thank you RPSM for knowing that he was worth saving. Gotta go. Mickey is telling me something. No, Timmys not in the well; I think he said "Thanks RPSM".

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dulce joined our family in October of 2013 and she has been a pleasure. We bore our friends and co-workers with stories and photos of her antics. She has settled right in to a home with two senior citizens and 5 other assorted pets. We talk often about our experience with RPSM and what wonderful work they do. They gave Dulce a chance when no one would adopt her. No, she isn't perfect and no, she didn't complete the program but, if it weren't for RPSM, she might never have been adopted. When we are ready for another dog we will be in touch with RPSM...even though we live a long way away!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have family & friends who work at the prison where these dogs are trained. All speak highly of the RPSM program. The dogs are socialized but if one doesn't pass muster, it is removed from the program. Most are so eager to please! This program benefits the animals, teaches patience & compassion to the inmate responsible for their care, as well as the adopting individual or family. This is truly a win-win program!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I can think of at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help transport a pet to a vet appointment or help with a fundraiser. There are always things that RPSM needs volunteers to help with. Volunteer