Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I have been following the lionfish debacle for a few years now, and was delighted that they offered some unique and artistic designs on t-shirts that would get the word out to those unaware of their Atlantic invasion. I ordered one and decided to pick it up at their HQ in Key Largo while vacationing in the Keys. They were very friendly and helpful group who informed me how I could get involved as a free diver here in our own Indian River Lagoon. Hats off to their Lionfish Derbies, as they are always a huge success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

As a volunteer new to eco-activism, I looked to established agencies for knowledge, expertise, inspiration and guidance in my fields of interest, marine conservation and community involvement in areas affected by invasive species, specifically lionfish. REEF's leadership with their Invasive Lionfish Program is second to none in dealing directly with this threat to marine biodiversity and coastal communities that depend on sustainable ocean productivity for their livelihoods.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Explore critical relationships between marine conservation issues and humanitarian issues. Search blueventures.org in this regard.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have done surveys in the California region for about 4 years and on the Advanced Assessment Team as well. Doing surveys is a lot of fun and knowing what I am looking at has helped hold my interest in my SCUBA diving generally. The educational component is exceptional and I would add that the people that work for REEF, like Janna Nichols and Christy Semmens are simply amazing and dedicated individuals who really demonstrate they want what is best for the members and the critters we encounter. i'm glad to be associated with such a fine organization!
May 12, 2014

more

May 12, 2014

I have been contributing to REEF's database of dive surveys for over 5 years now and I really like the amount of support they provide to divers and snorkelers at any level. Their web site is a wealth of information, not only their database but also quizzes for all different regions. Their free webinars aka "Fishinars" are always fun and entertaining to be experienced from the comfort of your home. To top if all off, they have friendly staff to answer any kind of questions you may have from your dive experiences. I learned so much regarding the critters I see in the ocean and it keeps it interesting and fresh. REEF offers a lot for FREE but actually they are priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

REEF is my favorite non-profit. It is a group that gets stuff done! I started surveying with REEF in 2002 and have stayed involved with various projects pretty much since then. What is so amazing about REEF is the sheer numbers of volunteers. Love REEF!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish they had more funding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

I have been diving as a REEF fish count volunteer for about a decade. It has been a great experience working with REEF staff over the years and having an opportunity to contribute to their data collection of species abundance and diversity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It's 21 years and counting that I've been working with REEF in one way or another - advising, hosting volunteers, partnering on research, using their data in management, and volunteering. I know of no more active or productive volunteer-based organization. What an awesome outlet for anyone with a desire to learn more about the ocean while helping protect it!
May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a marine biologist for Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary, I have been involved with REEF since 2007. REEF divers are given in-depth exposure to species identification from local experts, have access to online seminars, and participate in field excursions with biologists that further hone their skills in collecting data on fishes, invertebrates and algae along the eastern Pacific, from Washington to California. REEF divers are at the leading edge of the citizen science movement that is rapidly expanding along our coastal waters. Their sense of stewardship, appreciation for ongoing education, and general enthusiasm for the outdoors is contagious!

I highly recommend any divers interested in learning more about the marine environment and with a passion for making a difference to join REEF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve their funding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been working with this organization for 10 years. As far as I am concerned it is the preeminent marine, citizen science non-for-profit in the world. Their positive impact for diving, the environment and educating people about the importance of the oceans and the life therein can not be underestimated. From free online fish ID webinars, to fish watching vacations, to presentations on their many programs for schools and other organizations they have bridged the gap between scientists, politicians and the common individual wanting to learn more about the ocean realm creating a common playing field for all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more grant money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

REEF is a tremendously effective organization in the focused areas of marine science and education. I've learned more through REEF classes and fishinars about my local underwater species and habitats than anywhere else. The knowledge base created and maintained by REEF is not only a helpful tool for scientists, it is also an excellent resource for divers in guiding dive site selection and expectations. I've been a REEF member for several years and have had universally positive experience with this organization, its staff and its volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

conduct a fish survey in the water, teach a fish ID class, attend a free Fishinar, help at REEF HQ in Key Largo Volunteer