Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
123.145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Cannot recommend RR for anything in me. We were lied to during our adoption process and in the end we were hurt and so was another family. RR knew we were coming for a child but refused to move this child to the "my family found me" page since we wanted to use a different facilitation team. They continued to list that child as available even though they knew we were coming for this child. Another family did commit to our child on RR and in the end they and us were left very hurt by the unethical and unChristlike actions of RR.
March 26, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

We were lied to repeatedly by "the team" Reece's Rainbow insisted we needed to use in Ukraine. An attempt was made to have us submit fraudulent paper work to the USA Embassy. We were assured that it would "be OK because we have a friend working in there." Thankfully, we were able to find a way to turn in only legal paperwork lest we face fines and imprisonment for submitting fraudulent paper work. There were many other problems, too numerous to name here. We have adopted before using other groups and facilitators and so know the difference between a good experience and a bad one. While we did get home with our child, we would certainly never recommend that anyone use Reece's Rainbow or their "team" in Ukraine. It was a stressful and unpleasant experience all the way around, and adoption does not need to be that way.
March 25, 2014
32 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
32 people found this review helpful

As a mom of children with special needs and a non-profit director, I often cross paths with this organization. Specifically, I seem to be a safe and compassionate friend for people who have been hurt by this organization.

The word cult has been used by other reviewers, and as sensational
as that sounds, it seems to fit well. You have a charismatic leader who is somewhat mysterious and shows contempt for the masses of supporters. She is insulated from accountability by them. You have secret chat rooms for supporters...it's easy to get ex-communicated from these supportive rooms for asking the wrong question or being friends with the wrong person. Other supporters are always spying you, ready to inform the leadership of any real or perceived violation. You have a situation where funds are slopped around to benefit the non-questioning, well behaved supporters.

If you are one of the many families who have had a wonderful experience with Reece's Rainbow, then good for you! But, nothing can excuse their behavior toward the families they have hurt and cut off from post adoption support groups. My advice to prospective donors is to keep looking, there are many reputable organizations that support adoption AND orphan care. This is not one of them. My advice to prospective adoptive parents is to keep looking, there are safer options for collecting tax deductible contributions for your adoption. And DON'T fall in love with the photo...many of those children are not available. That doesn't matter so much for them because they can always get you to choose another child once you are past the point of no return...and their in-country partners still get paid. Run, Forest! Run!
March 25, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

Had to give 1 star. Negative would be better. All my years in orphan advocacy I have never seen an organization with such a cult like following, that completed disregards and attacks anyone who was unhappy. This is not a Christian organization or an adoption ag ency. They raise grants which they chose to disperse or keep. Thousands and thousands go unaccounted for. Children not available for adoption are used as bait and switch for the criminal facilitator. Question anything and your adoption could be ruined and you will be black balled. Children left to die because Andrea Roberts doesn't like a family in the adoption process. Cps, uscis, and social workers all called with out permission to quiet families . Run. Run fast and far. Much safer organizations.
March 21, 2014
18 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2014
18 people found this review helpful

Adopted two kids listed on Reece's Rainbow. Our second adoption was a nightmare of epic proportions. Our facilitator was rude, not only to us, but to the people we encountered in the process. This facilitator also placed us in a very dangerous situation and was NOT on our side at all! This facilitator was unethical,verbally abusive, erratic and unreliable. Andrea has been known to one actively interfere with adoptions for a variety of reasons, ranging from dislike of the person adopting, to retaliation for wanting to use a non-Reece's Rainbow facilitation team.

My advice to anyone considering using this organization is to find another ministry. There are other adoption ministries out there that operate in safer and more ethical ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

After thorough study and having my many questions fully and transparently answered by the leadership of Reece's Rainbow, my husband and I have become donors. We have supported families financially, to the absolute limits of our abilities, because we have such confidence in the good stewardship and responsibility of the board at Reece's Rainbow. Then we have followed along on each family's adoption journey, and have been impressed with how carefully and diligently the organization supports each family through the process. I think there are some other adoption fundraiser groups who distribute cash to families faster and with less attention, which might be convenient for the families, but as a donor, it's great to have confidence that all rules are followed and that money isn't being wasted. They get 5 stars for accountability, transparency and honesty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I had more to donate. There are so many more children to be saved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Reece's Rainbow not only helped us find our son, but gave us the opportunity to advocate for thousands of other children in need, and helped us fund our adoption. We wouldn't have been able to do it without them. They are an amazing organization, and if we ever adopt again, we will use them again. I love what they do and what they stand for. Ask the naysayers for proof, they have none. Over 1,000 kids they've helped come home! That's enough for me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We completed an adoption from Ukraine in the Fall of 2012 with the help of Reece's Rainbow. Regarding the grants raised, they were extremely helpful in assisting us raise funds and dispersed funds without any hesitation. We used the Ukrainian facilitation team they recommend and found them to be extremely professional, helpful and hard working.

As I continue to be involved with this organization through advocacy and fundraising, I have found them to have the utmost integrity, always remaining focused on helping orphaned children with special needs be adopted into families. They work tirelessly, deal with many different types of people (some with pure intentions, many with bad intentions), but always speak and act with their mission in mind.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Our family has successfully adopted seven children from Eastern Europe and could not have been as successful with our efforts if we had not used this organization. Reece's Rainbow is a grant organization. Their purpose is to help you collect funds for your adoption through a tax deductible FSP. They do not solicit funds for you, that is YOUR job as the adoptive parent. They simply give people a place to donate those funds to so you can use them for your adoption. They also have a team of very knowledgable and professional facilitators that you can use, IF you choose to, for your adoption. We have used these facilitators three times with great success. We have had adoptions that were timely and without surprise costs. These people truly care about the children and families they are serving, especially compared to stories I have heard about other facilitators who seem like they are out for good, and then are anything but. I have heard many outlandish stories from people regarding this organization but all I can do is speak from our own experiences, which have been nothing but wonderful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
14 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
14 people found this review helpful

In the past year, this organization has withheld tens of thousands of dollars from families, they have repeatedly lied, shared confidential information, intentionally bullied, and have facilitators who remove children's files if they are not being used to facilitate the adoption. Most recently, Reece's Rainbow encouraged families to travel to Kiev, during the conflict citing, "it is safe".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Man a booth at a local Buddy Walk
Fundraise through Facebook
Become a Prayer Warrior Volunteer