Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

2010 Top-Rated Nonprofit

Redwood

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Birth Defects & Genetic Diseases, Children & Youth, Health, Job Training, Rehabilitative Care, Vocational Rehabilitation, Youth Development Programs

Mission: Redwood guides children and adults with severe and multiple disabilities to achieve independence and reach their highest potential throughout their lives, by providing enriching educational, therapeutic, and vocational services.  At Redwood, children and adults flourish, prosper, and are empowered to achieve the quality of life they deserve.

Results: Last year, Redwood empowered over 750 children and adults with severe and multiple disabilities to flourish, prosper and achieve the quality of life they deserve

Target demographics: Children and adults with severe and multiple disabilities.

Direct beneficiaries per year: 750+

Geographic areas served: Greater Cincinnati

Programs: Therapeutic Childcare School-Aged before, after, and out-of-school care Summer Computer Camp iRobot Assistive Technology Resource Center lending library Assistive technology evaluation and assessments Speech, physical, and occupational therapy Computer Learning Center Employment Services Work Activity Center Computer Life Skills Adult Day Healthcare Adult Life Skills Adults NOW (New Opportunities Waiting) Preschool Education Early Intervention

Community Stories

10 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Client Served

Rating: 5

When my daughter was born with special needs everyone recommended Redwood. She attended the early childhood intervention programs and now as an adult attends the adult program. I don't know what we would do without them. As an adult it was hard to find a place for her to go every day and feel like she is contributing something. Redwood did not hesitate to take her and makes her feel included in anything she wants to do. Everyone there is so kind and respectful of her. None of her physical disabilities phase any of them. It is truly an amazing place!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/19/2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your story!

Client Served

Rating: 5

For years the Ft. Mitchell, KY, exit off of I75 was just something I drove past on my way to and from the airport. I kept my fingers crossed that nothing would cause me to have to take a Kentucky exit. After all, I was from Ohio and who knows what would happen if I took a Kentucky exit. Little did I know that the Ft. Mitchell exit would one day lead to a fantastic life for my daughter, Taylor. Little did I know that the Ft. Mitchell exit led to Redwood. It's hard to find quality day and after school care for any child. It's even harder finding it for a multi-handicapped child. We were lucky to find day and after school care in Ohio for Taylor for eleven years. But we ran out of luck the summer of 1996. Taylor needed more and more help with personal care and traditional summer camps would not accept her. My fingers were sore from dialing, my throat was sore from begging, and my heart wa sore from rejection. Then I called Redwood. And Redwood said, "Come on down!" The next two years sped along. We lived in Ohio where Taylor attended grade school and after school care. Taylor spent summers attending Redwood summer camp in Kentucky. Things were too good to continue. When Taylor reached middle school we discovered there was NO after school care for anyone. So, I crossed my fingers, I crossed my toes, I crossed my legs, I crossed my eyes, and I dialed Redwood to see if they had after school care. And, once again, Redwood said, "Come on down!" And we did. Only this time we moved to Kentucky. Yes, a family born and raised in Ohio actually pulled up roots and moved to Kentucky. Just so Taylor could attend Redwood. For eight years Taylor attended the School Age Program. In 2006 Taylor turned 21 and graduated to the Adult Independence Program which she continues to attend. Taylor has received so much from Redwood that I felt I needed to give back. So in 2005 I joined the Redwood Board as a Trustee and when I took early retirement from Procter & Gamble signed on as a volunteer. Now everyday Taylor and I take the Ft. Mitchell exit to Redwood. Redwood - a place where Taylor can blossom and thrive; where her special needs are seen, not as obstacles, but just part of every day living; where she can walk down the halls and say "hi" to everyone and have everyone say "hi" back; where she is encouraged to become the best that she, as an individual, can be; where her achievements are acknowledged and praised; where she is accepted; where she is loved.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our son, Ryan started at Redwood in 1987 when he was 5 weeks old in Early Intetevnention. Three years later Samuel started in EI. Samuel is now back in the Adult Services program and loves it. He is so happy to go there in the mornings to see all of his friends and staff. He tells everyone that he works at Redwood. He even wants to go there on my days off school. I am thankful we have such a wonderful place like Redwood so close to us. It serves the needs of so many different individuals.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/19/2010

Thank you for sharing your story.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Post Glover Resistors, Inc. has been in partnership with Redwood since January 2009. Redwood provides clerical support to us by assembling our product binders in the Work Activity Center. Our binders consist of approximately 40 separate pages, and tab inserts between sections. Redwood is responsible for assembling the pages and tabs in the correct order. The staff at Redwood has also been very accommodating in that they provide pick-up from and delivery back to our location. We are very satisfied with our partnership with Redwood and plan to continue said partnership well into the future.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/19/2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. The partnership with Post Glover Resistors is a wonderful one that benefits those we serve on many levels. Thank you, thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Redwood has truly established an organization dedicated to children and adult with disabilities to assist them in living a quality-led life. They have been doing this since 1953 and have been a beaming light in northern Kentucky for those that need their services. I have seen this in my own life through my two daughters. Since March, my 2 year old twin daughters have been enrolled in Redwood and they have fostered their growth and development through speech therapy, occupational therapy, and developmental intervention. My one daughter has autism and I believe Redwood has been instrumental in her growth in communication and social skills. She has grown beyond what she could have without Redwood. Their therapists, teachers, and assistants are top-notch and some of the most caring people I have ever had the privilege knowing.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/19/2010

Thank you for sharing your story!

Client Served

Rating: 5

My younger brother has Down Syndrome and as a teenager my family was looking for summer camp/respite services for him. We heard of Redwood by word of mouth even though we lived over an hour away in Southeastern Indiana. My sister worked as a counselor at Redwood's camp, and drove Tony to and from the camp while she worked with a different group. Redwood's flexibility in meeting Tony's needs were unexpected and made it unique among organizations Tony's been involved with, past and present. My family's experience with Redwood set a new precedent for Tony and the services we pursue to meet his needs.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/05/2010

Thank you for sharing you and your family's story.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My son has been attending Redwood since August 2008. Even before he attended Redwood their therapists were working with him through a State-funded early intervention program. My son is Autistic, ADHD, has both a primary expressive and receptive language delay, and also has a diagnosed sensory disorder. At Redwood my son has both a Speech therapist and an Occutional Therapist who have proven to me that they truly care about his success and have even gone above and beyond their call of duty by working with his Pre-K teacher at a public school. I believe that early intervention is key to ensuring that children like my son grow into functional adults and it is fantastic that not only are these resources available to us in our community but the integrity of their staff is incomparable to any other organization in the tri-state area.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/05/2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad to hear how strongly you feel about our organization, work, employees, and mission. We are fortunate to have so many talented therapists helping us work with children and adults. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My sister is 32 years old and is mentally handicapped. Her IQ is equivalent to a 5 or 6 year old. If it wasn't for Redwood I am not sure what I would do. I have to maintain a job and I this would not be possible without Redwood. She gets such joy out of "Going to Work"' just like I do. THANKS REDWOOD!!!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/05/2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Many people have shared stories similar to yours, where Redwood has made it possible for them to continue working and providing for their family while Redwood works with their son or daughter to help them achieve their full potential. We are fortunate to work with so many wonderful families!

Client Served

Rating: 4

I have a developmentally delayed little girl, and child care for special needs children is very difficult to find in our area. Redwood took great care of my little girl while I worked this summer. Thank you, Redwood!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/05/2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate hearing from you, and are glad your daughter had a wonderful experience over the summer. We hope to see her again next year!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Redwood. We have been a part of them for 15years. My son has Autism. Fifteen years ago when we got the diagnosis there was not nearly the information available as there is now. We were walked through preschool programs,day programs,socialization programs,desentization,gross and fine motor therapies. You name it they could find a way to help.My son will be 18 soon and Redwood is still a huge part of our lives continuing to grow with us. Each summer my son attends their summer camps and computer camps.Redwood has always had skilled staff and volunbteers. They are always caring and creative My son is entering his next phase of life and Redwood is still the shining star it has been for the last 15 years. Redwood will help with Vocational training, mentoring, and ongoing summer computer opportunities. I cannot imagine our lives without Redwood. Our community is so blessed to have such a loving,caring,trained,educated and innovated group of people. Our son is very disabled, but I know he is better because of Redwood and their staff.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

redwood 10/05/2010

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our services and programs. We appreciate your feedback because it lets us know what we are doing right and helps us to become a better organization at serving people with disabilities.