Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
292 Reviews
1234.924665
| 1 ... 14 15 16...29 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

Red Rover stepped in when my area was hit hard by Superstorm Sandy. They were here within hours setting up temporary shelters and assisting local Humane Society facilities. I cannot say enough about their efficiency and dedication.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2013

more

March 1, 2013

This past Christmas of 2012 we decided to add to our family by granting our 11 yr. old daughter a wish of getting the ever-so special gift of a puppy. What 11 yr old kid wouldnt wish for that? So instead of spending what little we had on some kind of new electronic gaming device we decided that a puppy would be the pick. Sure enough we went through all of the motions of finding that perfect little fur ball. This is when we met Echo. We picked him out of a litter of Siberian Huskies in which all of the colors you could imagine. The reason we picked him was because he was a very light shade of blondish red and that he was lying on his back with his feet in the air unlike all of his upright sitting dark red or black sibs. Eyes still shut and all looking very cute. Soon after a few weeks we were able to see that his eyes were open and very very blue. This is something we did not even expect, blue! 2 Days before Christmas we drove 5 hours away to pick him up and was not impressed by the situation we saw. I will not go into detail but we expected a little better of conditions, still we grabbed up our Echo and left knowing that he would atleast have a better place than where he began. We celebrated our Christmas around the tree and our daughter was elated. Things were just fine but two days after the holiday Echo began to act strange. He slept alot, whinned, and didnt act very happy. Soon, we noticed that he was favoring his left eye. Long story made short, all within the time we noticed something "off" and 24 hours later, Echo was blind in his left eye with the diagnoses of Glaucoma. To our horrors, a couple of weeks later, his right eye did the same. This confirmed that it was a born with disease. It was a hard couple of weeks trying to figure out the best route to go with Echo whom was generally in pain quite often even with the prescription eyedrops. This is a terrible sentence to be given to anyone or any creature. Glaucoma is very painful and we can see it in Echos face everyday. He will only be 4 months old this coming month and was diagnosed with glaucoma at 3 months. He went blind all within that month and that is a horrible thing to witness. Happy playful little furball chasing the kitty around the living room to little suffering furball who cannot see and is bumping into walls. Not only is this sad but it going to be financially draining on our little family. We did not expect this to happen, nor did we plan for something like this to happen so we never saved money for something like this.
I was surfing the web about Glaucoma when I came upon a website called "Red Rover" and decided to ask for help because without someones help, Echo would never be able to get the surgery that he needs to relieve the Glaucoma. With the help of Red Rover, Laurel and a very very angelic person whom remains anonymous to me, Echo will now get the relief he is yearning for. These folks that have come forward to do such heartwarming caring and kind favors deserve a special reward and I wish I had something to give. The only thing I can give is my special Thankyou. Thankyou for your help. Thankyou for your devotion to animals. Thankyou for your kind hand in helping this sweet little husky puppy live the rest of his life atleast not in pain. There is never enough words to say. It warms my heart to know there are such wonderful people in this world and you know who you are. Thankyou again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2013

more

February 15, 2013

Bailey was a rescue dog that I found in my front yard. She had heartworms when we found her and she needed heartworm treatment. We've been raising money for the past few months for her to get the treatment because it's very expensive. This week we had her scheduled for her second round of heartworm treatment but our fundraising was a little short. RedRover gave us a grant for the remaining funds on a very short notice! They were so professional and so kind! They really were an answer to our prayers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

more

February 11, 2013

We had a puppy rescued from the shelter and she was diagnosed with Parvo. Red Rover quickly helped us with a donation to her care. We could not have saved her without them. Now she is fully recovered in her forever home. We are so thankful they were able to give so generously.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2013

more

February 9, 2013

I have been a teacher for more than 33 years, sat in many "professional development" trainings and this has (by far)been one of the most professional, practical and relevant courses I have taken. I expected to get some tips and ideas for using literature to teach empathy and critical thinking skills, but this course provided me (and my students) with so much more. Karly Noel shared her expertise with the content and materials while also providing discounts, materials and links to ensure my success with this program, and its goals of building a empathetic community of future leaders and supporters for the betterment of all. I am forever grateful - thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I cannot thank the RedRover Organization enough for their assistance with my sister's dog. Jasper (a healthy 2 year old Chiuaua) accidentally darted out the front door and was hit by a car. It was very traumatic and Jasper ended up with a broken pelvis and many scrapes and cuts. Without surgical repair Jasper would not have survived. However, the thanks to RedRover Jasper was able to have the necessary surgery to repair his pelvis and will go on to live a full, normal happy life. Words cannot express the gratitude that me and Jasper's family feel. HUGE THANK YOU to RedRover!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

I am a Coordinator of services at a domestic violence shelter. We help individuals with providing a safe, confidential place to go when they are trying to get away from an abusive relationship. We received a call from a victim and she stated that she was living in her car because she could no longer risk she and her "Angels" life by staying in the home with the abuser. The victim spoke about how she was in a deadly tornado not too long ago and that she ended up in this area because she had no where else to live once she lost her home. She spoke about how she took safe refuge to a closet in her home and that when they came out once the storm passed all she had left was her father's flag.She spoke about how blessed she felt to still be living and how she knows that no matter what comes her way that she continue to press forward. Unfortunately she now finds herself in the midst of another dangerous storm needing to a safe place to go but is not sure what is available for she and "angel". We approved them for dv services and informed her about what resources were available to assist with housing them both but how we were somewhat limited with just was available at the moment. She spoke about utilizing a back up plan to keep "Angel" in the car if she had to but we all knew that something had to be figured out. I contacted Red Rover and was so impressed with just how fast they responded and went to working to help us with getting boarding services until the victim could look at other safe and stable options for her loved one. It was such a joy to witness just how much relief and gratitude the victim displayed once she found out that "Angel" would be well cared for while she went to work and completed her goals to get them a new place. We can't say thank you enough to Red Rover and all of their supporters for providing " a shelter in the time of storm". Well done team!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 24, 2013

more

January 24, 2013

My name is Amber and my baby Trust was very sick with a vaginal prolapse. I contacted RedRover and Esperanza called me the next day, we discussed what was going on with Trust and my financial issues. They ended up helping out with a significant donation and I was able to get Trust the surgery she needed to save her life! We are very thankful to RedRover and those who have donated! Thank you all for doing such a great job!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

more

January 18, 2013

On 1/10/13 (Thurs) morning my mom and I saw blood droppings on the tile floor in the kitchen. At first we thought our dog Simba had a bladder infection because he was peeing blood. We took him to the Tampa Bay Vet Hospital in Largo, FL. The doctor ran several tests, then we found out that Simba has ITP/Immune Mediiated Thrombocytopenia, he had NO platelets in his blood. We were so upset because he was so sick and we could not afford paying his vet bill. I contacting RedRover that night. On Friday morning a Angel contacted us. Laurel Meleski, was so sweet, and helpful to us. By that night, they donated some money towards his vet bill. The following Monday she called us again to find out how Simba was. This really made both of feel so cared for. Simba is now home and getting better. We are so thankful for RedRover for everything they did for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I rescue senior and terminally ill dogs and give them palliative and hospice care. Usually the rescues I work with can manage the vet bills, but not always. One Saturday night I got a call from a volunteer in a Baltimore shelter. There was a 15 year old (more or less) cocker spaniel, and if she was still there in the morning she'd die. I said yes, sight unseen. Twinkie arrived at my house that night, and she seemed in pretty good spirits. But, she had the worst teeth I've ever seen. Even the vet couldn't tell how many she'd lost and how many were just rotted through and through. The infection caused her to have a chronic cough - sometimes she'd cough for half an hour straight. Her breath, to be honest and graphic, smelled like poop. In our house she thrived emotionally and is one of the most affectionate dogs I'd ever seen - and she'd rear up for pets and hugs, and people would turn away because they smelled her breath. Driving - in December! - we had to do with the windows open. She needed a dental, that's for sure. But, before we could do that, Twink needed to get her thyroid levels up and needed meds and another blood test for that. Vet care in this part of the country isn't cheap - even with the rescue discount from the vet, we were still talking about possibly $600 or more. The southern, out of state rescue that committed to Twinkie didn't have the funds, and I fundraised as best as I could, but I'm not great at that and I'm new at it.

RedRover was amazing. First, they were unbelievably responsive. Within 48 hours of my application, I had a phone call from E., one of the RedRover case managers. She outlined the program and let me know additional information and documentation she needed from me, and I was pleased to see how well they do their due diligence. E. was also encouraging in my own fundraising efforts, giving me advice and tips. Some of the information needed to come from the vet, and where there were some bureaucratic challenges on the part of being able to reach the vet and get the info to the right place, etc. (all the issues were from our side, not RedRover's), E. was very patient. Deadlines were clear, and communication was key. I believe it was not even 10 days after I applied for a grant, that I received the commitment email from E. on behalf of RedRover. They usually provide small grants, and pay the vets directly, thus helping to ensure that people aren't using animals to simply generate funds.

I love that this organization is committed to the idea that no one should have to give up their animal, or let them die, because they can't afford vet care. I love that this organization is willing to help out a 15 year old dog.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us mail educational materials to our volunteers and members of the public. Volunteer