Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
283 Reviews
1234.92585
| 1 ... 14 15 16...28 |
Write A Review
January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I rescue senior and terminally ill dogs and give them palliative and hospice care. Usually the rescues I work with can manage the vet bills, but not always. One Saturday night I got a call from a volunteer in a Baltimore shelter. There was a 15 year old (more or less) cocker spaniel, and if she was still there in the morning she'd die. I said yes, sight unseen. Twinkie arrived at my house that night, and she seemed in pretty good spirits. But, she had the worst teeth I've ever seen. Even the vet couldn't tell how many she'd lost and how many were just rotted through and through. The infection caused her to have a chronic cough - sometimes she'd cough for half an hour straight. Her breath, to be honest and graphic, smelled like poop. In our house she thrived emotionally and is one of the most affectionate dogs I'd ever seen - and she'd rear up for pets and hugs, and people would turn away because they smelled her breath. Driving - in December! - we had to do with the windows open. She needed a dental, that's for sure. But, before we could do that, Twink needed to get her thyroid levels up and needed meds and another blood test for that. Vet care in this part of the country isn't cheap - even with the rescue discount from the vet, we were still talking about possibly $600 or more. The southern, out of state rescue that committed to Twinkie didn't have the funds, and I fundraised as best as I could, but I'm not great at that and I'm new at it.

RedRover was amazing. First, they were unbelievably responsive. Within 48 hours of my application, I had a phone call from E., one of the RedRover case managers. She outlined the program and let me know additional information and documentation she needed from me, and I was pleased to see how well they do their due diligence. E. was also encouraging in my own fundraising efforts, giving me advice and tips. Some of the information needed to come from the vet, and where there were some bureaucratic challenges on the part of being able to reach the vet and get the info to the right place, etc. (all the issues were from our side, not RedRover's), E. was very patient. Deadlines were clear, and communication was key. I believe it was not even 10 days after I applied for a grant, that I received the commitment email from E. on behalf of RedRover. They usually provide small grants, and pay the vets directly, thus helping to ensure that people aren't using animals to simply generate funds.

I love that this organization is committed to the idea that no one should have to give up their animal, or let them die, because they can't afford vet care. I love that this organization is willing to help out a 15 year old dog.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

We really appreciate the help an kindness we received from the RedRover Relief program! They were excellent to work with and were more than willing to help in any way the could! Thanks again!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

execellent organization that also addresses the problem of dogs left in hot cars outside stores ect.have available reminders to place under windshield wiper.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

Little, the stray neighborhood cat was able able to get help and walk again thanks to Redrover. His broken hip would have been the end of his days without help from the people at Redrover. They worked tirelessly , keeping the communication open and not letting anything slip through the cracks. This made all the difference.

He is in search of a forever home, but is living comfortably with me and several other cats until we find him a perfect spot.

Thank you for all of your help with all the animals and their human companions.
Penny

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

My wife and I have been blessed to be able to place approx. 40 animals we have found into good homes, and up to now have been able to absorb the cost.
But, Two days ago we foung a beautiful black cat sitting about a foot from a busy street.
The cat was sitting, but mostly unresponsive to
us... I thought perhaps it had been hit by a vehicle/
We took the cat immediately to the vet where x-rays were done. They found that the cat had ingested aluminum and small rodent bones and also has a broken leg. The vet did not want to schedule surgery without the cost being paid up front. We had already spent 225.00 on the cat, but now needed more money to get the surgery started.
my wife and i went home and prayed about it, we asked God for his help, and then set out to do as much as we could as well.
The next day we contacted redRover for possible assistan
I spoke with Rachael @ RedRover who was very kind and pleasant to talk with. Before the end of the day, they had agree'd to help in a substantial way, and thus allowing surgery to take place this afternoon. We are very thankful to God and RedRover for serious help in time of need. Gid will bless them for it - I have no doubt. Thank you so much RedRover, Nathan and Sheila Elliott Lexington NC

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

I recently was made aware on this organization when our family dog needed a surgery I could not afford but was crucial to his quality of life. This is our first experience in this situation and didn't know what to do. After contacting Red Rover online I thought this is gonna take forever, but to my surprise Esperanza contacted me the very next day and everything was processed by the next day. It was such a relief to hear that our application for help was approved. It is a great cause and I will not forget Red Rover and when I am able to I will help the cause in anyway I can. Thank you so much
The Gates Family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

If it had not been for the organization Red Rover and Nicole, I would not have been able to pay for my cat's emergency medical bill and I would not be able to have the time, which is special, with my best friend "Trigger the Cat".
Thank you from the bottoms of our hearts for jumping in and
contributing so fast!
You people at Red Rover are great, may God bless this organization to the utmost!
I wish there was more that I can do to express my deepest thanks for all that you have done!
Thank You again and again!
Dee Hardy
Minneapolis, MN

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013

more

January 5, 2013

Years ago I joined United Animal Nations. I drove past the modest UAN building when I visited in Sacramento, California. I followed them by newsletter and magazine. A few years ago UAN changed its name to RedRover. The good work for animals continued and expanded. These are real people doing human being things for animals, and they're not too big, not aloof. They are always training volunteers who are there in place in a crisis, or who can travel swiftly to the scene where they are needed. I am very proud of having supported this great organization for many years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013

more

January 5, 2013

They are there to help in deseparate situations whetther it be natural disasters or helping fund someone who needs crticial care for their pet. They rock!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

December 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Red Rover is a great organization, they helped my cat Mudslide when he was hit by a car and had a broken leg. Even though they never met me or my cat, they were very supportive. Thank you Red Rover!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us mail educational materials to our volunteers and members of the public. Volunteer