Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
316 Reviews
1234.930385
Write A Review
June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I took the RedRover Readers training with Karly Noel through HSUS University in Februrary, 2013. Karly is clearly dedicated to her craft and facilitated a very informative training. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but left the training feeling energized and inspired to learn and do more. I have my first humane education reading at an upcoming Pet Expo, and I'm as excited as a kid going to Disneyland! I was so impressed with Karly and RedRover that I asked Karly to come and speak to a restorative justice class at CSUEB, focusing on empathy. She was a dynamic speaker and the students responded well to her presentation. I highly recommend her for class talks! I’m so glad there is an organization like RedRover that provide many valuable services to the community. Thank you to all the RedRover volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were more of them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

My cat potato was diagnosed with stomatitis last year. Stomatitis is a disease where the immune system attacks the gums of the teeth and causes an immense amount of pain. He couldn't even yawn fully without snapping his mouth back closed and twitching in pain. He got to a point where he swallowed his food without even chewing with his teeth! I was in the process of finding a vet but could not afford the procedure until I found an office that with a down payment, will accept payments. I reached out to red rover and they helped me with my down payment. Potato is now fully recovered, after having all teeth removed he is happy as can be with huge yawns! He eats hard food and swallows it whole no problem. He is much happier and has a ton of energy. I can also rub his face now he is not as head shy. I am so happy he can now live a long fruitful life with my husband and I.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing! they were so caring and helpful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Red Rover volunteer that worked the Greensburg, Kansas tornado a few years ago. It was long days, and sometimes dirty work, but I felt so good knowing I was doing a small part to help the people and pets of that city where literally nothing remained. The animals that you could love on while they were waiting to be returned to their owners brought joy to my heart. The best part was when the owner came to permanently pick up his or her pet. Everyone was so happy and of course there were tears as well for many different reasons. Red Rover is 100% tops in my book.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Red Rover is just amazing. The service was fast and friendly and they went above and beyond... The world needs more people like the ones at Red Rocer

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing organization doing amazing work for those truly in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

RedRover was an incredible help, exactly when I needed it most. I can't think of enough good things to say about them!

My beautiful dog, Lucy Lou, had inhaled something into her throat while we were playing in the back yard and started coughing violently. 36 hours later, she was getting
worse and I was frantic. After just paying for a surgery for my cat a few weeks prior, my college tuition bill, and my husband's doctor bills, we simply didn't have enough for the emergency surgery she needed. We were considering the gut-wrenching idea of having to put her down for sheer lack of funds.

I couldn't sleep that night, and as a desperate and last-minute attempt at 1 o'clock in the morning, I reached out to RedRover and filled out their application online (free) and went to bed. Less than 12 hours later I got a call from Laurel who gave me hope. It was only going to be a few hundred dollars, but that was exactly what I needed. I had my regular vet fax over the estimate and within minutes I was approved for a $200 grant to save my Lucy's life. I wanted to reach through the phone and hug her and couldn't stifle my tears of joy thanking my lucky stars that I had found RedRover. This organization saved my puppy's life.

5 stars just isn't enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 25, 2011

One night after work, I found a little Chihuahua dog running wild and lost near the freeway and managed to capture her with some degree of difficulty. She had a large protruding mass on her underside... more

May 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

On my home from work in August 2010, I encountered two guys trying to catch a small black chihuahua. It was around midnight and very dark. You could barely see the dog and it was running scared and very fast. I joined the chase. We were in cars and would stop, get out and try to corner the dog, but it kept getting around us. Finally, after about 30 minutes of pursuit, we threw a sweatshirt over the dog on someone's front porch and nabbed it. I tried to hand over the bundle to the guys, but they said it wasn't their dog and that they were just trying to catch it so it wouldn't get run over in the dark. They didn't want it. We already had four dogs and knew my husband would freak if I came home with yet another rescue, but what could I do? I took the little dog home and noticed she had a large mass like thing on her lower abdomen. Despite extensive attempts to find out if she belonged to anyone or had escaped, no one came forward. When she came into heat, I concluded that she had likely been used for breeding, but could no longer do so due to the large mass and was dumped by the side of the freeway. Three months after her capture, I took her to see a veterinarian. It was determined that the mass was actually a large hernia. The surgery to repair it and neuter her was expensive and I couldn't afford it, so I began looking for help. United Animal Nations, now known as RedRover provided a grant to help pay for the surgery and gave me ideas on how to raise the rest of the funds. I was able to get a special credit card deal to pay for the rest of the veterinary charges. I named her Roo and now she is part of our furry family. I am eternally grateful for RedRover's help and financial assistance. I love little Roo and am so happy that RedRover was there to help when no one else would. My son and I attended a RedRover event in 2011 when they changed their name and it was fabulous fun!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money and recognition so they can do more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2011

One night after work, I found a little Chihuahua dog running wild and lost near the freeway and managed to capture her with some degree of difficulty. She had a large protruding mass on her underside. After making major attempts over a 3 month period to find out if she belonged to anyone, it seemed pretty clear that she was probably used for breeding and when she no longer could, dumped and abandoned. I took her to a vet for examination and it was determined that she had a large hernia requiring expensive surgery. I already had 3 dogs and a bunny all of whom were rescues. The California State budget crisis had impacted me with furloughs equal to a 10% pay cut also. I tried to find a way to get assistance for the surgery, but no one would help. I applied for a grant to United Animal Nations, now known as RedRover. They were so kind and graciously supplied a grant of $200 toward the veterinary care needed. I was able to apply for a 0% interest for one year credit card to pay for the rest of the cost. I am extremely grateful for their help and forever indebted to them. It may not seem like a big amount of money, but for me, it made a world of difference. The little dog, Roo, is now a happy and content member of our family and part of the pack. Her surgery went well and she made a complete recovery.
When UAN announced their name change to RedRover, they held an event here in Sacramento that I attended. I got to meet many others who had been helped by them as well. It was a wonderful event and the volunteers and staff were some of the nicest people I've ever met. Please endorse RedRover in the GREAT Nonprofits as a Top-Rated Animal Welfare organization.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

obtaining financial assistance toward veterinary care that was needed for a rescued dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let more people know how wonderful RedRover is and hope that others will contribute and support this great group of caring people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Searching online for help from animal welfare organizations.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

RedRover inspired compassion and hope when I couldn't find any others who would help.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

As a volunteer, I love the fact that they are a wonderfully organized group. So many times I have volunteered for animal groups that are not and it is can be very frustrating.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I work at Animal Protection of New Mexico (APNM), and part of my job is administering APNM's Companion Animal Rescue Effort (CARE) program, which provides foster care for companion animals of domestic violence victims.

A recent case involved a victim's dog that was diagnosed with breast
cancer and dental issues while in foster care. A veterinary examination was performed the vet clinic of another local nonprofit, Animal Humane New Mexico (AHNM) at no cost, and surgery was recommended.

The victim could not afford to pay for the procedure, but between a grant from a local charity and the RedRover Safe Escape grant program, the bills were covered, and the dog was later reunited with her grateful owner!

Laurel from Red Rover talked me through the procedure of applying for the grant and was instrumental in getting all this accomplished. Thanks to Laurel & RedRover for all you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change a thing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am most humbled and grateful. My kitty, "Hooper",aka "Hoops" "the Hoopster"or "Dunker" was hit by a car and will be having her back leg removed in the morning. It's taken me most of the day to understand that animals don't fret over limbs like humans do. . .and Hooper will be just as happy in a few weeks to lay-out on my husbands lap for brushing as she has always been. (Yes, she literally jumps on his lap and stretches out as far as she can, assumes a "vogue" profile as if to say, "I'm ready for my close up...get the brush Jim.")

The vet bill is understandably costly. A friend at work referred me to Red Rover for some help. I filled out the application and was called within hours. I am so touched. I thought I would either have to give Hooper over to the organization I adopted her from, only to be adopted out again because I couldn't pay the bill. I couldn't stand the thought that she would have to go someplace else when our home is all she has known since she was 8 weeks old. Red Rover is AMAZING -- stepped right in and helped with enough of the bill to have the surgery so I can bring the Hooper home later this week.

Laurel was wonderful, Red Rover is the most incredible organization I have ever come in contact with. I've spent much of my adult life raising money for non-profits that help people...noble, but nothing has touched my heart the way this organization has. Animals don't take sides, they don't get involved in politics and they are always there for us.

Thank you Laurel and Red Rover. We will get past the immediate hump and will check back in with you to see what WE can do for you. If anyone out there has a couple of extra dollars, I know where it would be utilized...I could never have guessed to be in need for this, but we are and Red Rover was there for us. I look forward to the day sooner than later, my "pay it forward" will be in funding right back to you!

Thank you, from our hearts...and Hooper's too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't improve on a cause so worthy and an organization that answers the call so perfectly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us mail educational materials to our volunteers and members of the public. Volunteer