Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

At ReDiscover Center there are so many opportunities for students to discover, manage and transform the life of objects and materials for the purpose of creativity. With a large variety of everyday discarded materials to choose from, the outcomes are wide-ranging and fun. One can spend hours rummaging here and can be inspired with many ideas for any project.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I teach science and social studies at the UCLA Lab School. Two things stand out for me about reDiscover. First, field trips. We bring our students to reDiscover to learn about how to use reclaimed materials to express their thinking as well as to learn about recycling. Recently, in our study of Community Helpers, the students made fantastic tools to help people in our school community. The best was a robot with 4 hands, a computer head and wheels to help our principal do her job! Secondly, reDiscover never fails to inspire the students and me with its range of fantastic materials! We're doing a project now about making a map of California regions. These students will never forget the four regions because they get to construct them out of fabric, random plastics, tiles and other cool stuff!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

I wandered in to ReDiscover two years ago thinking it might be a nice activity for my daughter and got swept up with the organization, volunteering, making art, soliciting donations, and now as an instructor/curriculum developer. The staff and volunteers are fantastic and the recycled materials unique and wonderful to work with, for my own personal constructions and as teaching materials. If I were to change one thing it would be to upgrade the facility, which looks to be bursting at the seams and is a bit rough around the edges, particularly in the warehouse out back.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

As a consultant who works with many nonprofits, I have had the opportunity to work with Mary Beth and reDiscover. It is a professional organization that has a great program in this area. I have visited the site many times and the concept is great. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

Each year the reDiscover Center has organized a Big Draw LA event - a month-long drawing initiative across Los Angeles in October - including an award winning program in 2010. This past year, on top of organizing an event, reDiscover Center created over 300 sketchbooks out of recycled material that were handed out to Big Draw LA participants at other events.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

reDiscover is committed to helping the community with creative ways to help reuse materials that would otherwise end up as waste. As an environmental artist, my experience with them has been amazing. Children enjoy the projects and learn about environmental issues at the same time - a perfect combination!

Photos

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

truly involved in current issues.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

ReDiscover is one of those hidden gems - a mission-driven organization that shares its resources and expertise with the entire community, children and adults alike. Their tireless search for, and wildly creative use of, usual and unusual recyclable materials forces the child/parent/teacher to rethink - and rediscover - the joy of creating. The work they do with schools is invaluable - really, no one offers the kind of thoughtful art and science activities they do, whether they're doing children's workshops or teacher training. I can't recommend ReDiscover highly enough.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

classes that my daughter has attended, workshops that I've referred other families to, as well as buying recyclable materials for our own projects at home.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At reDiscover you can help sort materials, create inspirational art and work with kids.

At home you can call businesses for material donation leads or make collages for thank you cards from our scrap materials