Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.766675
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

reDiscover is the perfect place for tapping into your creative potential. It's a trove of the familiar that you take and transform into the extraordinary. The staff is very helpful and full of ideas. The inventory is FULL of possibilities. There are classes and workshops that truly help you RE-discover. Best of all, it is a non-profit that not only helps you be more creative but it also helps you develop a greater sense of recycling and sustainability.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

Rediscover is and always has been a great resource for me as a preschool teacher. I usually go there on Saturdays and always find some inspiring recycled materials like CD covers, cardboard tubes, tile samples you name it. A wonderful place to create big things on a small budget! Eva

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

reDiscover is our favorite go-to activity for our family. We love stopping by for art-making and our boys make full use of the hundreds of recycled supplies that they then turn into works of art. At the same time, they are learning about how much STUFF we go through on a daily basis and how it impacts our environment. reDiscover serves our community in many ways and their smart and talented staff make every visit an adventure. My 6-year old had his birthday party there where 25 energetic boys made incredible robots and had a tremendous time! Thank you reDiscover!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I signed my 9 year old daughter up for Tinkering Camp last summer and she was very dubious of "another camp". But ... she loved Tinkering Camp and wanted to attend more sessions. Unfortunately, we were in the last session. She used real tools like circular saws and she learned the proper names and handling techniques. I wish they had a Tinkering Camp for grown-ups. The projects the children created were phenomenal and the kids got to take them home. The teachers were outstanding. We loved it and highly recommend it. Brooke G.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

My 11 year old twins attended a one-week tinkering camp at the center. It was a great experience for both of them - lots of personal attention, great projects and they learned to use power tools. We have gone one other time to just build and also had a wonderful few hours.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

My son is 7 years old. reDiscover came to his public school to work with his class on building using recycled materials. He came home excited and could't stop talking about the experience. He's usually not one to tell you much about his day at school, so I knew this was something unique. I contacted reDiscover to see if they had any summer camps, and signed my son up for Tinkering Camp. My son does not stay without me very easily, but he was SO excited to be there, I left him the first day without any trouble. When the day was over and I came to pick him up he had the biggest smile on his face, and when I asked how his day was, instead of "ok" with a shoulder shrug, I got a super enthusiastic "Great!" with a jump. The week long camp was inspiring, fun, and very educational. Mary Beth and her team gave each child a lot of attention and empowered the children to explore tools and materials on their own. They used real professional tools in a safe and educational way and made the week very special for the children. We plan to go back to tinkering school next summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

I have made use of reDiscover as both a student and a teaching artist and had a terrific experience both times. the staff is helpful and creative and I would strongly recommend the center to people of all ages!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

ReDiscover is not only a Saturday haven for my own creative children/inventors, but it's an amazing resource for my classroom, so I can help inspire kids who might not otherwise make it to the center. I teach 6th grade, and I've used bag full after bag full of supplies to reuse in our 2-D and 3-D work. Not only is it in my budget, but I feel good about telling kids that we are reusing materials in our work. The school that I teach at is nearby and Im' hoping to take a field trip there someday soon. I have also enjooyed Rediscover Center's projects at community events around Los Angeles. The volunteers are very inspiring and helpful. I wholeheartedly support them in their effort to inspire creativity and reuse materials in the process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2010

more

May 4, 2010

I love ReDiscover. They allow the recycling of industrial materials to be used in a creative way for schoolchildren that is fun and whimsical. Taking part in that can spur the imagination of kids and adults alike to create and reuse and repurpose to great heights. They are definitely an invaluable resource for the community, an asset to Los Angeles.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

AMAZING!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Change the world

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 1, 2010

more

May 1, 2010

ReDiscover has the sweet energy of creativity and care for the earth. I have been involved with reDiscover in many different ways and, whatever it is I am doing, I notice that it just feels good to be there. As a teacher and therapist, I work with kids and adults to connect with their hearts, their community and the earth. Open space for creativity is so important, especially in a busy world. ReDiscover is so important because it lets people take the objects of their day to day lives and transform them into art. It helps me remember that there is an artfulness in the things I sometimes consider mundane and new life in things that someone else might throw away. There is a lot of fear around lately concerning the future of the earth and humanity. ReDiscover is one of the things that gives me hope.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching kids create things that were far beyond my expectations and which inspired me.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I like hat my involvement in the organization is itself a creative process. I always feel the potential of a next evolution.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

great. People who are passionate about art as a way of seeing and being in the world

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

give this sort of access to more kids. It would be able to reach underserved populations who also need this healing.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At reDiscover you can help sort materials, create inspirational art and work with kids.

At home you can call businesses for material donation leads or make collages for thank you cards from our scrap materials