Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.766675
Write A Review
November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

This is an awesome place; great for spending some time rain or shine to explore one's imagination and create! I bring my kids every now and then and we build cool stuff. They love and I love it. Working with found objects - trash to some, perhaps, but wonderful raw materials to build with and explore. Great for all ages, from simply doing simple crafts to learning about different properties for different materials and solving engineering challenges for older kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

REDISCOVERY CENTER ES UN LUGAR FASTASTICO. EN LO PERSONAL MI HIJO LE GUSTA IR APRENDER, JUGAR Y HACER ARTE , Y LO MAS IMPORTANTE APRENDE A RECICLAR Y COMO HUSAR EL RECICLAJE EN ARTE... HUSA MUCHA SU IMAGINACION LA CUAL ES FANTASTICO... GRACIAS REDISCOVERY CENTER..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

I wandered in to ReDiscover two years ago thinking it might be a nice activity for my daughter and got swept up with the organization, volunteering, making art, soliciting donations, and now as an instructor/curriculum developer. The staff and volunteers are fantastic and the recycled materials unique and wonderful to work with, for my own personal constructions and as teaching materials. If I were to change one thing it would be to upgrade the facility, which looks to be bursting at the seams and is a bit rough around the edges, particularly in the warehouse out back.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

As a consultant who works with many nonprofits, I have had the opportunity to work with Mary Beth and reDiscover. It is a professional organization that has a great program in this area. I have visited the site many times and the concept is great. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

Each year the reDiscover Center has organized a Big Draw LA event - a month-long drawing initiative across Los Angeles in October - including an award winning program in 2010. This past year, on top of organizing an event, reDiscover Center created over 300 sketchbooks out of recycled material that were handed out to Big Draw LA participants at other events.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

I have made use of reDiscover as both a student and a teaching artist and had a terrific experience both times. the staff is helpful and creative and I would strongly recommend the center to people of all ages!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

ReDiscover is not only a Saturday haven for my own creative children/inventors, but it's an amazing resource for my classroom, so I can help inspire kids who might not otherwise make it to the center. I teach 6th grade, and I've used bag full after bag full of supplies to reuse in our 2-D and 3-D work. Not only is it in my budget, but I feel good about telling kids that we are reusing materials in our work. The school that I teach at is nearby and Im' hoping to take a field trip there someday soon. I have also enjooyed Rediscover Center's projects at community events around Los Angeles. The volunteers are very inspiring and helpful. I wholeheartedly support them in their effort to inspire creativity and reuse materials in the process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2010

more

May 4, 2010

I love ReDiscover. They allow the recycling of industrial materials to be used in a creative way for schoolchildren that is fun and whimsical. Taking part in that can spur the imagination of kids and adults alike to create and reuse and repurpose to great heights. They are definitely an invaluable resource for the community, an asset to Los Angeles.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

AMAZING!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Change the world

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 1, 2010

more

May 1, 2010

ReDiscover has the sweet energy of creativity and care for the earth. I have been involved with reDiscover in many different ways and, whatever it is I am doing, I notice that it just feels good to be there. As a teacher and therapist, I work with kids and adults to connect with their hearts, their community and the earth. Open space for creativity is so important, especially in a busy world. ReDiscover is so important because it lets people take the objects of their day to day lives and transform them into art. It helps me remember that there is an artfulness in the things I sometimes consider mundane and new life in things that someone else might throw away. There is a lot of fear around lately concerning the future of the earth and humanity. ReDiscover is one of the things that gives me hope.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching kids create things that were far beyond my expectations and which inspired me.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I like hat my involvement in the organization is itself a creative process. I always feel the potential of a next evolution.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

great. People who are passionate about art as a way of seeing and being in the world

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

give this sort of access to more kids. It would be able to reach underserved populations who also need this healing.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 1, 2010

more

May 1, 2010

I first thought of reDiscover as a place where teachers could collect 'high quality recyclables' to use as art supplies, but then I found out it really is one of the only places where kids can learn to appreciate the value of the things they normally throw away.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Offer high quality programs that combined both art and environmental education to almost every elementary school and high school in Los Angeles.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At reDiscover you can help sort materials, create inspirational art and work with kids.

At home you can call businesses for material donation leads or make collages for thank you cards from our scrap materials