Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

reDiscover is the perfect place for tapping into your creative potential. It's a trove of the familiar that you take and transform into the extraordinary. The staff is very helpful and full of ideas. The inventory is FULL of possibilities. There are classes and workshops that truly help you RE-discover. Best of all, it is a non-profit that not only helps you be more creative but it also helps you develop a greater sense of recycling and sustainability.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Wow! Rediscover is soooo creative and I love it. "little things mean a lot" is certainly true at the rediscover center. How lucky L.A. is to have a great place like Rediscover that is not only creative, but socially responsible and an education center too. Thanks not only to rediscover center but also to the community that supports it. Kudos! As a volunteer I've been engaged in unique activities that helped support the community. I was impressed with the amount of donations from local businesses...truck loads full sometimes...and even more impressed that they were put to use and appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

At ReDiscover Center there are so many opportunities for students to discover, manage and transform the life of objects and materials for the purpose of creativity. With a large variety of everyday discarded materials to choose from, the outcomes are wide-ranging and fun. One can spend hours rummaging here and can be inspired with many ideas for any project.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

Rediscover is and always has been a great resource for me as a preschool teacher. I usually go there on Saturdays and always find some inspiring recycled materials like CD covers, cardboard tubes, tile samples you name it. A wonderful place to create big things on a small budget! Eva

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I teach science and social studies at the UCLA Lab School. Two things stand out for me about reDiscover. First, field trips. We bring our students to reDiscover to learn about how to use reclaimed materials to express their thinking as well as to learn about recycling. Recently, in our study of Community Helpers, the students made fantastic tools to help people in our school community. The best was a robot with 4 hands, a computer head and wheels to help our principal do her job! Secondly, reDiscover never fails to inspire the students and me with its range of fantastic materials! We're doing a project now about making a map of California regions. These students will never forget the four regions because they get to construct them out of fabric, random plastics, tiles and other cool stuff!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

reDiscover is our favorite go-to activity for our family. We love stopping by for art-making and our boys make full use of the hundreds of recycled supplies that they then turn into works of art. At the same time, they are learning about how much STUFF we go through on a daily basis and how it impacts our environment. reDiscover serves our community in many ways and their smart and talented staff make every visit an adventure. My 6-year old had his birthday party there where 25 energetic boys made incredible robots and had a tremendous time! Thank you reDiscover!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I signed my 9 year old daughter up for Tinkering Camp last summer and she was very dubious of "another camp". But ... she loved Tinkering Camp and wanted to attend more sessions. Unfortunately, we were in the last session. She used real tools like circular saws and she learned the proper names and handling techniques. I wish they had a Tinkering Camp for grown-ups. The projects the children created were phenomenal and the kids got to take them home. The teachers were outstanding. We loved it and highly recommend it. Brooke G.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

My 11 year old twins attended a one-week tinkering camp at the center. It was a great experience for both of them - lots of personal attention, great projects and they learned to use power tools. We have gone one other time to just build and also had a wonderful few hours.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

My son is 7 years old. reDiscover came to his public school to work with his class on building using recycled materials. He came home excited and could't stop talking about the experience. He's usually not one to tell you much about his day at school, so I knew this was something unique. I contacted reDiscover to see if they had any summer camps, and signed my son up for Tinkering Camp. My son does not stay without me very easily, but he was SO excited to be there, I left him the first day without any trouble. When the day was over and I came to pick him up he had the biggest smile on his face, and when I asked how his day was, instead of "ok" with a shoulder shrug, I got a super enthusiastic "Great!" with a jump. The week long camp was inspiring, fun, and very educational. Mary Beth and her team gave each child a lot of attention and empowered the children to explore tools and materials on their own. They used real professional tools in a safe and educational way and made the week very special for the children. We plan to go back to tinkering school next summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

This is an awesome place; great for spending some time rain or shine to explore one's imagination and create! I bring my kids every now and then and we build cool stuff. They love and I love it. Working with found objects - trash to some, perhaps, but wonderful raw materials to build with and explore. Great for all ages, from simply doing simple crafts to learning about different properties for different materials and solving engineering challenges for older kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At reDiscover you can help sort materials, create inspirational art and work with kids.

At home you can call businesses for material donation leads or make collages for thank you cards from our scrap materials