Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Red River Theatres is far and away my favorite place to spend an evening in downtown Concord. It's one of those rare cinemas where I can show up without even checking the listings, buy a ticket for whatever happens to be showing next, and always be happy I did. Curated by their enthusiastic, expert staff, the film selections are invariably both top-notch and entertaining.

With Red River, I never have to chose between high art and a good time. Not only are their first-run features among the best of the best, their special events and screenings are often THE social event of a weekend. I've been to sing-along screenings of musical films as diverse as West Side Story--shown in a downtown parking garage right after a choral performance of Bernstein's Mass--and Les Misérables--complete with a costume contest. I even attended a Rocky Horror Picture Show interactive party, which was a bit outside my comfort zone but turned out to be a kick.

I still miss the erstwhile film series called Xtreme Friday Nights that featured high-art horror and unusually edgy foreign films. While Xtreme was running, I never missed a Friday. But I'd have to say my favorite events are the silent movie screenings with original, improvised scores by Jeff Rapsis. The first one I attended was a New Year's Eve event featuring Fritz Lang's classic, Metropolis. Between the recently-unearthed, lost footage and Jeff's brilliant musical stylings, I got to see one of my favorite films of all time in a whole new light. Plus, there was champagne.

All of which is to say: Red River Theatres is central to what makes Concord, NH a cool place to party and a wonderful place to live.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been a volunteer at Red River Theatre(RRT) for almost 3 years, it is an awesome place for great Indie movies and more. The staff is excellent and they really love their jobs and are always commenting on RRT's great atmosphere. RRT brings in great films of all types. It is family friendly and also catering to the wild side of folks. They have a variety of films to choose from like "Rocky Horror Picture Show" to great oldies on Sunday afternoons. It is a great place as is constantly voted highly in "The Hippo" magazine as a destination.......everyone has to putt RRT on their to do/see list!!!!!!!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Red River Theatres provides a greatly needed alternative to for profit- movie theater offerings. As a teacher and a parent, it has provided the opportunity for myself, my family and friends to enjoy foreign films of high quality serving as a window into other cultures and various genres of film. Documentaries that educate, such as the film on the Democratic Republic of Congo's repression and abuse of women and children through military means or how big corporations can pollute our environment are timely and encourage conversation and action toward ending social and other injustices. Discussion panels or forums are frequently part of the events. Annual Martin Luther King films and other biographical media fill in historical gaps in education. Classic films and theme nights make for clean fun across generations. Prince William's wedding was simulcast at the theatre with a full traditional British breakfast and pageantry that made my family feel like a part of history! They have also hosted many community events with other local non-profits and agencies.

Red River Theatres downtown location with ample parking nearby and a beautiful facility make for a pleasant theatre experience all around. The staff are welcoming, polite and helpful. There is something for everyone's tastes and interests available. The addition of the theatre to Concord has certainly enhanced our entertainment experience.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Red River Theatres brings people together from all parts of our community and state in one wonderful theater to experience a range of film-based events. We cry together, we laugh together, we tackle challenging problems in our world and our community together, through film and discussion at Red River Theatres.

In this day and age when we are pulled apart in so many directions, Red River Theatres brings us together and helps us create the fabric of our community and state.

For the past several years the theater has shown most of the Oscar contenders as well as great independent films including even foreign films. Basics like comfortable seating, a view of the screen from any seat, and the best real butter popcorn ever, are icing on the cake. Friendly staff are always there to help guide you to whatever you might need, and even parking is wonderful in a covered garage that connects directly to the theater.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2011

The Red River Theatres are a true cultural asset to central New Hampshire. I used to have to travel as far as Boston to see films that interested me, because no theater in New Hampshire was willing to... more

October 31, 2014

The Red River Theatres INC has been a fabulous addition to the city of Concord, NH. It is the best movie theatre in the state by far due to the combination of the films they show, the comfort and design of the theatre, and their public service. As a teacher and community activist, I have worked closely with the theatre to host field trips for my Film and Media Literacy students and to plan events for the LGBT organizations with which I work. No matter what the film, the Red River Theatres is always my first choice of venue.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2011

The Red River Theatres are a true cultural asset to central New Hampshire. I used to have to travel as far as Boston to see films that interested me, because no theater in New Hampshire was willing to play artistic or independent cinema. Red River has changed all that. Now, I can see great films near my home!

In addition, I often tell people that RRT is a theatre for "grown ups" - meaning that it's a place where my family and I can relax, drink a glass of wine, enjoy delicious popcorn in comfortable seats and not have to worry about other audience members chatting away or texting on their cell phones, which seems to be the norm at most movie theaters these days. Even the teenagers who frequent RRT, seem to care about watching and experiencing the film they're watching.

From Little Miss Sunshine, to For the Bible Tells Me So and Whip-it, both followed up by great panel discussions, to Black Swan, I've experience all of my most recent favorite films at the Red River Theatres.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many aspects of my life. When my husband and I have the chance to go out for a "date night" RRT is usually the first place that I think of! We also enjoy going there with a larger group of friends. I've also taken my students to RRT on a few great field trips for Media LIteracy and Film Study!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add another cinema space!

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Downtown Concord has a plethora of lovely venues: outdoor cafés, live theatres, specialty shops, organic and co-op shopping. The jewel, though, of Concord is Red River Theatres. It manages to incorporate elements of all the community offerings. The movies are selected for their entertainment and content and consequently the theatres become an arena for meeting and making friends. The ambiance is welcoming and absent the noise of over the top hysteria that greets me at other multiplexes. RRT is where I go to discover. Sometimes it is through a panel and documentary, sometimes it is an international film that has no public face in our media, and sometimes it is in sharing a glass of wine or beer with friends. RRT allows me to share a couple of hours of escape into someone else's imagination sans CGI. The variety is incomparable, the events always clever, the the personnel inviting. With the upcoming movies I am certain to spend most of my free time in one, two, or even all three rooms. See you there!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Easily my favorite movie theater. Great service, great people, great films and a great facility. Looking forward to Oscar season.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I'm a big fan of the independent theater that has popped up in Concord NH. Friendly staff, great service, good atmosphere, all the things you would expect of a for profit theater, but Red River goes so much farther. It's not just their selection of often under represented art movies, which in and of itself would be a great boon to our community. No, it's their events, that do more than evangelize great film, but help bring a community together in an age where it is all to easy to ignore those close by in favor of the isolation of the a luxury home life.

Their Q&A sessions, quote and sing along movies, and Friday night film series all bring together lovers of cinema that we can talk and interact in the flesh and that service is much needed and unparalleled in anything else in Conord.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Red River is a treasure in downtown Concord, a place to see films that aren't available at the multiplex theaters. Red River offers a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere in which to lose yourself in a great movie. A nice selection of beer and wine to enjoy also contributes to the experience.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

When we're in town, my husband and I go to as many movies as possible. Red River Theatres has been a dream come true. Their film offerings are fabulous, the seating wonderful, and the engaging staff adds to the experience. They are, by far, our primary choice of venue. What a gift to the community!
Gerri King

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers