Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12.24138345
Write A Review
November 19, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

If you know what's best for you..you will NOT send yourself or send anyone you care about to this program. This place is somewhere you would send someone you absolutely hated and wanted to be miserable. This program is awful. This place is a work camp. You get treated like the scum of the earth. The so called women's staff members consist of 2 women pretty much. Two of the most horrible women you will ever come into contact with but they've convinced themselves they are the greatest things on earth! If you've ever had a conversation with either of them...you'll see exactly what I'm talking about. The staff members of the mens house is not as bad as the womens but they still have some scum of the earth portraying themselves as "examples". Any positive feedback you have read about this place was set up. Don't even bother watching the video on Recovery Ventures that they have posted. It's about 10 years old and majority of the people in it are still using today. Recovery is hard...but RV makes it a nightmare. They convince you that you are a sorry human being without them and you must stay and work for them if you ever want to stay clean. If you look up the definition of a "cult" it should have the RVC logo next to it. I would compare it to a concentration camp. Ask any family members that have been...well if you get a chance to talk to them ever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN!!! FIRE THE STAFF!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I did not go to this "place" personally, but my son did. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! They work you 16 hrs a day with little to eat, just to bring in money. It's all a money racket. They steal your personal items with the words "this is going to be donated to the house". BS. And of top of all that, they will stand you up in front of 100-150 people and intimidate, humiliate and commence to tell you what a piece of crap you have been, are, and always will be. Some people were so desperate to leave there, they were packing their clothes and leaving in the middle of the night...on foot. Keep in mind this place is in the middle of nowhere on top of a mountain. Nothing but mountains all around. It sounds more like a "Nazi Treatment Center", to me. Sometimes, if you make a mistake, they will start your program all over again...which means you've accomplished nothing. Start over from day 1. So now you've got another 18 months in this hell hole. I'm a recovering addict and have been clean for 11 years, but I was appalled at some of the things he told me. They try to brainwash an already broken person...spiritually, emotionally, and mentally broken. So, it doesn't take much, sometimes. Most of the people going there are desperate, and the staff knows it, so they take advantage of it. I'm writing this because I hope that if someone is considering this place, maybe they will reconsider, and find somewhere else. There are much better places than this, for free. We've all made bad choices in addiction, but that doesn't give these people or anyone else the right to treat you like an animal. Remember, those that run the place have done the same things that you have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire staff, and revamp the entire program to a humane, effective, substance abuse treatment center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

March 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

When i was in detox and i watched the video for this place,i thought for sure it was legit. Well when i got there it was nothing like they said. The woman's staff verbally,mentally,emotionally abuse their associates. They want you to think that they are all u have and basically cut all communications off with your family. There is no therapy nor do u get positive feedback. At one point they had me convinced that my family didn't want to help with my meds,and in reality the staff members were constantly trying to get money from them,and that's when my family did their own research and realized it was all a scam. I was there for 2 months and all i did was work and on top of that i was in there for alcohol and one of my jobs required me to work around alcohol. I saw so many women leave in the middle of the night. I finally got to see my family in December on family day and when they got there my soon to be mother in law asked me did i want to come home and i left,my leader came to the car telling to get out of the car and i said no,i felt more broken down in there. There is no positive reinforcement,all i ever saw was women being broken down and treated with no respect. They will take away your selfworth and make u feel like your not worth anything. I have been home since December and have maintained my sobriety,i have been sober for 6 months. I do have to say i did meet one woman in there and she was one of my leaders,i can honestly say if all the staff members were like her i garuntee most of us would of nevered left.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

When I watched the video online I was so happy!! I had finally found a place for me!!!WRONG. This place is a joke and I would not reccommend it to anyone. Everything on the video is completely opposite. Once u get there they take all your belongings and send you out in public to work without makeup and in rags. Everything all the other negative commentators have said is absoutly TRUE!!!!! I couldnt have said it better myself. If you enjoy working and smelling like a dog and eating out of date rotten food then this is the place for u. Staff consists of previous clients who have kissed enough butt to get where they are now. I had a staff member repeadily say and I quote"I d ont do this for the money"". I say Yes u do. Do the math . I was there for over 90 days and followed every rule and couldnt wait to get out of there. If not for my roommate I dont know where I would be. I saw so many women escape during the night just because they couldnt take the abuse anymore. I have been in active addiction for the better part of my life and was truly hoping I had found the right place, needless to say I was very disappointed. I have managed to stay sober since leaving there and I look foward to entering a new program soon. Take my advice. DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE ANY MONEY. There is no therapy there. The time I was there I was counseled by PEERS and thats all. I have been in addiction longer than most of them have been alive. Cursing is an everyday allday thing. However they do refrain from namecalling until it is alloweed at their so called conflict resolution group. The final straw for me was when senior staff member called 2 associates a name I cant put on here. Take my advice and please please dont contribute to these peoples pocketbooks any longer. If the state is not investigating them they certainly need too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

burn it down

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is horrible!!. Nothing but drama, treats you like your a child, not even a RECOVERY PLACE, more like a damn DAYCARE! i left after 6 days, waste of my time and money, couldnt even get the 250 back, they are a bunch of thieves…screw this place...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Being at this rehab was horriable. All a bunch of drama queens. They verbally abuse you and Suzy is open to anything with the guys. The staff likes to relapse and use all the food stamps and make you eat bad expired food. CON ARTISTS ALL OF THEM. You can all see your leaders.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 25, 2013

I was a client at Recovery Ventures Corporation (which I may refer to by their abbreviation, RVC, during the course of this review). I ultimately found this program to be quite unhelpful, and in man... more

November 23, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

Dear Marcus Dupree, I emailed you and would be glad to share any information I have with you. I hope I may be of some help.
In addition, I would like to take this opportunity to use this space to write a bit more about my experience with Recovery Ventures Corporation, since I cannot post
another review due to the fact that I already posted one on September 25th of this year. This week I achieved just over 4 and a half months sober. Contrary to what I was told by RVC staff and one superior associate in particular, I was able to maintain my sobriety without the so-called help of RVC. I think it is important for people to know that there is potential for healthy success and progress without the negativity of those in the program who do not expect you to succeed. I was flat-out told by the lady who did my intake into the program, and I quote, "you're gonna drink as soon as you leave. You wantin' to leave is your addiction callin' you. You're gonna die. Even if you don't drink when you first get out, you'll be drunk within 24 hours." Well I'm here to tell you that it was NOT my disease of addiction "calling me to leave." It was my good sense, and disgust with what I found to be a disturbingly bad program.
If you have read this and would like more detailed information as well as my personal experience with this program, PLEASE read my actual review! Also please take a second after reading it to click "Yes" if you found the review to be helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the program entirely.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

I was a client at Recovery Ventures Corporation (which I may refer to by their abbreviation, RVC, during the course of this review). I ultimately found this program to be quite unhelpful, and in many ways, rather detrimental to a client's hope for future success in life as a clean and sober productive member of society. I would like to preface many of the statements and opinions that I will share here by saying that I tried my best to give this program a fair and unbiased look when I entered and participated to the best of my ability. Despite my best attempts to thrive in the program and attempt to see reason behind the way the program is structured, what I found in what was supposed to be a “recovery” program, or “therapeutic community” was rather like a sort of modernized American slave camp governed by intimidation, negativity, and sleep-deprivation.
When a client enters the program, they are referred to as an “associate” (RVC terminology for client), and any friends and/or relatives who brought them there are made to leave prior to staff beginning intake paperwork or even going through the associate’s belongings. One document I was made to sign allowed RVC to attempt to garnish my food stamps during my stay. I left the program approximately 2 months ago and I’m still having problems getting my food stamps back. My food stamp caseworker just informed me last week that RVC was still applying for my food stamps as of September.
Another document I was required to sign after my ride left during my intake stated that any clothing or personal belongings that I had which were determined not be allowed into the program would be donated to the RVC warehouse. This later allowed over ¾ of my clothing to be taken away, even though I followed the directions on the list of what I could bring. I brought clothing and toiletries exactly according to the sheet I was sent which listed what items were allowed. Once I got to the house I’d be staying in, staff designated two of my superior associates – who were clients who had been in the program for approximately 8-10 months – to go through my belongings. Unbeknownst to me, (and unmentioned on this list of items allowed) clothing had to be several sizes too big to be allowed. Also, white shirts, tank tops, and thong underwear were not allowed. If my memory serves correctly, 7 pairs of pants, 2 pairs of shorts, 6 shirts, 6 pairs of underwear, and 1 dress were all taken and donated to the warehouse. I was not allowed to have staff set aside the clothing to be returned to me upon discharge, nor were they willing to hold the clothing aside so that family or friends could either pick it up or have it sent back home. Nothing I brought was vulgar in nature, skimpy, too tight, nor had any references to drugs or alcohol. Needless to say, I was quite upset because I had followed the guidelines as best as I could while packing, but I just grit my teeth and tried to keep a positive attitude. I never saw these items again.
We slept in bunk beds which averaged 4-6 females per room. At any given time, approximately 18 associates plus 2 staff members lived in that one house alone. While there, I found out quickly that there were so many rules that they were literally un-countable. These were detailed and watched for down to the most insignificant or miniscule infringement, but also included rules which staff could not even explain a basis for. The solution to any problem, however, was to “just say okay.” The words “Just Say Okay” became a sort of mantra. As an associate, you are repeatedly told that the only appropriate response is to “just say okay.” You are NOT to question any direction or order given, nor can you try to stick up for yourself if you are wrongly accused or question anything if told to do something contrary to what someone else has told you to do. Your response is supposed to always be “okay”.
Wednesday night conflict resolution group was almost barbaric. The purpose of conflict resolution group was “to blow up one’s character defects larger than life to avoid conflict on the floor”. (We each had to recite this at some point). They really meant it when they said to blow up one’s character defects. Each week by Tuesday night, every associate had to pick 3 other associates with whom they had some type of conflict or grievance, whose names they had to put into a box prior to the Wednesday night group. This was mandatory – you could not say that you did not have a problem with anybody, or that you couldn’t think of 3 people. Doing so could result in “move time” (RVC terminology for getting in trouble and having to stay on-the-move working and doing repetitive chores without the same breaks the other associates get for 3 days or more per infraction). On Wednesday night, everyone sits in a circle with one chair in the middle. One by one, associates are called to sit in the middle, and any time the associate in the middle was someone whose name had been entered into the box, each person who had entered that associate’s name had to blow up that person’s character defects larger than life in front of everybody. I have been around plenty of cursing, arguing, and yelling in my life, but the screaming and cursing which took place during each of these groups was downright astounding. Staff members had some of the filthiest mouths!! It seemed encouraged. The person in the middle was quite often brought to tears, and was not allowed to talk back or respond to comments unless staff specifically asked them to. If I were to write some of the things that were said in this review, this whole page would likely be taken down.
During the day, we worked 16 hour days. At night, getting 4-5 hours sleep was the norm, but was not always the case. Sleep was a top luxury. Groups were held once per night, but you could not always attend depending on your work schedule, and also most of the groups were lead by other associates. Every moment of every day you feel like you are constantly being monitored for any type of subversive behavior. “Move time” is given out very easily and very frequently, with no chance of trying to stick up for yourself if something was perceived wrongly or reported wrongly, and is a great method of control, as one is scared to say anything out of line if it means having to be on the move for 3 days at a time, or 3 plus 3 plus 7, plus 3, etc…
Wearing extremely baggy clothing, working for weeks without a day off, being deprived of sleep, being watched around every turn so you can’t even confide in another associate without fear of retribution, and not being able to write or call family can all be extremely depressing. Also, once you are given the privilege to write a family member after being in the program for 45-60 days (unless you get in trouble and have to wait longer) your letter is read before it is sent. If anything negative is said about the program, the letter is not allowed to be sent. Same goes for incoming mail and phone calls. Once you write a letter out and receive a letter back, you are allowed one 10 minute phone call which is held in a monitored setting on speakerphone. No chance is given to speak candidly or honestly with those on the outside without fear of getting in trouble and getting more move time. I could go on and on, but for now I just want to go ahead and post this review. I will try to continue it later if anyone wants to hear more detail…. ***

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down and start over.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dear Sarahndipidee,
Thank You for responding! I haven't recieved your email. When you email me please keep in mind that between my first and last name there is an underscore _
My family and I are extremely grateful for your support! My email address is
Marcus_dupree@ymail.com
Also, please feel free to text or call at anytime, as to we are all very anxious to have our Loved one home for the holidays. my number is (813) 403- 7026
Thanks again Sarah! GOD Bless you and Family! Happy Holidays

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sue

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I got to ​RVC​ in 2010, a completely broken soul after just about 6 months in jail. There
​ ​was ​very little left of me. Prior to being arrested, I spent most of my life chasing
​ a​ ghost in the miserable cycle of addiction. I'm an educated woman, I had great opportunities with my life
but at the end of most days, nothing outweighed the lure of addiction. I just couldn't get "it"​. Rvc was my last hope as it is for most that enter the program. The problem is, most that the get to ​RVC​don't get that. R​VC​isn't just another detox, its not a 15k per month recovery center...its the last chance for an addict to get ​"​it". Its hard and I'm not talking about the work schedule, compared to running the streets looking for a rock, ​it​ was a cake walk. Of course​,​ to follow the schedule there is a pain in the butt because we're not used to following schedules when we get there. The real work at RVC is the opportunity the program gives you to take a look at your life, the choices you've made, the pain you've cause. That's the hard part. I listened to others tell me what a piece of crap I was, looked at myself and realized what they were talking about. RVC gave me a chance to change. RVC did not change me, it GAVE ME A PLACE TO CHANGE MYSELF. It gave me a place to save my life and almost 4 years later, I'm still accountable for MY life and still SOBER! Had the staff not been hard on me, forced me to look at myself, step out of my comfort level....I would have never pressed on and surely wouldn't be sober now. Thank you RVC and than you Suzy Bennett for giving me the chance to save my own life! I'm am forever grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Recovery Ventures saved my life. It is as plain and simple as that. When I was desperate, living on the streets of Newark, NJ, detoxing from heroin, they welcomed me with open arms. It is not your typical drug rehab. It is more like altering experience which not only addresses the addiction but the life choices that lead me there.

RVC is by far the most challenging, physically and emotionally, thing that I have ever experienced in my entire life. I should me what I was capable of. I was willing to do what ever it took when I was chasing my next fix, so when I was offered a chance at a sober life, I found that same willingness. Were there times that I had to work long hours with not a lot of sleep? Of course. I still have those days today. I can honestly say that if it wasn't for this program, I never would have thought that I have the strength to have a full time job, full time single mom and a full time student in the Bio-Medical Engineering Program at NAU. I am up with my son at 7am, class till 11am, then I get to come home to do house work/home work then off to work from 5pm to 1am. What people need to realize that in this program you have to work for your recovery. You have to work for the clothing on your back, the house you sleep in, the food you eat and the training that goes into the ones who conduct your groups. Also, it is a voluntary program. You are told what to expect and what the rules will consist of.I was one of those residents that was extremely hard headed and stubborn. I spent 162 days straight in restitution. That meant 164 days were spent either working or on the move at the house. It was nobodies fault but my own. And it was the first time that I was held accountable for my own actions. I grew up in a comfortable home where I never had to face a real consequence. The program did not kick me out, instead they provided me a lesson in accountability, humility and acceptance. I could have left at any point. But the life I knew was utter hell compared to what I was facing there. It came down to one question, did I want to live or die?

No where on the web site or in the intake process does it promise to be easy. After being at RVC, I have a relationship with my family. I have been able to keep steady employment where I am in a management role. I am able to cope with life on life's term without putting a needle in my arm to do it. I have remained heroin free going on 8 years this January. If you want recovery served to you with a silver spoon, patted on the head and told it is all o.k., not your fault, this is not the program for you. If you have hit your rock bottom and are willing to do what ever it takes to remake yourself, then it will do just that. At some point in my addiction I lost what it meant to be a productive, law abiding person. RVC gave me my humanity back. It was my second chance at life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow residents to attend college once they reach leadership phase.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers