Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am a grateful client of R.S.N and a living example of how the right support and guidance can make so much diffrence in a persons life.I met Lou Gordon and his staff while in custody 4 years ago in the S.F county jail,I knew i wanted to change my life but I didn't know what steps to take,and this is where R.S.N does its best work;i was taught how to make a life plan including long and short term goals,I was provided with help for my behavior,substance abuse problems,family issues,and a safe environment to to talk about and work through my challenges, Today I am employed full-time,I am attending college,im reunited with my family and I am an active part of my community.I am Grateful!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More publicity

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is an excellent nonprofit, making a difference for so many in the SF community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

The Recovery Survival Network is one of those great organizations that does so much with so little. By providing a networked set of services, the organization really does help individuals on the path to recovery by providing highly personal, caring support and a strong support system of tough love when that is what is needed. I have seen first-hand the work that they do and am compelled to work with them over the next few years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

RSN is a great non profit. Over the years they have helped many people get their life back on track. From clients who can't seem to stay out for a whole 7 days before returning to custody to addicts who believed they would never stop using. RSN has been through the fire with many of their clients helping them to excel and become model community members.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I work for Wells Fargo Bank at the 16th and Mission office as an Assistant branch manager. for the last 3 years I met several clients from recovery survival network and I can see how this non profit it's trying to make a change in the San Francisco community and helping this people to start a new life. I would say one of the most valuable agencies in the Mission area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/a

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

RSN Is a great non profit. Working with so many people they change lives and make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help raise more funds to help more lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Kevin Henley says this organization is simply one of the most valuable agencies for the formerly incarcerated population

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund them more

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Yvonne Frazier, Owner Yvonne Frazier Consulting

One day I had the opportunity to drive around the streets of San Francisco with Lou Gordon, Executive Director, and his staff and watch them in action. They know what they are doing! We were all just going to lunch together, but you could
not go more than one half block without running into a client or ex client who wanted to stop and talk. The expressions of gratitude from the clients were warm and spontaneous. I call it “real talk”- the clients would share everything that was going on, the up’s and the down’s. 100% said...thank you.

It’s hard work to reenter the community after a time in jail or prison. There are so many barriers to overcome. Finding transitional housing, emotional support, a job, and getting enrolled in services are a few examples. RSN helps the clients feel welcome and comfortable while they engage and support the clients. The stakes are high and time is of the essence! RSN is successful because they understand what the clients are going through and use the power of peer to peer relationships.

I am glad for both the community and the clients that RSN delivers these needed services. RSN isn’t just going to work every day, they are on a Mission – “To help those who want to help themselves”. Their passion, dedication, and skills are obvious! RSN staff understands the San Francisco system, and their case managers work it! Every day they find housing, services, and link with nonprofits and government agencies.

I know that some reading these reviews may have a loved one who needs help. There ARE people who can reach those who others have given up on. I hope your loved one meets up with Lou and his staff. There is always hope. They have a lot to offer and the results just may be a new life.

It’s not enough just to say a few kind words about the nonprofits working so hard in our community. Write a check. Volunteer. Advocate. Speak up about the needs of the previously incarcerated. Help them do some of this heavy lifting!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Recovery Survival Network takes on a very difficult population and does so with determination and drive, two elements that are then expected of their clients. Success is their vision and they have worked out the proper support systems to make success achievable for those clients who stick with the program and invest in themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek more publicity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Lou Gordon, the Executive Director of RSN, is committed to helping those who have been marginalized through addiction, incarceration, and homelessness. Unlike many of the traditional nonprofits, Lou takes an active role in his clients lives, hence, creating an environment in which they can thrive. Recovery Survival Network is a multifaceted organization which truly "changes lives".

Steve A.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers