Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I had the pleasure of interning with RFS, and to say it was a wonderful experience would be an understatement! I was able to visit several schools and assist with the gardening, nutrition, and cooking classes. One of the highlights was seeing the kids faces after they tried a new vegetable freshly picked from their garden. They even had fun with the kale. (Apparently it turns your tongue green when you eat it!) Many children said they have encouraged their families to buy the produce at the grocery store after they tried it in an RFS class. This shows how pivotal this program truly is. RFS is not only reaching countless children, but also their families; therefore, it is supporting a healthier community.
November 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2011

As a Chef volunteer, RFS has been the vehicle to stay connected with children and families that need support and education regarding Healthy life changes. more

November 3, 2014

I joined RFS a few years back with the interest of donating my time to charity where my chef's expertise will be an added asset for the group. Little did I know that the winner was going to be me and my family. Working with the students at the different schools has brought so much joy to our life, we also have enjoyed working with the teachers and other volunteers, to the extend that they are part of our life today. The concept is brilliant, we touch children's every day of every school year in all participating schools, the teachers and volunteers have this amazing gift to share their time with students while teaching healthy eating habits and living it themselves, as most of them are true lovers of real food. I thank my Texas lucky stars every day for my friends at RFS!!!
September 27, 2011

As a Chef volunteer, RFS has been the vehicle to stay connected with children and families that need support and education regarding Healthy life changes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The changes I have seen in children experiencing hands on gardening, harvesting, cooking and learning about Teamwork!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage bilingual education in Spanish for teachers and team leaders! Is essential to reach out to the largest minority in the schools.

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Recipe for Success helps children learn, in a hands on way, about plants, gardening, nutrition, and geography. Volunteering has allowed me to see first hand the positive impact this has with elementary kids. I get to volunteer with Emily Paul. Her enthusiasm and caring way, motivates children to want to learn, try new experiences, and ask questions. It is a terrific program that is worthwhile for a lifetime!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The most compelling experience is to see the light go on in a child's eye's when she discovers that she really loves the flavor of a new food, or has managed to create a taste combination that excites her, or shares her excitement over newly harvested kale or peas. To see the progress after an academic year: children gobbling up plates of vegetables that they warily avoided just months before; competing with each other for who can make the best dish to win their Iron Chef Challenge; seriously describing the importance of flavor combinations, a dishes' visual appeal and how to waft in the aroma of an herb to visitors; and excitedly sharing their discoveries with parents and grandparents. That's when you know that working with Recipe for Success Foundation, you are really helping to change lives.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

As soon as I started volunteering in Recipe for Success' Seed-to-Plate classrooms, I knew this was a different kind of program. Kids know what things like bok choy, mustard greens and umami are. They gobble up salad and slurp down gazpacho - cold soup of raw vegetables! - and beg for seconds and thirds. In the garden, they raise hands high to be the one to hold the watering can or harvest a batch of sweet potatoes or kale. They nibble on snap peas and broccoli flowers, freshly picked from their school garden. I would have LOVED to have a program like this as a child - I hope Recipe for Success continues to grow across Houston and beyond.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been a volunteer with RFS for close to 1 year, after leaving a program that I had worked closely with that was very similar to RFS. I was thrilled to find RFS and become one of many who truly believe in what they are offering to our young students. I have worked with 2 faciliators and both have demonstrated their passion for nutritional eating and gardening. The students are always excited to participate and I'm always amazed at what they see when exploring their gardens. I'm enjoying learning alongside them as well as I'm not a gardener.

I'm looking forward to continuing and furthering my knowledge in both aspects, garden and nutrition.
September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

After working in after-school programs myself as a bilingual Spanish teacher and feeling dismayed by curriculum limitations, I was seriously impressed by the versatility and dynamic structure of RFS classes. In RFS classes, learning to cook a simple recipe becomes so much more than that by engaging and challenging students to work well in groups, think critically about math and science (fractions, ratios, mixtures, etc), and to explore nutrition in a fun and meaningful way. One of my favorite volunteer moments happened one afternoon while I was cleaning up dishes after class. Our last student of the day had returned to class with his mother because he had forgotten to pick up a copy of the day's recipe. Typically a quieter student, he suddenly burst to life recounting the day's lesson to his mother including details of the ingredients, what purposes they served, and how to replicate the meal with other similar ingredients. Seeing my astonishment, the mother proceeded to tell me that her son, as a result of RFS, had taken to helping her in the kitchen both with meal planning and actually cooking their meals. What once was a simple class time activity was becoming a passion for this child as well as a bonding experience for him and his mother.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

I love to see the joy in eyes of the kids as they try new foods and learn the techniques to cooking. The classes are very well organized and teach the kids the food groups, reading labels, and the reasons fast food and prepared foods are not good to eat.

They also have a community garden
at the school so the kids can experience growing and eating their crop.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Houston, Texas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more corporations involved to help with the expense of the kitchens and the food.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Each time I have the chance to see kids in action in the RFS classroom, I know that Recipe for Success is making a life changing difference in children's lives. To see their faces light up and hands raise to chop, peel, mix and stir is such an enlightening experience and makes you think about how the simple act of cooking can create such happiness. My hope is that the children take these lessons home and ask their parents to interact more with them in the kitchen and really create a family dynamic of togetherness that may not have existed before. You see reluctant kids try all kinds of fruits and veggies that some have never seen before and it is hilarious and inspiring. Recipe for Success classes not only teach children how to garden, cook and eat, but it also teaches them how to share, how to work as a team and how to use their imaginations with healthy, good food.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing children try something new. Some of the children have never heard of kale, but they try it and actually enjoy it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

develop a program that teaches older children a healthy way of life through food

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Introduced me to a different way to portray an important message to our youth

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I could really make an impact on a child's future

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

My child went to public elementary school and I was appalled at the food he was given. In the beginning they had real cooks and real food, but eventually those women were laid off in favor of more institutional fare that was a very poor substitute. That's when I became interested in Recipe for Success--they are a much needed organization in Houston, and they do a great job.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the changes it's made in school food, and also been impressed by it's growth in town. The quality of the people involved is just wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it nationally!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist our culinary teachers to deliver a cooking class, help maintain gardens, participate in gardening classes with the kids, participate in community outreach programs, assist in the office with projects like photo cataloging, website maintenance, fulfilling internet order of our materials, assist in scheduling volunteers and chefs, help with field trips, shop for class supplies, deliver class supplies, help with special events and many many other activities. Volunteer