Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

Recipe for Success Foundation is addressing the huge issue of health and obesity in our nation with a fun and effective preventative solution. After only 7 years, 20,000 children have been reached and... more

October 31, 2014

One of my favorite memories is watching the kids sell their produce at their farmers marKIDS stand and getting so excited. We asked one student what his favorite vegetable was, and he responded looking at his pricing chart, "I like swiss chard, but mustard greens are very good -- they add a little peppery spice and are really good in spaghetti."
October 22, 2013

Recipe for Success Foundation is addressing the huge issue of health and obesity in our nation with a fun and effective preventative solution. After only 7 years, 20,000 children have been reached and it is now expanding nationally-- I think the scope and rapid growth of this organization speaks for itself

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 23, 2014

As board member, I am honored to be a part of this worthwhile cause. Gracie Cavnar and her team works tirelessly to promote ways to combat childhood obesity by teaching children (and their parents) healthy eating options. My job as a board member is to ensure the organization has the right mechanisms to achieve those goals. If you feel strongly about helping children or promoting a healthy lifestyle, please check out recipe4success.org and get involved.
October 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 23, 2014

Wells Fargo enjoys a great relationship with Gracie and RFS and when we heard about the plans for Hope Farms, we knew that we wanted to play a significant role in helping to solve the issue of food accessibility. I'm also a proud board member of RFS and support and believe in its mission.

Gracie Cavnar is a dynamo and we have confidence that Hope Farms will not only provide healthy food to Houston families but also educate people—and this is something that Recipe for Success Foundation has proven to do so well over the years.

We’re also excited about the idea of Hope Farms creating jobs, particularly for veterans, as this is a segment of the population that we’re trying to support.

Congratulations and thank you to Recipe for Success Foundation for all that you do to help our communities and area families thrive.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Our students, staff, and parents absolutely LOVE Recipe for Success! We have worked with the program for 2 years, and we see a tremendous improvement in the attitudes of our students as it relates to nurtition. They are making healthier choices, and parents have reported that their children are coming home asking for healthy meal options based on what they are learning. This program is an invaluable asset to our campus, and we are thankful for their partnership.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Absolutely love Recipe for Success and the Seed to Plate program they offer at one of our elementary schools. Fantastic teachers who are great with the kids. Love the iron chef competition at the end of the year! So much fun!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I really enjoyed the VegOut! Challenge. I am eating more veggies now and I also lost 4 lbs during the month! I will be eating more veggies from now on.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Recipe for Success is an awesome program! This is the 2nd year that they've partnered with Park Place Elementary. All of our students from PK-5th grade enjoy cooking and gardening. The staff are amazing! We love Recipe for Success!!!
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Recipe for Success provides an all-inclusive type of program for students, staff, parents, and the community. Students at Briscoe Elementary are provided opportunities to learn about healthy eating and healthy living by participating in gardening and cooking classes. After-school activities also include cooking classes and a new Food Adventure class that helps students understand the connection of how food is grown, where it comes from, and how it gets to the table. Gardening Days and RFS Fun Fridays, which promote families and community members coming together to first make a healthy snack and then exercise together in ZUMBA class, make the program accessible and available to all stakeholders in our area. The activities have raised our level of conscientiousness regarding the health and well-being of our students and have helped the school llook for and make better choices when planning events for the students. This has transcended into other collaborations such as the one we have with Houston Parks and Recreation and CAN DO Houston for a bus program that takes students from our school to the park three afternoons a week for exercise and physical activity. We are extremely grateful to have RFS programs serving and positively impacting our entire community!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The Seed to Plate cooking and gardening class that Recipe for Success brings to our campus is certainly one of the favorite classes for our After School students at Shadow Oaks Elementary. Our 2nd through 5th grades tudents love learning to cook new recipes that are nutritious. Many of the students have never had the oportunity to work in a garden before or to watch the seeds that they plant grow further than just a seedling or sprout in a tiny plastic pot. It is rewarding to see students learn to have a more adventuous palate as they try out foods that they would not normally eat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that they could bring their program to more students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Our school has partnered with RFS for several years and we believe that they have made a tremendous impact in the lives of the students at our school. Our students are excercising and eating healthy everyday and has help made Briscoe an Exemplary school for the last few years! Our school could not afford this program and create these opportunities for all our students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their program to every Elementary in Houston.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist our culinary teachers to deliver a cooking class, help maintain gardens, participate in gardening classes with the kids, participate in community outreach programs, assist in the office with projects like photo cataloging, website maintenance, fulfilling internet order of our materials, assist in scheduling volunteers and chefs, help with field trips, shop for class supplies, deliver class supplies, help with special events and many many other activities. Volunteer