Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a tutor for Reading Works for more than three years, working with four female ESL students. Their accomplishments are many, but include employment promotions, getting a driver's license, library cards, and two students are able to engage in English classes at the community college. Reading Works is a dynamic organization which provides tutors with continuous support, training and learning materials. As a member of the board, I can attest to the commitment of its members and their desire to help Reading Works grow in its ability to serve the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Reading Works is a terrific organization and I have enjoyed serving as a tutor. They offer very thorough and enjoyable training for new volunteers, and are there to support tutors and students through every step. They have a great library and resource center that has everything necessary for tutors and students to succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I am a new tutor for math. I'm currently helping two students to obtain their GED certificates. Both students are in their 30s and have made a commitment to better themselves by obtaining their GED. I admire their desire to work hard in adulthood to make up for past missteps. I'm glad to be helping them and glad that an organization like Reading Works exists to facilitate a connection between volunteers and students in the community. I am a retired civil engineer and I've always wanted to be a teacher so this work is a great fit. From what I've seen so far, the organization is superb and hard working. It's truly a joy to be associated with Reading Works.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase donations to provide services to more members of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Reading Works fills a great need in Albuquerque. According to the New Mexico Coalition for Literacy, nearly half of the state's adults - 46% - are either illiterate or functionally illiterate! Reading Works helps provide solutions to this seemingly insurmountable problem by providing tutors, reading materials, valuable resources and a committed, wonderful staff for those in need. It not only assists learners, but provides great support and training to the tutors. As a volunteer tutor, I'm impressed by their mission and dedication and believe that I've benefited as much, if not more, than my learners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've recently started working with Reading Works and by far, I'm amazed at the level of commitment shown by the volunteers and the acting Executive Director. She goes above and beyond to keep this program afloat through generous donations and teaching tutor instruction classes on her free weekends. It's inspiring to be in the presence of someone who is so committed to making change in peoples' . Thank you for keeping the space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Not long after I moved to Albuquerque, I read about Reading Works in a local paper. I contacted them and within a short period of time I was enrolled in their ESL training program. That was almost two years ago. Since then I have worked with three different students, all immigrants from the Middle East or northern Africa. All are hard-working, extremely motivated young men with an intense desire to learn. Their stories and their work ethic are inspiring, and I thoroughly enjoy the time I spend with them and the knowledge I have that I am helping them to achieve their goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I love reading works! I have just started in my tutoring career with Reading Works and I plan on spending a long time there and with my wonderful student. The people at Reading Works truly care about the community they serve. Tutoring is a top priority in my life. I love Reading Works for teaching me how to become an effective tutor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a Reading Works tutor for almost 2 years. Throughout my entire life, I have been an avid reader and writer, embracing these skills as "core blessings." Whenever I consider illiteracy - - a huge disadvantage for so many across the world - - I have an urgent wish to help. That wish became a reality for me once I retired from my 46-year career as an RN. My very first retirement "project" was to join the Volunteer Program at Reading Works. The 16+ hours of Orientation blew me away with its breadth and depth. I learned so much. Next came my acquaintance with Reading Works' staff, truly a remarkably dedicated and ever-supportive group. As I began with my first student (a bright and highly educated man from Kurdistan), I discovered the wealth of teaching tools that Reading Works has compiled, a library just bursting with helpful resources. Currently, I am working with a Vietnamese learner, a woman whose over-arching goal has been to become a U.S. citizen. For this, she's needed to improve all of her literacy skills and prepare for her Citizenship examinations, both oral and written. Yesterday, she passed with flying colors! During my tenure as a tutor, I've watched with awe the commitment and hard work of Reading Works' administration. This is a tightly-run ship, every day a productive and successful contribution to the community. Reading Works deserves every shred of assistance possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been with Reading Works since 2008 as a board member, tutor, and project leader. I am so pleased to be working with highly talented and devoted tutors who so generously share their talents with people wanting to change their lives by improving their literacy skills. As a tutor, I am always learning more about the subject we are studying and love the thrill of seeing a breakthrough in a person's understanding! That is the payoff for me! Plus, the friendships I have with my students enrich my life. The Board is unique because they are actively involved with the program rather than just a board that sets policy or raises money. Because we do not have an agency housing us, the challenges of raising money and seeing that our community-based program keeps improving in innovative ways keeps their involvement high. Our office is used for training and for tutoring, has a good library for our tutors, and is located in a neighborhood that we think may find our services useful. Our board president, a founder, has vision and high energy so she keeps moving us along. With the literacy levels so low in a great percentage of our citizens, the need is great, but we are working to get our name out and to increase our contribution to our city. I am so glad to be involved with this pioneering group in Albuquerque.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I started doing GED math tutoring with Reading Works in September of this year. Thank goodness for the RW scanner; now all my handouts are on a memory stick. I am particularly happy to have a math tutoring connection to the people of DVRC via Reading Works. It is my way of investing in the community here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

3 hours a week: teach an adult to read and write. Volunteer