Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for almost three years. I have been working with the same learner for the entire time, and it has been so rewarding to see how far he's come. My learn... more

August 17, 2014

I have been a tutor with Reading Works for four years, and I can attest that it is making a big difference in our community, which has an very high rate of illiteracy. I watched my learner progress from reading at a second grade level to reading at a fifth grade level. When he was able to go to the doctor's office and fill out the paperwork without assistance, he felt enormous pride and accomplishment. And as his tutor, I felt very happy for and proud of him.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for almost three years. I have been working with the same learner for the entire time, and it has been so rewarding to see how far he's come. My learner and I owe much of his success to the tremendous support system created by Reading Works. Their training sessions for tutors are interesting and extremely helpful. They provide an excellent array of teaching materials and workshops, and they are always coming up with new and interesting ways to help our learners in their quest for literacy. I would not be able to be an effective tutor without them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

Last year I began tutoring a young man to help him pass the GED written tests--he had already failed the reading and writing portions. After a lot of practice with sample essays he took the tests agai... more

August 11, 2014

As a volunteer tutor and Board member, Reading Works has offered a consistent and stimulating string of challenging opportunities for personal growth and gratification. Along with our other tutors and Board members we experience the satisfaction of helping adults (and their families) move from the fringes of our community closer to the mainstream as they gain self-confidence and joy in learning.

Robert Shipley

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is making its own upgrades among its talented volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2012

Last year I began tutoring a young man to help him pass the GED written tests--he had already failed the reading and writing portions. After a lot of practice with sample essays he took the tests again and passed. That allowed him to enter college, which he did.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Reading Works provides 1:1 tutoring to adults who live in our community.Their needs range from Basic Literacy to Math and computer literacy as well as ESL. Some of the students have been able to get job promotions or US citizenship or read books to their children or grandchildren. It is a much needed service and all of the tutors are volunteers with generous hearts!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help get their mission and purpose out to the Albuquerque community so more people could take advantage of their tutoring!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

The Board is dedicated to the mission of increasing adult literacy. They are so appreciative of volunteer support. By helping one person at a time, they are making a difference in the Albuquerque community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I started with Reading Works in August of this year. I received their training and was connected with a student. He is a very hard working person who works and has a 12 year old child. Here is a person trying to improve his reading ability. He is a great example for his son and the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding would help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

This is a fantastic group and I am very glad to have gotten the opportunity to be a volunteer ESL tutor with them. I really enjoy working with the person from Uganda who is trying to improve his ability to more naturally speak English.
The chance I have received from Reading Works to be a
volunteer ESL tutor is priceless ans am very glad that I have discovered the group and am able to be a volunteer with them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Reading Works is a wonderful family of volunteers. They do a lot of tremendous work for the community of Albuquerque. I began volunteered with them and they sent me to training, taught me everything I needed to know, and put me with an adult ESL learner that worked out great. They really helped me capitalize on my passion for teaching and I'm greatly indebted to them. I'm now a certified ESL volunteer tutor and am so grateful. Thank you for everything!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I have been a tutor for almost 2 years. I find this experience extremely rewarding. Reading Works serves a very critical and urgent need in the community, particularly given the importance of literacy... more

October 10, 2013

I have been a Reading Works basic literacy tutor for over two years. The service this organization provides is desperately needed. I' m proud to be a part of this organization, so much that I not only tutor but look for any opportunity to contribute financially. It is a professionally run organization with both the needs of the students and of the tutors in mind. RW leadership also focuses on reaching out to the community and to other agencies and organizations with related missions to better leverage limited resources. The initial training I received, the frequent tutor workshops, and the resource materials available help me provide better help for my student. I can't say enough about the students who work so hard to improve their reading and writing ability. I so admire their dedication and hard work even though they have jobs, families and other responsibilities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more visibility for the organization and it's services through newspaper, TV, radio, etc in order to attract more students and tutors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

I have been a tutor for almost 2 years. I find this experience extremely rewarding. Reading Works serves a very critical and urgent need in the community, particularly given the importance of literacy and education in this difficult job market. The organization is well run on a very limited budget. The importance of funding and maintaining the facility on Anderson St. SE cannot be emphasized enough. Personally I find it a safe and convenient place to meet for tutoring. One key benefit of tutoring at the Reading Works office is accessibility to readily available resources, e.g., expertise, computers, books and other teaching materials.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for three years. During this time I have been able to prepare a student to pass the GED, and am working with learning-disabled student, helping her to ... more

October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Reading Works since it began. This is a wonderful organization, offering personalized tutoring in various aspects of adult literacy, and I know that as a result of our services, many lives have been changed for the better. When we have more literate individuals in our community, and more with their GED or more who have become fluent in English, we have a richer and stronger community. The lives of our volunteer tutors have also become richer through the opportunity to give back what others have so generously given us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for three years. During this time I have been able to prepare a student to pass the GED, and am working with learning-disabled student, helping her to find meaning from what she reads. Reading Works provides generous support to volunteers and learners alike: For the tutors, in addition to a wide variety of teaching materials, it offers regular workshops and even individual advice when needed. For ESL students Reading Works hosts conversation groups to give them an opportunity to practice their new language skills. Learners on the waiting list for a regular tutor are provided interim tutoring to get the process started and to avoid the discouragement learners may feel while they're waiting for a permanent asignment. Reading Works has contributed greatly to our community and deserves all the support it can get!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Having known about Reading Works since it began, I started volunteering as an ESL tutor when I retired in June 2012. Although I expected to only work with a couple of students, my involvement has grown. I have been tutoring an Intermediate group of 10-12 parents at a local middle school and helping support two other volunteers at the same school. In the last 11 months, our one site has grown from 6 total students to 20 students and a waiting list. During this time, Reading Works has supported the other tutors and me unconditionally and is constantly recruiting students who need our services. Any time I have asked if I could do something new, the answer is always "Of course! Let us know how it works!" This is an amazing organization which changes the lives of real people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

3 hours a week: teach an adult to read and write. Volunteer