Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For almost two years now I've been a reading tutor, computer applications teacher and Board member of Reading Works, Inc., in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The stimulating and gratifying opportunities for both learner and volunteer seem to be endless. The more I involve myself, the more ideas I
get to enhance our program. The next big challenge for the staff and opportunities for the learners will be our upgraded computer lab, which will enable our clients to learn the latest computer skills as well as practice the GED tests.

I feel that the support our volunteers get from the Board and staff make giving our time and talent just about the best use of my energy, bar none.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My comment about Reading Works is not so much to make changes but to fully implement our strategic plan. The plan is comprehensive, visionary and doable. It's up to the Board to dig in and make it happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Reading Works is a terrific organization and I have enjoyed serving as a tutor. They offer very thorough and enjoyable training for new volunteers, and are there to support tutors and students through every step. They have a great library and resource center that has everything necessary for tutors and students to succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I am a new tutor for math. I'm currently helping two students to obtain their GED certificates. Both students are in their 30s and have made a commitment to better themselves by obtaining their GED. I admire their desire to work hard in adulthood to make up for past missteps. I'm glad to be helping them and glad that an organization like Reading Works exists to facilitate a connection between volunteers and students in the community. I am a retired civil engineer and I've always wanted to be a teacher so this work is a great fit. From what I've seen so far, the organization is superb and hard working. It's truly a joy to be associated with Reading Works.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase donations to provide services to more members of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Reading Works is a community based adult literacy program in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Its mission is to empower adults with the literacy and language skills they need to participate fully and effec... more

June 27, 2013

Reading Works just completed a programming year. We served 130 individuals.

Our programming goals for the fiscal year beginning on July 1 are
* serve 200 people
* expand our ESL classes for immigrant parents of middle school children
* form a partnership with the Asian
Family Center
* institute a reading for pleasure program
* revise our GED curriculum to address the changes in the GED test which will be launched in January 2014.

Reading Works is a good investment for a donor. 81% of our budget for 2013-2014 is allocated to programming. Our clients make real life changes like U.S. citizenship, getting a job, advancing in employment, learning literacy and English survival skills, and enrolling in community college or university classes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Reading Works is a community based adult literacy program in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Its mission is to empower adults with the literacy and language skills they need to participate fully and effectively in work, civic life and community. Reading Works provides free one-on-one and small group instruction in reading and writing; English as a Second Language; GED preparation; math; computer skills. Reading Works is especially effective in community outreach — providing services at middle schools, half-way houses, and domestic violence shelters. Reading Works is young — our budget is small — 84% of our expenses are program related — last year 58 volunteers served 131 people. Our clients make great improvements in their lives: get jobs, advance in employment, learn essential banking skills, pass the GED exam, enroll in community college or training courses, read to their children, use the library for the first time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Reading Works fills a great need in Albuquerque. According to the New Mexico Coalition for Literacy, nearly half of the state's adults - 46% - are either illiterate or functionally illiterate! Reading Works helps provide solutions to this seemingly insurmountable problem by providing tutors, reading materials, valuable resources and a committed, wonderful staff for those in need. It not only assists learners, but provides great support and training to the tutors. As a volunteer tutor, I'm impressed by their mission and dedication and believe that I've benefited as much, if not more, than my learners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've recently started working with Reading Works and by far, I'm amazed at the level of commitment shown by the volunteers and the acting Executive Director. She goes above and beyond to keep this program afloat through generous donations and teaching tutor instruction classes on her free weekends. It's inspiring to be in the presence of someone who is so committed to making change in peoples' . Thank you for keeping the space.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Reading Works has been helping me for about three years. By reading and spelling and learning the meaning of certain words, I've read about eight books, which I haven't read in about twenty years. Thanks.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Not long after I moved to Albuquerque, I read about Reading Works in a local paper. I contacted them and within a short period of time I was enrolled in their ESL training program. That was almost two years ago. Since then I have worked with three different students, all immigrants from the Middle East or northern Africa. All are hard-working, extremely motivated young men with an intense desire to learn. Their stories and their work ethic are inspiring, and I thoroughly enjoy the time I spend with them and the knowledge I have that I am helping them to achieve their goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I love reading works! I have just started in my tutoring career with Reading Works and I plan on spending a long time there and with my wonderful student. The people at Reading Works truly care about the community they serve. Tutoring is a top priority in my life. I love Reading Works for teaching me how to become an effective tutor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a Reading Works tutor for almost 2 years. Throughout my entire life, I have been an avid reader and writer, embracing these skills as "core blessings." Whenever I consider illiteracy - - a huge disadvantage for so many across the world - - I have an urgent wish to help. That wish became a reality for me once I retired from my 46-year career as an RN. My very first retirement "project" was to join the Volunteer Program at Reading Works. The 16+ hours of Orientation blew me away with its breadth and depth. I learned so much. Next came my acquaintance with Reading Works' staff, truly a remarkably dedicated and ever-supportive group. As I began with my first student (a bright and highly educated man from Kurdistan), I discovered the wealth of teaching tools that Reading Works has compiled, a library just bursting with helpful resources. Currently, I am working with a Vietnamese learner, a woman whose over-arching goal has been to become a U.S. citizen. For this, she's needed to improve all of her literacy skills and prepare for her Citizenship examinations, both oral and written. Yesterday, she passed with flying colors! During my tenure as a tutor, I've watched with awe the commitment and hard work of Reading Works' administration. This is a tightly-run ship, every day a productive and successful contribution to the community. Reading Works deserves every shred of assistance possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

3 hours a week: teach an adult to read and write. Volunteer