Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

The work that these volunteers do expands exponentially when you consider how just teaching one person to read transmits to more and more people reading. And everyone knows what happens in a world where knowledge is spread freely!!! Thank you for doing such an invaluable job!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

After attending the annual fundraiser for this organization I am so impressed with the hard work and fabulous results this group has shown. They are a group of highly engaged individuals who are making big strides in the local community by giving the gift of reading to adults. One young woman was able to acquire her GED and continue with her studies which was bound to be passed along to her children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for almost three years. I have been working with the same learner for the entire time, and it has been so rewarding to see how far he's come. My learn... more

August 17, 2014

I have been a tutor with Reading Works for four years, and I can attest that it is making a big difference in our community, which has an very high rate of illiteracy. I watched my learner progress from reading at a second grade level to reading at a fifth grade level. When he was able to go to the doctor's office and fill out the paperwork without assistance, he felt enormous pride and accomplishment. And as his tutor, I felt very happy for and proud of him.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for almost three years. I have been working with the same learner for the entire time, and it has been so rewarding to see how far he's come. My learner and I owe much of his success to the tremendous support system created by Reading Works. Their training sessions for tutors are interesting and extremely helpful. They provide an excellent array of teaching materials and workshops, and they are always coming up with new and interesting ways to help our learners in their quest for literacy. I would not be able to be an effective tutor without them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

Last year I began tutoring a young man to help him pass the GED written tests--he had already failed the reading and writing portions. After a lot of practice with sample essays he took the tests agai... more

August 11, 2014

As a volunteer tutor and Board member, Reading Works has offered a consistent and stimulating string of challenging opportunities for personal growth and gratification. Along with our other tutors and Board members we experience the satisfaction of helping adults (and their families) move from the fringes of our community closer to the mainstream as they gain self-confidence and joy in learning.

Robert Shipley

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is making its own upgrades among its talented volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2012

Last year I began tutoring a young man to help him pass the GED written tests--he had already failed the reading and writing portions. After a lot of practice with sample essays he took the tests again and passed. That allowed him to enter college, which he did.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Reading Works provides 1:1 tutoring to adults who live in our community.Their needs range from Basic Literacy to Math and computer literacy as well as ESL. Some of the students have been able to get job promotions or US citizenship or read books to their children or grandchildren. It is a much needed service and all of the tutors are volunteers with generous hearts!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help get their mission and purpose out to the Albuquerque community so more people could take advantage of their tutoring!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Reading Works, Inc. is an asset to our community by readying students to take the GED or to pass the Naturalization test for citizenship or to read to their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase board specialty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

I am honored to be associated with Reading Works. They are providing an effective solution to a significant problem in the community, and as a result they are changing people's lives. Reading Works provides a caring environment, free from judgment, allowing students to meet their literacy goals. The one-on-one tutoring sessions provide personalized instruction, which is a large part of both the students' and Reading Works' success. Each benchmark that students achieve enhances their contribution to their familial, economic, and social responsibilities. This has a dynamic effect, which is becoming apparent within the community they serve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

The Board is dedicated to the mission of increasing adult literacy. They are so appreciative of volunteer support. By helping one person at a time, they are making a difference in the Albuquerque community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

For donors: Reading Works is a United Way Community Fund agency. When you are looking for a non-profit investment, this means something. Nonprofit programs supported by the Community Fund have been carefully vetted by the community to ensure dollars:

• benefit the most vulnerable in our
four-county area.

• support programs with specific, measurable, and attainable goals.

• address needs that are critical and data-informed.

• support work that is not duplicated in its outreach area.

• foster collaboration.

• support effective and efficient programs with excellent track records.

• support programs that are sustainable and of good financial health.

• support best practices.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 2, 2014

more

June 2, 2014

I support Reading Works because one way to improve our educational system is to ensure that parents of school-age children have the skills needed to engage with their children and schools in the educational process. Parents who cannot read and write at a level above their children aren't able to support their child's learning, have trouble connecting with teachers regarding their child's education, and frequently miss out on crucial communications from the school.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

3 hours a week: teach an adult to read and write. Volunteer