Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

I am honored to be associated with Reading Works. They are providing an effective solution to a significant problem in the community, and as a result they are changing people's lives. Reading Works provides a caring environment, free from judgment, allowing students to meet their literacy goals. The one-on-one tutoring sessions provide personalized instruction, which is a large part of both the students' and Reading Works' success. Each benchmark that students achieve enhances their contribution to their familial, economic, and social responsibilities. This has a dynamic effect, which is becoming apparent within the community they serve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

The Board is dedicated to the mission of increasing adult literacy. They are so appreciative of volunteer support. By helping one person at a time, they are making a difference in the Albuquerque community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

For donors: Reading Works is a United Way Community Fund agency. When you are looking for a non-profit investment, this means something. Nonprofit programs supported by the Community Fund have been carefully vetted by the community to ensure dollars:

• benefit the most vulnerable in our
four-county area.

• support programs with specific, measurable, and attainable goals.

• address needs that are critical and data-informed.

• support work that is not duplicated in its outreach area.

• foster collaboration.

• support effective and efficient programs with excellent track records.

• support programs that are sustainable and of good financial health.

• support best practices.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 2, 2014

more

June 2, 2014

I support Reading Works because one way to improve our educational system is to ensure that parents of school-age children have the skills needed to engage with their children and schools in the educational process. Parents who cannot read and write at a level above their children aren't able to support their child's learning, have trouble connecting with teachers regarding their child's education, and frequently miss out on crucial communications from the school.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became connected with Reading Works in March 2013. I am continually amazed with the passion of not only my fellow board members but the passion our volunteers have for the clients they interact with. Each Reading Works client has a unique story and it is awesome to see these clients able to achieve their goals. Reading Works is a life changing organization I am proud to be associated with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I started with Reading Works in August of this year. I received their training and was connected with a student. He is a very hard working person who works and has a 12 year old child. Here is a person trying to improve his reading ability. He is a great example for his son and the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding would help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Reading Works is a AWESOME non- profit agency that helps adults with literacy. I have been a student for two years. When I came to the program I knew I needed to improve my reading skills and writing skills. I have a dream that one day I'll be working in a field that I love which happens to be the medical field. I thank god that Reading Works is around. Reading Works changed my life by providing me with a tutor that would assist me in accomplishing my goal which is to learn how to read. I continue to work with my tutor once a week to improve my reading and writing skills." 1 out of 5 New Mexicans can't read."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

This is a fantastic group and I am very glad to have gotten the opportunity to be a volunteer ESL tutor with them. I really enjoy working with the person from Uganda who is trying to improve his ability to more naturally speak English.
The chance I have received from Reading Works to be a
volunteer ESL tutor is priceless ans am very glad that I have discovered the group and am able to be a volunteer with them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Reading Works is a wonderful family of volunteers. They do a lot of tremendous work for the community of Albuquerque. I began volunteered with them and they sent me to training, taught me everything I needed to know, and put me with an adult ESL learner that worked out great. They really helped me capitalize on my passion for teaching and I'm greatly indebted to them. I'm now a certified ESL volunteer tutor and am so grateful. Thank you for everything!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

My experience as a tutor has been very positive. My student seems to greatly appreciate a chance to improve his literacy. He is motivated to learn even though he has some disabilities. We both enjoy the tutor sessions. Being a literacy coach has been very stimulating for me as a tutor and enriches my life to deal with the challenges of helping my student improve his literacy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

3 hours a week: teach an adult to read and write. Volunteer