Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became connected with Reading Works in March 2013. I am continually amazed with the passion of not only my fellow board members but the passion our volunteers have for the clients they interact with. Each Reading Works client has a unique story and it is awesome to see these clients able to achieve their goals. Reading Works is a life changing organization I am proud to be associated with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I started with Reading Works in August of this year. I received their training and was connected with a student. He is a very hard working person who works and has a 12 year old child. Here is a person trying to improve his reading ability. He is a great example for his son and the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding would help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Reading Works is a AWESOME non- profit agency that helps adults with literacy. I have been a student for two years. When I came to the program I knew I needed to improve my reading skills and writing skills. I have a dream that one day I'll be working in a field that I love which happens to be the medical field. I thank god that Reading Works is around. Reading Works changed my life by providing me with a tutor that would assist me in accomplishing my goal which is to learn how to read. I continue to work with my tutor once a week to improve my reading and writing skills." 1 out of 5 New Mexicans can't read."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

This is a fantastic group and I am very glad to have gotten the opportunity to be a volunteer ESL tutor with them. I really enjoy working with the person from Uganda who is trying to improve his ability to more naturally speak English.
The chance I have received from Reading Works to be a
volunteer ESL tutor is priceless ans am very glad that I have discovered the group and am able to be a volunteer with them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Reading Works is a wonderful family of volunteers. They do a lot of tremendous work for the community of Albuquerque. I began volunteered with them and they sent me to training, taught me everything I needed to know, and put me with an adult ESL learner that worked out great. They really helped me capitalize on my passion for teaching and I'm greatly indebted to them. I'm now a certified ESL volunteer tutor and am so grateful. Thank you for everything!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

My experience as a tutor has been very positive. My student seems to greatly appreciate a chance to improve his literacy. He is motivated to learn even though he has some disabilities. We both enjoy the tutor sessions. Being a literacy coach has been very stimulating for me as a tutor and enriches my life to deal with the challenges of helping my student improve his literacy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I have been a tutor for almost 2 years. I find this experience extremely rewarding. Reading Works serves a very critical and urgent need in the community, particularly given the importance of literacy... more

October 10, 2013

I have been a Reading Works basic literacy tutor for over two years. The service this organization provides is desperately needed. I' m proud to be a part of this organization, so much that I not only tutor but look for any opportunity to contribute financially. It is a professionally run organization with both the needs of the students and of the tutors in mind. RW leadership also focuses on reaching out to the community and to other agencies and organizations with related missions to better leverage limited resources. The initial training I received, the frequent tutor workshops, and the resource materials available help me provide better help for my student. I can't say enough about the students who work so hard to improve their reading and writing ability. I so admire their dedication and hard work even though they have jobs, families and other responsibilities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more visibility for the organization and it's services through newspaper, TV, radio, etc in order to attract more students and tutors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

I have been a tutor for almost 2 years. I find this experience extremely rewarding. Reading Works serves a very critical and urgent need in the community, particularly given the importance of literacy and education in this difficult job market. The organization is well run on a very limited budget. The importance of funding and maintaining the facility on Anderson St. SE cannot be emphasized enough. Personally I find it a safe and convenient place to meet for tutoring. One key benefit of tutoring at the Reading Works office is accessibility to readily available resources, e.g., expertise, computers, books and other teaching materials.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for three years. During this time I have been able to prepare a student to pass the GED, and am working with learning-disabled student, helping her to ... more

October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Reading Works since it began. This is a wonderful organization, offering personalized tutoring in various aspects of adult literacy, and I know that as a result of our services, many lives have been changed for the better. When we have more literate individuals in our community, and more with their GED or more who have become fluent in English, we have a richer and stronger community. The lives of our volunteer tutors have also become richer through the opportunity to give back what others have so generously given us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor for Reading Works for three years. During this time I have been able to prepare a student to pass the GED, and am working with learning-disabled student, helping her to find meaning from what she reads. Reading Works provides generous support to volunteers and learners alike: For the tutors, in addition to a wide variety of teaching materials, it offers regular workshops and even individual advice when needed. For ESL students Reading Works hosts conversation groups to give them an opportunity to practice their new language skills. Learners on the waiting list for a regular tutor are provided interim tutoring to get the process started and to avoid the discouragement learners may feel while they're waiting for a permanent asignment. Reading Works has contributed greatly to our community and deserves all the support it can get!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Having known about Reading Works since it began, I started volunteering as an ESL tutor when I retired in June 2012. Although I expected to only work with a couple of students, my involvement has grown. I have been tutoring an Intermediate group of 10-12 parents at a local middle school and helping support two other volunteers at the same school. In the last 11 months, our one site has grown from 6 total students to 20 students and a waiting list. During this time, Reading Works has supported the other tutors and me unconditionally and is constantly recruiting students who need our services. Any time I have asked if I could do something new, the answer is always "Of course! Let us know how it works!" This is an amazing organization which changes the lives of real people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a tutor for Reading Works for more than three years, working with four female ESL students. Their accomplishments are many, but include employment promotions, getting a driver's license, library cards, and two students are able to engage in English classes at the community college. Reading Works is a dynamic organization which provides tutors with continuous support, training and learning materials. As a member of the board, I can attest to the commitment of its members and their desire to help Reading Works grow in its ability to serve the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

3 hours a week: teach an adult to read and write. Volunteer