Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

Books are what we say windows that open a person's mind to the world, and what I think READ Global has done is remarkable. It has not only opened READ centers in communities to help rural development, but has given an opportunity to open the minds of many children's from rural areas. I have myself been to a READ centers in my country, in one of the rural area Ura, Bumthang, Bhutan, and seeing the children being fascinated with a roomful of books to read brought joy to their faces. many book to choose to read, many reference for projects and access to internet, it was nice to see an organization do it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

READ Bhutan, in my view, has been doing incredible job by providing the much needed services to the most deprived group of people in the country. They have opened their first READ Centre in Ura, Bhutan, my home town, which has immensely benefited the community. Since then, I was always inspired by their great work and have been following their activities and programmes effectively. My community is one of the first benefactors and we also share good professional working partnership at the organizational level.
The latest Read Centre in Thimphu has now become a model centre not only in terms of their services through library, the centre provides much beyond that. The Centre brings together other non-profit organizations providing range of social services for the community. I wish them all the very best of luck for their continued support and services to the larger group of community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

READ Bhutan focuses on empowerment of local and rural communities, especially targeted towards women and from then on wards to children and the community at large. Educating women is the best investment since this has a ripple effect starting from household to the whole community.  With READ Bhutan, rural communities has been empowered with knowledge and opportunities. Now a farmer in rural Bhutan know about better parenting, the value of sending children, especially girls to school, decision on family planning and other reproductive health issues, does business with a mobile phone and keep records of transactions, know the procedure of availing loans from the bank, and is aware of environmental issues. This farmer also contributes to our new democracy since he/she is empowered to think, analyse and select the best leader. READ Bhutan's impressive method of involving communities creates a sense of ownership and a sustainable way to keep the programme going on which is impressive.  Tandi

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

READ has achieved an enormous task in very little time by Bhutan standards. It had created several libraries and centres in disadvantaged communities, it has enpowered the local people by giving them means of living and responsabilities and it has created a name for READ throughout Bhutan.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

READ Bhutan has a center in my village in Rongthung, Trashigang, Bhutan. The READ center has created the possibility for our children in the village to access books in its library and also internet to kids who would otherwise never have had access. It has enabled the kids to understand the world at large and i am confident that we will see great results in a few years. Further the model of ensuring that the center is self sufficient by funding business activity in the community which has to fund the day to day operational cost of the center is a great way to create economic opportunity for the members of the community and also to ensure that the center does not become reliant on READ for its future funding requirement. Great going READ Bhutan hope you able to establish many new centers in Bhutan in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2008
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2008
2 people found this review helpful

READ Global has been working for not only increasing the awareness but for a great revolution too. Actually, I am one of the social workers who indirectly play the role for the positive changes in the society. Previously, I have facilitated for specially the rural areas and motivated to do so due to my rural background too. There are very few of the organizations working in this sector in rural areas. The past achievements of READ Global are obviously inspirable. The number of people involved and benefited is the facts behind this. I have heard much more about Antonia Neubauer, the founder of READ Global, but unluckily I have never got a chance to meet. I have been visited in the library in Kathmandu, Nepal. Once again I want to emphasize that I belong from a rural community and that's why I have the passion for literacy. I have completed my masters in Chemistry. The passion in me is still alive and my whole life will be for the social service. I am myself affiliated with many social organizations and doing/done few of the significant services. In spite I am not satisfied with these achievements and willing to do much more than that.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Kathmandu when I visited the libraries.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers