Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.955885
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

This is a personal review. I have know Va for years; her kindness towards animals and compassion for kids have found a perfect union in the Rattlebox Nature Center. All Kids seem to respond in a positive when they interact with animals, and Rattlebox gives the kids a chance to do this - and the animals a home. This is a wonderfully worthwhile venture!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

my daughter has been visiting Camp Rattlebox for several years. First with the girl scouts, then as a camp member and finally a Councelor InTraining. A beautiful experience, run by a beautiful lady!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Great place for children and adults to learn more about animals, their care and their welfare. Valerie, the owner , is very passionate about her animals and her nature center and does a wonderful job as guide, teacher and organizer of events. Fun pony rides, art classes and specialized parties available to the children. My teenage son volunteered to help out and he learned a lot about the responsibility of taking care of animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

There are not many places where basic concern for animals and respect for nature is instilled in such a loving way.The Rattlebox Nature is one. Without discrimination, Valarie offers these learning experiences to all. Her unselfish spirit is extended across many fields. Whether it is re- homing animals, volunteering for "Hands Across The Sea", raising money for women's shelters, or giving a disabled child an opportunity of a lifetime, Val's unwavering positivity is a wonderful influence ~ for young and old alike !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

My daughter has been attending Rattlebox off and on for a number of years. Valerie does a wonderful job on so many levels, and has a great personality. We feel so fortunate to have found a place for our daughter to learn about the care of animals large and small and ride horses. Rattlebox is a wonderful place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have visited Rattlebox many times over the years, and each time I am struck by Valerie's unwavering dedication to the welfare of all animals and the variety of unique opportunities she provides to individuals of all ages to interact positively with the animals in her care. The majority of these people might not otherwise hold an animal or a bird, play with a dog or cat, groom or ride a horse. At Rattlebox they do all of these things in a safe, cozy, relaxed environment under Valerie's complete supervision. She teaches and guides with compassion, wisdom, patience and humor. While most of her programs are designed for children, interacting with and helping care for her menagerie provides confidence, comfort and joy to children and adults alike. Riding any of her four horses, from miniature to full size depending on the rider's level of comfort and ability, gives every rider a lasting sense of accomplishment. Rattlebox programs encourage awareness, understanding and a sense of responsibility through direct, hands-on connections to animals and nature in a manageable, non-threatening setting, indoors and out. Where else might you see or maybe even ride a very small horse in the house?! Valerie is committed to sharing her extensive knowledge as well as her love, respect and concern for the animal kingdom by creating situations in which participants may have personal contact with each of the animals in her care. This promotes the well being of visitors and animals alike. All of the animals and birds at Rattlebox are gentle and receptive to guests. One of the best and most unique aspects of a visit to the Rattlebox Nature Center is Valerie's cheerful presentation of the wonderful, amusing personality of each of her animals and birds. Rattlebox is a friendly, inspiring, educational, and fun environment, ideal for young children whose eyes and hearts are open to the wonders of the natural world. In circumstances where a visit to Rattlebox is not possible, Valerie will do her best to bring one of her animal programs to you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Valerie is family, my cousin, actually, so I hope my endorsement won't be considered gratuitous, because Val and I know each other well enough to both trust our shared honesty. I recently took my 2 year old grandson to see his "Auntie Val" and all her wonderful animals. From holding bunny rabbits, to going for his very first pony ride, I have to say that the experience has marked him for life. The look on his face was worth a fortune. Val does such wonderful work with rescue animals, giving them a renewed chance on life and then introducing these precious animals to young minds and the wonders of nature. These children come away from Rattlebox Nature Center with an appreciation of life beyond their bedrooms, backyards, neighborhoods and schools, that hopefully will help save our planet as they grow and become the leaders of our future. Valerie's work is but a fundamental, but absolutely essential first step in the education of our children so that they will grow with an appreciation of just how precious and fragile our planet is. This simple little organization and others like it hold the keys to a healthier future for all of our children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Rattlebox Nature Center does so much to help both animals in need, and children who could benefit from learning about them. Valerie teaches children responsibility, encourages their creativity and offers them rich learning experiences. Children who have the opportunity to attend camp at Rattlebox Nature Center benefit on so many different levels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

Rattlebox is a great place. They help so many animals as well as people. I try to tell as many people as i can about this terrific place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Well, actually, I'm a customer and a donor and a fan! All of my kids have enjoyed the animals and riding lessons and craft projects at Rattlebox and their lives have all been enriched by knowing the children from the shelter who attend the summer camp and lessons free of charge. Miss Valerie is an angel who can calm skittish, traumatized children as lovingly as she gentles a horse. Thank you, Valerie, for changing this small corner of the world one precious child at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Groom,feed ponies and small animals,clean enclosures, help with pony rides or gardening. Volunteer