Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have visited Rattlebox many times over the years, and each time I am struck by Valerie's unwavering dedication to the welfare of all animals and the variety of unique opportunities she provides to individuals of all ages to interact positively with the animals in her care. The majority of these people might not otherwise hold an animal or a bird, play with a dog or cat, groom or ride a horse. At Rattlebox they do all of these things in a safe, cozy, relaxed environment under Valerie's complete supervision. She teaches and guides with compassion, wisdom, patience and humor. While most of her programs are designed for children, interacting with and helping care for her menagerie provides confidence, comfort and joy to children and adults alike. Riding any of her four horses, from miniature to full size depending on the rider's level of comfort and ability, gives every rider a lasting sense of accomplishment. Rattlebox programs encourage awareness, understanding and a sense of responsibility through direct, hands-on connections to animals and nature in a manageable, non-threatening setting, indoors and out. Where else might you see or maybe even ride a very small horse in the house?! Valerie is committed to sharing her extensive knowledge as well as her love, respect and concern for the animal kingdom by creating situations in which participants may have personal contact with each of the animals in her care. This promotes the well being of visitors and animals alike. All of the animals and birds at Rattlebox are gentle and receptive to guests. One of the best and most unique aspects of a visit to the Rattlebox Nature Center is Valerie's cheerful presentation of the wonderful, amusing personality of each of her animals and birds. Rattlebox is a friendly, inspiring, educational, and fun environment, ideal for young children whose eyes and hearts are open to the wonders of the natural world. In circumstances where a visit to Rattlebox is not possible, Valerie will do her best to bring one of her animal programs to you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2012

My daughter and son have both learned so much about caring for animals, respecting nature, and they've learned so much about themselves in the process. This will be the fourth year that my kids will ... more

November 4, 2012

Rattlebox Nature Center is a great educational resource, camp, outreach, and animal fostering resource. Valerie is an extremely caring and patient individual who accommodates kids of all backgrounds and disabilities. My daughter loves Valerie's kind ways and loves attending to the large variety of animals Valerie fosters or owns.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

My daughter and son have both learned so much about caring for animals, respecting nature, and they've learned so much about themselves in the process. This will be the fourth year that my kids will return. Valerie is so easy-going and provides a great environment for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Valerie is family, my cousin, actually, so I hope my endorsement won't be considered gratuitous, because Val and I know each other well enough to both trust our shared honesty. I recently took my 2 year old grandson to see his "Auntie Val" and all her wonderful animals. From holding bunny rabbits, to going for his very first pony ride, I have to say that the experience has marked him for life. The look on his face was worth a fortune. Val does such wonderful work with rescue animals, giving them a renewed chance on life and then introducing these precious animals to young minds and the wonders of nature. These children come away from Rattlebox Nature Center with an appreciation of life beyond their bedrooms, backyards, neighborhoods and schools, that hopefully will help save our planet as they grow and become the leaders of our future. Valerie's work is but a fundamental, but absolutely essential first step in the education of our children so that they will grow with an appreciation of just how precious and fragile our planet is. This simple little organization and others like it hold the keys to a healthier future for all of our children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Rattlebox Nature Center does so much to help both animals in need, and children who could benefit from learning about them. Valerie teaches children responsibility, encourages their creativity and offers them rich learning experiences. Children who have the opportunity to attend camp at Rattlebox Nature Center benefit on so many different levels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 22, 2012

Great place for children to learn the basics of caring and responsible ownership of animals. A wonderful experience for all ages. more

November 3, 2012

What a wonderful gem tucked away in the countryside of Delaware County. My daughter and my friends children have all had the opportunity to go to camp here. The hands on approach to horsemanship, animal handling and care have been a true gift that will last their lifetimes. I can't say enough about the atmosphere, the arts & crafts and the staff who welcomed us into their unique farm like setting. Rattlebox is truly a joyful childhood learning experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

Great place for children to learn the basics of caring and responsible ownership of animals. A wonderful experience for all ages.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 11, 2012

My children received a gift certificate for a riding lesson at Rattlebox Nature Center last summer. They LOVED it!! Not only did they ride the ponies but they learned about them and how to care for ... more

November 3, 2012

Rattlebox Nature Center is a hidden gem! My children loved their time spent with Valerie and the animals. From pony rides (and grooming) to learning about birds, turtles and much more! Valerie really takes the time to teach them about the animals and the care they need. I would highly recommend Rattlebox Nature Center to anyone looking for a fun and educational outing for your family or group! Perfect place to learn about so many different animals, how to care for and respect them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2012

My children received a gift certificate for a riding lesson at Rattlebox Nature Center last summer. They LOVED it!! Not only did they ride the ponies but they learned about them and how to care for them. Then we were allowed to see all the animals that Valerie has rescued and cares for. My children loved the one on one attention and enjoyed learning about and holding the animals. They especially liked seeing the snakes and turtles! I would definitely recommend Rattlebox for an afternoon out or even a school trip! Both Fun and Educational! Thank you Valerie for all your hard work and dedication!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Valerie is one of the most influential people in my children's lives. Each week my 2 and 4 year old sons come, not just to ride, but to learn in detail about all the work that goes into caring for animals, to learn how to deal with responsibility--really to learn about life. Rattlebox Nature Center is a gem, hidden the rough! We are so thankful to have Valerie in our lives, and for our children to be exposed to the wonderful values she promotes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 11, 2012

Rattle box is a place that kids can learn about nature and animals. Valerie really works hard to give everyone a great experience! more

November 3, 2012

My duaghter has enjoyed Rattlebox for years! She loves seeing so many types of animals, and cherishes her time with the horses!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

Rattle box is a place that kids can learn about nature and animals. Valerie really works hard to give everyone a great experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Rattle box and Valerie are always wonderful and provide a fantastic service

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

Anyone can create their own 'Rattlebox', but how many of us, myself included, go the distance it takes to serve & care for the unpredictable needs of all living things encountered? To tout the endless ways that this establishment serves others is almost unneccessary because the bigger, more important, purpose-impact, would be missed. The purpose, intent & relentless energy of Rattlebox is sustainable and is always renewed/replenished - somehow. It is a gift to be able to give of oneself & material goods so willingly, so effortlessly, without judgment or bias or greed. People, like the founder of Rattlebox, are a rare breed, especially among the non-profit community. We can all partake in this gift by allowing ourselves to simply be affected by one another, animal or human, by taking the time to listen, observe & care and to realize that only through the release of our wants & materials, can any living thing on this earth, hope to discover & live as happiness/calm & peace...I feel this from being at Rattlebox, I willingly give, I receive what is given. It is food for the soul - and the the animals are really cute:)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Groom,feed ponies and small animals,clean enclosures, help with pony rides or gardening. Volunteer