Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.938275
Write A Review
November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Valerie and her team of beautiful animals and wonderful staff have taken part in an annual event at our school and all the children LOVE them! Her enthusiasm is infectious and her passion for her work is inspiring! The event typically welcomes around 300 children and families and Rattlebox is always one of the highlights of the day! Mary Schugsta

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

My son, a two year old boy, had a blast here with a guided pony ride through the woods, an introduction to a dozen different birds, and the opportunity to hold and pet rabbits, guinea pigs, and more. This a fantastic place! We didn't get to the art portion, but the facilities look great and I love their emphasis on recycling and repurposing everyday materials.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

My daughter was an active participant at Rattlebox from the time she was quite small to when she graduated to bigger horses. She still participates as a CIT when she has the time. Rattlebox and Valerie were a big part in getting my shy daughter to come out of her shell. She had sensory issues and the calm and nurturing environment at Rattlebox helped her overcome them. My daughter and I think of Rattlebox as a little slice of heaven!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I had a party for my daugher at Rattlebox. What a wonderful experience! Not only did the children learn about animals and ride the horses, but it felt good to know the monies paid were going to help a good cause. What a wonderful thing Valerie is doing, not only for the kids that she sponsors for camp, but also for the animals that she often gets as rescues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

As someone who has donated to Rattlebox in the past I'm happy to report that it has been some of the best money I have ever spent. One can actually see in a very real and tangible way how your money effects positive change. Animals and children alike benefit on a daily basis from the work Rattlebox does and it's a wonderful feeling to help in any way possible!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have visited Rattlebox many times over the years, and each time I am struck by Valerie's unwavering dedication to the welfare of all animals and the variety of unique opportunities she provides to individuals of all ages to interact positively with the animals in her care. The majority of these people might not otherwise hold an animal or a bird, play with a dog or cat, groom or ride a horse. At Rattlebox they do all of these things in a safe, cozy, relaxed environment under Valerie's complete supervision. She teaches and guides with compassion, wisdom, patience and humor. While most of her programs are designed for children, interacting with and helping care for her menagerie provides confidence, comfort and joy to children and adults alike. Riding any of her four horses, from miniature to full size depending on the rider's level of comfort and ability, gives every rider a lasting sense of accomplishment. Rattlebox programs encourage awareness, understanding and a sense of responsibility through direct, hands-on connections to animals and nature in a manageable, non-threatening setting, indoors and out. Where else might you see or maybe even ride a very small horse in the house?! Valerie is committed to sharing her extensive knowledge as well as her love, respect and concern for the animal kingdom by creating situations in which participants may have personal contact with each of the animals in her care. This promotes the well being of visitors and animals alike. All of the animals and birds at Rattlebox are gentle and receptive to guests. One of the best and most unique aspects of a visit to the Rattlebox Nature Center is Valerie's cheerful presentation of the wonderful, amusing personality of each of her animals and birds. Rattlebox is a friendly, inspiring, educational, and fun environment, ideal for young children whose eyes and hearts are open to the wonders of the natural world. In circumstances where a visit to Rattlebox is not possible, Valerie will do her best to bring one of her animal programs to you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2012

My daughter and son have both learned so much about caring for animals, respecting nature, and they've learned so much about themselves in the process. This will be the fourth year that my kids will ... more

November 4, 2012

Rattlebox Nature Center is a great educational resource, camp, outreach, and animal fostering resource. Valerie is an extremely caring and patient individual who accommodates kids of all backgrounds and disabilities. My daughter loves Valerie's kind ways and loves attending to the large variety of animals Valerie fosters or owns.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

My daughter and son have both learned so much about caring for animals, respecting nature, and they've learned so much about themselves in the process. This will be the fourth year that my kids will return. Valerie is so easy-going and provides a great environment for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Valerie is family, my cousin, actually, so I hope my endorsement won't be considered gratuitous, because Val and I know each other well enough to both trust our shared honesty. I recently took my 2 year old grandson to see his "Auntie Val" and all her wonderful animals. From holding bunny rabbits, to going for his very first pony ride, I have to say that the experience has marked him for life. The look on his face was worth a fortune. Val does such wonderful work with rescue animals, giving them a renewed chance on life and then introducing these precious animals to young minds and the wonders of nature. These children come away from Rattlebox Nature Center with an appreciation of life beyond their bedrooms, backyards, neighborhoods and schools, that hopefully will help save our planet as they grow and become the leaders of our future. Valerie's work is but a fundamental, but absolutely essential first step in the education of our children so that they will grow with an appreciation of just how precious and fragile our planet is. This simple little organization and others like it hold the keys to a healthier future for all of our children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Rattlebox Nature Center does so much to help both animals in need, and children who could benefit from learning about them. Valerie teaches children responsibility, encourages their creativity and offers them rich learning experiences. Children who have the opportunity to attend camp at Rattlebox Nature Center benefit on so many different levels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 22, 2012

Great place for children to learn the basics of caring and responsible ownership of animals. A wonderful experience for all ages. more

November 3, 2012

What a wonderful gem tucked away in the countryside of Delaware County. My daughter and my friends children have all had the opportunity to go to camp here. The hands on approach to horsemanship, animal handling and care have been a true gift that will last their lifetimes. I can't say enough about the atmosphere, the arts & crafts and the staff who welcomed us into their unique farm like setting. Rattlebox is truly a joyful childhood learning experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

Great place for children to learn the basics of caring and responsible ownership of animals. A wonderful experience for all ages.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Groom,feed ponies and small animals,clean enclosures, help with pony rides or gardening. Volunteer