Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

My 9-year-old daughter has been going to Rattlebox--the camps, weekly sessions, and even a birthday party or two--for a couple of years, and she (and we) absolutely love(s) it. Though many of my daughter's interests have waxed and waned as she has gotten older, her passion for animals has remained constant. I believe her experiences at Rattlebox have helped nurture this. At Rattlebox, she not only gets to see and learn about a variety of animals, she receives hands-on experience that has always matched her evolving level of responsibility and comfort. We especially like that she can enjoy the experience of riding and helping to care for horses without having to join the Main Line "horsey set." Valerie, who runs Rattlebox, is warm and patient with kids, but she is also honest and direct about what it means to take care of animals. As our daughter has worked her way through the inevitable "Can't I have a (bunny, hamster, pony, etc)" list, she has been particularly well informed about what these different potential pets require in terms of food, shelter, care, and play (which has made pulling off the stock parental deflections--"this kind of pet is a big responsibility..."--more challenging!). Happily, our daughter's ongoing experiences at Rattlebox have taken some of the urgency out of her pet requests, and we look forward to many more years of her enjoying animals with Valerie...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

Wonderful little utopian moment tucked away in the suburbs of Philadelphia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

I love Rattlebox Nature Center!! My son got his very first pony ride there and loved it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2012

Both of my children love Rattlebox Nature Center. It is great to have a place in the suburbs where children can connect with nature and animals. They also love doing the crafts! more

April 26, 2013

Such a great place for all kids. It is also excellent for children with issues such as gross or fine motor problems. A nice combination of animals and art!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

Both of my children love Rattlebox Nature Center. It is great to have a place in the suburbs where children can connect with nature and animals. They also love doing the crafts!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

Rattlebox Nature Center bridges that gap between children and nature and animals, giving them the opportunity to touch, feel, explore and understand and to see where they fit into the big picture.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

my daughter has been visiting Camp Rattlebox for several years. First with the girl scouts, then as a camp member and finally a Councelor InTraining. A beautiful experience, run by a beautiful lady!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

My daughter attended Rattlebox during spring break. She loved it! It's the perfect setting for a child who loves animals. You receive very personalized attention. We look forward to summer camp!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 5, 2012

My children love Rattlebox Nature Center (I have two boys, 6 and 9 years old). They have attended camp days, pony lessons, and had birthday parties at this lovely animal-centered farm. We also adopted... more

April 9, 2013

Both of my boys have attended the summer camp and pony lessons. They love learning about the animals, especially since it is all experiential and hands-on. Valerie does a wonderful job of handling my active, eager sons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

My children love Rattlebox Nature Center (I have two boys, 6 and 9 years old). They have attended camp days, pony lessons, and had birthday parties at this lovely animal-centered farm. We also adopted our beloved rescue rabbit from Valerie. My boys enjoy the hands-on interactions with the animals, and always want to go back. Valerie is a patient and fun teacher as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

Both of my sons (ages 8 and 5) have experienced the Pony Power lessons, and loved their time spent with the animals at Rattlebox. My 5-year-old also attended camp here, which was magnificent because it was small, attentive, unique, and fun. He received tons of hands-on experience with a multitude of animals, and learned a lot about how to care for them and behave so that they would respond to him. He made some fantastic and original crafts in which he took great pride. I highly recommend visiting Valerie at Rattlebox Nature Center, either as a one-time visit or through repeated experiences, as each one provides new learning and fun.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

My three kids have all attended camps and/or taken riding lessons at Rattlebox Nature Center over the past 9 years or so. I love the camp, with its opportunities for both horseback riding, and also handling and learning about all the other animals. My oldest daughter has enjoyed many opportunities to work as a CIT at camp, and my youngest daughter has attended camp for many summers. My youngest also rides weekly, which she has been doing for several years. It is such a great place for a hands-on learning experience. Rattlebox Nature Center has been a big part of my kid's lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

My sons, Adam and Daniel, attended Rattlebox Nature Center Summer Camp for a couple of years in a row, and loved the experience. Valerie gave them their first introduction to horses, turtles, and birds in a safe and caring environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Groom,feed ponies and small animals,clean enclosures, help with pony rides or gardening. Volunteer