Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

It was such a pleasure to volunteer for Valerie. She is patient and kind to her campers, and she's great at teaching them the importance of caring for animals. Rattlebox is a fun and welcoming environment for everyone, and it is truly a sanctuary for the animals who live there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

Valerie is the heart and soul of this special place. She knows just what is needed for both the children and the animals.
The Nature Center is an inviting place for children of all ages to come an explore nature. This nature center allows children to interact with various animals and also learn
in the process. All members of the center are warmhearted and give children exactly what they need ongoing. I have known of this center for years and try to bring my own grandchildren there whenever possible.
I support the concept for allowing young people opportunities to try new things and also take some guided risks in discovering the world of nature. II would recommend this nature center to family and friends and I am so pleased that we have a place like this for kids to come to learn responsibility and the love of animals large and small. Bonue is the love shown each and everyone who touches their feet at the Center. Thank you for your dedication and love!
Bonnie B. Steele
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Valerie devotes all her time and energy to Rattlebox and has provided so many children in need of such a resource with life-enriching activities . She cares for all her children and animals with commitment and dedication. The school programs and programs for children with disabilities provide a hands-on learning experience and are a source of inspiration for all participants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Valerie has a great gift for helping both animals and children in need. For the animals, the need is daily care for the resident animals and homes for the rescued.. For some children, the need can be simple: exposure to animals and the natural world. For others with disabilities or disadvantages, it can be even more crucial. Valerie has been working with disadvantaged children for twenty years. The other day, she told me, she ran into one of those children, grown up, happy and healthy. He told her what it had meant to him as a child to come to Rattlebox. What better testimonial can there be?
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

Rattlebox is more than a riding camp. Children learn firsthand the responsibilities of animal care. They are also educated about various species. While on a family canoe trip in VA, we spotted a turtle. The children had been swimming along side of the canoe and we were negotiating with them to keep them inside the boat for our upcoming portage. We warned them that the turtle could possibly be a snapping turtle. My 7 year old son matter-of-factly reported that it was safe to swim as it was a "Painted turtle" due to its markings, and that he guessed all those hours spent at Rattlebox had paid off!
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Nate loves Rattlebox. We've gone there for weekend visits since discovering it about a year ago and this summer he went to camp. He really enjoyed the animals and opportunities for hands-on with the added bonus of making friends with other like-minded kids.

Thanks, Valerie, for
Rattlebox - a great community resource.







Thanks, Valerie, for Rattlebox - a great community resource!
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Rattlebox has been a great experience for my 10 year old daughter. This has been her second year attending camp. The first year she enjoyed meeting and taking care of all the animals. I like that Ms Valerie, the owner, teaches the children responsibility that goes along with having animals by letting them help with all the the chores, even cleaning out the stalls for the horses. They children are taught to respect the animals and treat them with love. This year my daughter asked to go back to camp. Because she is ten she was asked to be a CIT, counselor in training. She was able to enjoy the camp while teaching other children what she has learned from Rattlebox. I highly recommend Camp Rattlebox!
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Rattlebox offers the types of experiences ALL children deserve to have: meeting animals, caring for them and learning their needs, feeling empowered by the experiences of riding ponies and providing animal care, spending time away from technology and immersed in a quiet outdoor space. My children love Rattlebox and beg me to sign them up. Cleaning cages, riding ponies, and petting bunnies, dogs, and guinea pigs never gets old for them. Valerie is a patient mentor who teaches the children all kinds of nature facts that they are eager to share at home. Rattlebox is just superb!
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

I have been volunteering at Valery's for over a year now and I really recommend her animal care 101 class she has every saturday. The kids get to learn the basics of how to take care of animals including how to take care of ponies! Its a lot of fun and a great environment for younger kids.
July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I highly recommend Rattlebox Nature Center. My daughters are attending camp there this summer and it has been an incredible experience for them. They have really enjoyed interacting with different types of animals and have gained a lot of confidence from this experience. Valerie is wonderful and Rattlebox Nature Center is a very unique and special place!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Groom,feed ponies and small animals,clean enclosures, help with pony rides or gardening. Volunteer