Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2013

This is an organization that takes Pride in investing in local communities to inspire and change the way we relate to nature and the environment. A group of big and innovative thinkers that also internally invest in their own people development. Donating to this organization is donating to the present and future of humanity and the planet. I donate generously since the need people in all continents leading this type of change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate more funds so its people can focus on the change they lead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

I have been supporting RARE since before 2004 (my records start then) when I first found out about it because someone I knew worked there. They have gone on to other things many years ago, but I never stopped supporting RARE because of their on-the-ground personal, effective and focussed approach to conservation and environmental impact. Their focus is to educate and inspire the individual communities to value their own unique and precious assets, and over the years they have spread a powerful message that has delivered positive results. I feel my contributions go to supporting the mission, NOT in re-soliciting me, or for fancy ad campaigns.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I am so proud as one of the conservation fellows trained by RARE. This experience is forever cherished and highly valued as I continue to be working in development world. RARE has truly helped us in putting inspiration on the way we protect our resources. It has been noted that our country's resources are in peril, I am hoping the RARE's operations in the Philippines would help these resources to continuously provide food for every Filipino's table. A more meaningful years for RARE in the Philippines! RARE is truly an inspiration!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Rare is a unique, extremely focused and nimble group. Working at the crossroads of conservation, economic development, and poverty reduction in some of the poorest and most biologically rich areas on earth, Rare makes an impact on human and ecological communities well beyond organizations comparable in size. Its commitment to excellence is unsurpassed and its ability to engage local communities in the management and care of the natural resources on which they depend is exceptional.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Of the many groups in the conservation business, Rare is the very best at engaging local communities and effecting real behavior change that benefits nature. Their model of training local spark plugs to help their communities understand and care about their unique natural treasures - through Pride campaigns - is original, effective, and enduring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was given the opportunity to work as an intern with Rare as part of my MBA programme at the Kent Business School. I worked for three months with the organisation in relation to the launch of a new concept. It was a pleasure to work with Paul Butler who was my supervisor throughout my internship period. My internship gave me the opportunity to learn and understand how the organisation works in the area of conservation and sustainability. My internship also helped me appreciate and understand the kind of efforts undertaken by the organisation for promoting conservation education and for launching social marketing campaigns for conservation worldwide.
As part of my internship with Rare I was required to finish a number of tasks within a short time frame, but the support that I received from Paul and the organisation as a whole was truly incredible. I think Rare has extremely talented conservation focused people who are also very friendly and approachable. Whenever I needed any information it was always provided to me on or before time.
I interacted with a lot of Rare alumni and associates during my internship who seemed genuinely connected with the organisation and who are keen on being associated with it even in the future. I must say my internship with Rare has been a great learning experience for me which has also helped me appreciate the conservation related efforts being made by the organisation and its people. I will love to be a part of any activities that the organisation engages in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012


As an advisor to Rare in various capacities over the past decade, we’ve been particularly impressed by their remarkable commitment to continuously learning, measuring and evolving as an organization. They never stand still; they’re always in motion seeking new ideas and new ways to grow their
conservation impact around the world.

And they play a critical role in conservation: Motivating people to change their behavior so that they protect their natural resources in ways that benefit themselves and their communities. Rare figures out what works in one community and brings those solutions to other communities and helps them make them their own. As they continue to refine and expand this model, their impact on conservation will only continue to grow. The staff is focused and passionate and brings a level of business-savvy to their work that any business would envy. Rare is the real deal, helping to create a better future for people and the planet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been working at Rare since January 2008 until now. Ever since, I have never found any other organization that has the value that Rare has and put it into their daily practice. Here at Rare, we call 'problem' as 'challenge'. We do not hide them, but we embrace them. Here at Rare, we appreciate our partners, they are equal with us. We try to be as transparent as possible and try to solve the challenges together. We anticipate risks as much as possible, but when things go wrong we do not hide and blame others, rather we learn from it and find the solution. We call that solutionology. We call it a Rare value. Donation put Rare will be a worthy investment. Here at Rare, each and every one of us believe that every single cent that Rare has is other people's money, their donation, trust, and their good will to make the world a better place to live in. I am proud to be Rare and partnering the way we are partnering with others right now, and even getting better. If you actually meet and talk to a Rare staff or Rare partner, you'll know what I mean :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I'd known Rare back in year 1998 when I attended presentation by Paul Butler at the Ministry of Forestry, Later on, I learn more of the organization as I became one of the conservation fellow of the first university based Rare Pride program at Kent university and very honored to work directly with Paul Butler. I became a Rare Pride Alumni, with a dream to play active role in having abundance of conservation fellows as conservation leader in my country and working with all community for conservation work for Indonesia people. In almost the last 7 years, I have been living this luxury of life, translating my passion into real life, through working with Rare. Pride focus and achieving behavior change for conservation working with local communities and stakeholder. In addition to successes in working with communities at grass root level, the process started with building conservation leaders in the region. Up till now, more than 48 people in Indonesia, Timor Leste, & Malaysia had a life changing experience through Pride to become a well-known conservation leaders in each of their site and within the region, starting as conservation fellow.These new generation of leaders in Indonesia not only come from local NGOs but also from government sectors. Alumni from government sector were becoming significant contributors to decision making in conservation, innovators in the region, as well as continue to putting their hand and feet on the ground to make conservation happens. I have goosebumps every time I learned a conservation fellows is successful in their conservation career or making important decision and action in conservation. In short, Rare is the best place to: built vision of behavior change for conservation, to be innovative-have courage-taking risk-treat challenges positively -be on the ground to make the changes happened, and to witness the conservation vision being expanded and continue to bloom by people that had been reached throughout the program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Rare is a very unique organization. It is very entrepreneurial and the staff are committed to finding conservation bright spots around the world that can be replicated and enhanced through social marketing and implementing a Rare Pride Campaign. Rare works closely with local partners, providing training and ultimately a masters degree to a strong local leader who will work in the community and run the Pride campaign. Rare's campaigns have been quite successful in addressing a variety of conservation challenges in many differnent regions of the world as the pride campaign facillitates both increased awarenes and human behavior change. I have visited a number of Rare campaigns in places like Ecuador, Mexico, and the Bahamas. It is truly inspirational to see the impact that Rare has on both the people and nature.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers