Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.769235
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Rare Disease United Foundation is an effective and efficient patient advocacy organization. Their passion for making a difference is evident through their proactive outreach to patients and families as well as their powerful advocacy at the state level. They have built credibility at the state level, as well as the national level, with key stakeholders, policy makers, and third party partners. The patients and the volunteers are the hearts and hands that bring the mission of this organization to life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

secure more funding so that it could replicate efforts across the country. They have the skills and knowledge to do so. Their advocacy work in the rare disease space is outstanding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Being a parent of a child with a rare disorder is extremely challenging! It is just one of the many roles so many of us have been dealing with all alone. We are fortunate to have an online family support network for our child's condition but this can get pretty lonely as families are so far away. Each country and each state has their own guidelines, rules and services to navigate.
When I first read the Providence Journal article about Patty Weltin and her goal to unite all of those touched by rare diseases, I felt tears of relief. Finally, it wasn't all about one disease or set of issues but rather uniting as a group that is dealing with so many of the same feelings, concerns and frustrations. The monthly support group meetings are a hidden gem. The advocacy is heart-warming. The high level of understanding and assistance provided for obtaining medications being used off-label has been a blessing. The many unique needs are a constant source of stress but having such a great advocate on my side, willing to help in any way possible, makes life just that much easier.
Being a part of this foundation has brought hope to our family. Hope for more understanding, support and compassion within the medical community, our political leaders, our friends and our families. Please, Care for Rare!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I am proud to be the first rare disease survivor that serves as President/Chair of the Rare Disease United Foundation's Board of Directors. I originally came to this organization through its "Care for Rare" survivorship support group meet ups. My goal was to meet people that are going through similar struggles as I face and seek peer-to-peer support. For me, I was not necessarily looking for others with my specific rare disease, rather people in my age group sharing similar issues of disability. Along the way, I learned more about parents with children of rare disease and other adults in my area with rare diseases that I still am grasping to understand and learn to pronounce. As I became more involved, I developed a passion for helping this organization grow. I believe that the strategic direction of RDUF to outreach directly to survivors and their family caregivers, advocate for systems change to promote better access to quality health care and social services for survivors, and generate a recognizable brand behind rare diseases that has been missing in the current landscape of nonprofit organizations supporting the rare disease community. It is my hope that RDUF will ascend as the lead organization on rare disease patient advocacy and public policy reform as this is the fast-track direction in which RDUF is heading. If you are a rare disease survivor or caregiver, this is the organization to seek support and information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I am an advocate for a rare disease called FIRES. It is form of epilepsy that takes a previously healthy kid and puts them into status without warning. Rare Disease United Foundation helped us spread the word by putting us in a monthly letter they put out. They also gave the parents of these kids a place to find more information on FIRES and direct them to our page, so parents with the same problems can talk to someone who understands. Love, love, love Patty!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

The Rare Disease United Foundation is a dynamic entity due to its passionate, determined leadership. This organization has made a positive impact on the lives of thousands of rare disease patients and their families.

I am excited to see what the future holds as the Rare Disease United
Foundation continues to capture the attention of the legislators, physicians and researchers. It sure is looking bright!

Lori Butler
Co-Founder, Music-Maker
Two Hearts Rockā„¢

Lori@2heartsrock.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

When my daughter got sick sudden in 2010 we did not know what was wrong with her and whether she would live or die. Since then I have worked hard to help other parents in the same situation. When I met Patty I knew I found another parent that wanted to change the world just like me. We both say all the time that while our diseases are different our struggles are the same. In being a part of the Rare Disease United Foundation I have met other parents going through the same thing as I am and I realize we are not alone. Recently my daughter was not approved, by the insurance company, for a medication she needs. Patty said the foundation would get involved to help us get approval and I was so grateful for that. It means I don't have to fight alone any more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

As a Mom of an almost 14 year old daughter with a rare genetics disease/disorder (whichever you would like to call it). I have not been able to meet up with other parents as of yet due to scheduling issues. I do hope someday to meet other parents. I have connected through Facebook with parents who have the same genetic disorder as my daughter. It's amazing to hear things they are going through. Most of the parents are overseas unfortunately. My daughter has what's called 2q37 deletion. Please feel free to look up what it's about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, I just hope to meet up with other parents in the group

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

My daughter, my grandson and my two nephews have rare diseases. Patty Weltin and the Rare Disease United Foundation, (RDUF) helped me by listening. She took it upon herself to find resources that educated me and helped me to help my loved ones. Patty, the founder and executive director of RDUF, also connected me with people that had the same rare diseases, giving me an instant family that understood what my life was like and helped me with the helplessness I had been living with. The Rare Disease United Foundation is ESSENTIAL to the rare disease community. We need the RDUF to console us, to stand up for us, to fight at the state level for us! I'm not sure where I would be right now without their help. You need not live in isolation any more because the Rare Disease United Foundation and Patty Weltin are there for us. My deepest gratitude. Always!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There is nothing easy about having a child with a rare disease. It took years of trying and failing to find someone to help us with our son. Many frustrating days of feeling totally alone and not knowing where to turn to get the help you need. Then one day while shearing the internet i find the RI Rare Disease Foundation. Miss Weltin feels our pain and helps us find the right doctor. I am amazing that after few emails exchange that it leads us to the proper doctor to help my son. words cannot do justice to how i feel about the efforts and understanding we receive from Patty , I only thank god i found her for my son sake. I am so glad there are organizations like RI Rare Disease foundation out there to help people like my family. Thanks a million Patty

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

This is an organization with a big heart that provides one-on-one help to families struggling with very difficult issues. RIRDF organized a very successful Rare Disease Day event last year that helped promote awareness of this important global observance on the last day of February. My colleagues and I enjoy working with RIRDF and feel very comfortable about referring patients and families to this excellent organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers