Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 5, 2014

more

July 5, 2014

2011 they lied about what they were doing they said they were not banding the eaglets, they get mad and ban you from their site if you ask questions, 2014 Why is someone allowed to put a transmitter on an eaglet the day after it has fallen from its nest? it can't or won't fly, and has been chased down and captured two separate times after the harness was attached. why are they allowed to harass this bird? If eagles are protected why is this allowed.. I know there are studies but shouldn't the well fare of the subject be protected? The eaglet has 2 siblings that fell from the tree as well one is at a rehab center recovering from surgery and the other is on the ground, and now has a harness transmitter as well. Aren't there guidelines to follow or rules when transmitting a protected bird?... this bird was stressed before it was captured. When is enough, enough? now it is said they are doing it to see were the siblings go. but do not back this up.. is there a study I am not aware of? because rrp has their lips sealed... and they are calling it educational but delete questions or ban you instead of answering your questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be open and honest

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

While this organization has done some good work, most notably with peregrine falcons, it has now turned into more of a "show-biz" operation.
I was involved in the Decorah Eagles Webcam in 2011, and was very disappointed to find out that the organization is using the cam as strictly a
fund-raising vehicle, and while claiming to be educational, contributes nothing to the spread of knowledge about eagles.
As nearly as I can tell, most of the money taken in is being spent on upgrading web cams, and not on anything beneficial to raptors, or even to the dissemination of knowledge about them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit persons with actual knowledge about eagles, rather than publicity agents and such.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following Raptor Resource Center for 3 years now and have been involved in the fund raiser that we had after one of the Decorah Eagles was electrocuted last year. Bob Anderson ( The founder) and others in the organization have been SO open and helpful as we looked for ways to help ensure that future generations of Raptors in the Decorah area were safe. Bob worked with the local High School in designing Avian Safe Perches and worked with the local power company in deciding which poles were the most important to have them installed. Bob always makes himself available for groups of folks who are coming to Decorah...he met with a group of us in July for dinner and he is a most humble and intelligent man!!! You can tell how he loves his Raptors, just from the look on his face when he talks about them!!! I can tell you that the work he is doing is very important...for the safety and reproduction success of all of our raptors. God Bless you Bob Anderson and Raptor Resource Project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything that I would do to change this organization except to help them find more and more volunteers to help them with their work!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Subject: decorah eagles


Eagles represent FREEDOM and I am dismayed that the Raptor Resource Project in Decorah, Iowa, is putting such a cumbersome contraption on the eaglets just so they can track them. What gives them the right to impose their will on these birds??? Furthermore,
I think it is criminal for them not to have a more advanced, smaller, less intrusive way to track them, if it's so important. Given the contraption that is on them, they cannot bury their heads in their feathers with that big, bulky backpack on their backs.
I have read their propaganda and their excuses for doing this to the raptors and I see NO good reason or outcome to 'track' them.




There are many of us, who disagree with placing such a cumbersome tracking device on the eagle babies, and I would like to know what gives your organization the right to interfere with the free will and lives of any raptor?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers