Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I like volunteering at Rakhma Home. The Nurses and Staff are all friendly and helpful. I enjoy hanging out and entertaining all the ladies at the Peace Home...I have been around Alzheimer's most of my life...my Great Grandmother and my Grandmother both had Alzheimer's and now my Grandfather has been diagnosed with Dementia. I believe this is one of the worst diseases that Elderly get. It is very scary for those that are losing their memory and very hard on the rest of the family. The most we can do for the patients is to make them feel loved and at home everyday!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to see more volunteers!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

They took all the stress out of finding a loving comfortable home for our mother who was blind and had Alzheimer's . They immediately took a real interest in her needs and preference . The care and love they show for each residence is outstanding . She has been with them for 7 years and we never have to worry about the care and attention she is recieving! What a load off for family. I know Rakhma must make God Smile!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been involved with Rakhma for just over a year. Everyone I have met, from Board to employee to volunteer is completely resident focused. Each house has a warm, inviting, caring atmosphere. I am proud to be a part of such a wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to expand to serve more people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

The classic homey atmosphere of Rakhma sets it apart from any other care home in the city of Minneapolis. Since my volunteer day start in March, I've enjoyed the staff and residents. Looking for many more years to come spending time at Rakhma.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I am so glad I was able to find Rakhma. My mother has Alzheimers as well as being blind. Her living at Rakhma is a perfect fit. Wonderfully caring staff and volunteers are here. She is safe. All her wishes and needs are met. The entire Rakhma team is outstanding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This past June I had the chance to volunteer at one of the Rakhma Houses when I was on a mission trip. It was a lot of fun. The workers gave us clues on what to do if we needed help and all of the residents were so happy. They would cheer us up and always bring a smile to our faces. It was the best time I had in a long time. The week with them was amazing. I would love to go back and volunteer there again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My mother has alzheimers and we were so worried she would live when her needs went beyond our ability to care for her. She is as spunky now as she was before the alzheimers, which made her a great escape artist and someone in need of constant social interaction. She had to leave one facility for these reasons and our family spent a lot of time searching for a place that she would be safe and not feel like she was institutionalized. We were so fortunate that a caring social worker heard of a space being open in one of the Rakhma homes and our mother now gets to life in a family-like situation - in a house, with people who care about her, and she gets to go out in the yard in the summer and garden. Rakhma house organizes field trips, which she enjoys wholeheartedly no matter if its at a museum or boating. Her life is still meaningful and she gets the interactions she craves. Rakhma house is as supportive and caring for the families as well as the people who live there. They helped us adjust to this new situation and keep us informed and engaged in the care of our mother. I can't say enough about them. I am so grateful that they have brought a culture of loving support to people who need so much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want this type of memory-care culture and facility to be the norm all over our country. When I tell friends who are in the same situation with their parents they always want to know where the Rakhma houses are, and they also wish that the Rakhma homes were in their town.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

A year and half ago, my Mother "caretaker" fell and broke her pelvis and had to go to a rehab facility for 2 months or so. Meanwhile my Father was forcibly removed from his home and went to the hospital to be "observed" while the social worker tried to find a place close to our home. There was nothing available except a large locked unit which was horrible in everyway mentionable. My Father started to have behavioral issues and was sent to Bethesda for observation. What a gift! The social worker at Bethesda found the most wonderful, loving, caring group home for my Father. His behavioral issues got much better and he's so much happier with this wonderful Rakhma Joy House. The staff are unbelievably patient, kind and truly, I MEAN TRULY, care for their clients. It's just like a family. Actually the staff are like my family!!! Recently and very suddenly my oldest brother passed away and the staff, you know who you are, were their for us in every way possible. I just love them all!!!!! Thank God for Rakhma, the home of unconditional love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to expand! They are awesome!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Our entire family is so blessed that Rakhma homes exist. True to the vision they started with over 3 decades ago, Rakhma homes offer a safe, nurturing environment for people suffering from memory loss. Not only do they treat their residents with dignity and compassion, but care givers also extend themselves to family members by getting to know each person who walks in the door. There is a real sense of fellowship within each house and a plethora of meaningul, engaging activities for the residents which can be attended by friends and family members. Communication via social media, email, and phone calls is ongoing with the utmost respect for each situation. More of these residential homes should exist in every community across the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see that several of these homes were everywhere in the country

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I work for a non-profit that trains nursing assistants and then helps them find good places to work after their training is completed. We have had a continuing relationship with Rakhma for the past 3-4 years as we have placed some excellent caregivers with them. In all of my interactions with Susan Eckstrom, the Executive Director, Bethany and other staff members, I have been very impressed with the integrity and the true heart motivation that I have seen to give the most compassionate, respectful and individualized care to their residents as possible. They are not a huge organization but do a wonderful job in providing nurturing care and a supportive environment for both their residents with dementia and for their families. If it were necessary for any of my loved ones to need memory care, I would certainly entrust Susan and her staff with their care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers