Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with Rakhma Homes for 20 plus years. Staff are caring and for the most part consistent. There's not a huge staff turnover. The smaller size of the houses allows for much better specialized and immediate care than a large facility. The residents seem happy, clean and well fed. They do many special events, activities and outings. There is nearly always something going on, and someone visiting. Family members are included in activities, and often keep coming back for special events even after loved ones have passed on. It truly is a "family" welcoming program both for residents and their family and friends. Rakhma homes are an excellent alternative to traditional Nursing Homes and care facilities.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My grandmother lives in the Rakhma Joy Home in St. Paul. My family and I are so grateful she is able to live in such a caring and love-filled home. The staff are welcoming to family and friends when we visit and they show genuine respect and care for the individuals living there. Rakhma is a beautiful place to live, each resident has their own comfortable and cozy bedroom. The yard is large and well-kept with gardens, seating areas and a nice front patio where we like to share snacks and have coffee with my grandma. My grandma enjoys walking around the yard looking at the flowers, as she was a gardener her whole life. Rakhma provides numerous events and gatherings for family and friends to come spend time with their loved one. During the warm months this year Rakhma hosted several barbecues that were always fun and filled with laughter and good home cooked food. The residents are frequently taking day trips to museums, going on river boat rides and having guest musicians and other visitors.

Before my grandma lived at Rakhma she was living in a medical nursing home with much more of a bleak hospital-feel. The staff did not understand how to work with those with Alzheimer's and it was hard to know she was staying in a place that was inadequate. On the other end of the spectrum, Rakhma is an incredibly special place for those with Alzheimer's and their family. I feel relieved to know that my grandma is surrounded by people who love her. It's clear when you enter the home that the staff build genuine relationships with the residents and nothing could be better than knowing my grandma is safe and cared for immensely where she lives. The staff at Rakhma have a thorough understanding of Alzheimer's and dementia and how to work with those who have the disease. The staff makes a true effort to know my grandma and what her life was all about. Rakhma is a wonderful caregiving home and I feel lucky that my grandma is able to live there.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

My mother moved into Rakhma Peace house when her Alzheimer's symptoms made it unsafe for her to live alone. The staff went out of its way to give us an accurate understanding of what her day to day would be like, how her special needs would be met, and how we could best prepare for this transition as a family. Inevitably in the three years she was a resident there were challenges when staffing would change and when her health declined. In all cases I found our questions and concerns to be readily addressed, and the staff went well out of their way to make my mom comfortable, happy, and busy. We especially appreciated the special outings and in-house events that kept the residents' days from becoming too routine. We were always welcome in the house, which added to our own peace of mind. My mother spent her last years as happy as her illness allowed. I strongly recommend Rakhma to those who are looking for care for their family members with memory disorders.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

My Mother was a resident at the Rakhma Peace Home for 3 1/2 years. After several attempts to find a place for Mom, we truly found her HOME at Rakhma. Rakhma is fully dedicated to caring for those with dementia with great love, compassion, and dignity. Everyone from the Executive Director to each staff member, to each caregiver, to the wonderful volunteers, has a heart to serve. Mom was loved and cared for with great compassion and understanding. It was such a comfort to me to know that while I couldn't always be with my Mom, she was in the best of hands at Rakhma. The small, residential housing was perfect for my Mom. She loved being a part of the family...meals around the table, singing and listening to music in the living room, craft projects, and wonderful outings (especially the trips to the Art Institute). The care my family and I received after my Moms death was also exceptional. Even 14 months after Mom'ss passing, I still consider myself a part of the Rakhma Family? I would highly recommend Rakhma Homes to anyone seeking care for a loved one with dementia!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

This organization was a God send for my mom, we were ready to use a conventional care facility and then found Rakhma. This is the best situation we could have hoped for, excellent staff and the "at home" living made this transition smooth for all involved. They really do what they say they will, just the best situation for those with memory issues!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

My grandmother lives at this residence due to her advanced case of dementia and the people here are always very kind, helpful and welcoming. They put on many events for the residents and the families which are always fun, and on top of that, they take the residents on outings very often. It feels good knowing that my grandmother has such great care like this and that I am always welcome there to give her a visit!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I volunteered at Rakhma for a mission trip a past summer. And it was amazing. The ability of the workers to care and take in people so compassionately is amazing.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

Rakhma provides compassionate care to patients and their extended families. Each patient is treated with dignity and love, true to their mission. We would not want our loved one anywhere else.
October 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2014

They took all the stress out of finding a loving comfortable home for our mother who was blind and had Alzheimer's . They immediately took a real interest in her needs and preference . The care and l... more

October 12, 2014

The best loving care an adult in need could receive! Would not want my mother in law any where else and believe me we have tried other homes. None come close to the personal care she has at Rakhma !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more homes to reach more in need.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

They took all the stress out of finding a loving comfortable home for our mother who was blind and had Alzheimer's . They immediately took a real interest in her needs and preference . The care and love they show for each residence is outstanding . She has been with them for 7 years and we never have to worry about the care and attention she is recieving! What a load off for family. I know Rakhma must make God Smile!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

This a warm and welcoming home. We enjoy our visits with the residents. The staff here is a great group of kind and compassionate people.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers