Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Helping parents through Raising Special Kids for approximately 12 years has been very rewarding. Each time I meet a new parent I can identify with what they are going through and I try to give them information from my own experiences and developmental disability certification training. However, Raising Special Kids is the catalyst in supporting, educating, and just being there for parents with children of special needs.
Keep up the good work RSK and congratulations to an agency that follows through with their mission statement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more than one office location and probably acknowledge the volunteers more often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Raising Special Kids has been a Godsend for our family. Their knowledge and expertise is beyond any organization I have ever experienced. To a person our family has been impressed with everyone we have worked with at RSK. It is not often that is the case. Without hesitation I refer families to them and just wait to hear of the good experience they will have. Vickie French has impressed me with each and every conversation I have had with her. She is amazing. Thank you for being a GREAT non-profit!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Raising Special Kids helped me find my footing during the slippery slope of initial diagnosis. They gave me resources, offered a listening ear, and provided much needed expertise! I always turn to them when I'm stuck on how to better advocate for my son. They give me confidence, courage, and the kind of support a special needs parent truly needs. Thank you Raising Special Kids! You are a true blessing to me and my family!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My (foster) son, soon to be adopted son, was being abused at a local school. Through the help of Raising Special Kids, I was able to get the correct complaints filed that led to the Dept. of Education reaching a settlement for all special needs kids in the district. Although this also led to the lose of my job, they were invaluable in learning how to look out for these very special kids. They recently helped me with his IEP meeting. After following their steps, verifying teacher qualifications and gently reminding the new school that I was not afraid to speak out, I was able to get his IEP changed such that he is now getting the services he needs to overcome his issues. I could not have done this without the patient support of Raising Special Kids.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I refer families to Raising Special kids in Phoenix no less than weekly in my role with The Division of Developmental Disabilties. They have exellent information for families and individuals looking for information and support. They provide not only exellent education but compassion and support for families who are looking for resouces to support their family members.
I know that the people I refer will be treated with respect and compassion. I would rate them higher if I could. Respectfully,
Brenda E. Sondersted

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them have more funds to do what they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Raising Special Kids is Awesome! They often have educational classes for family members, special activities for all their partcipants and most important their peer-mentor program best fits the needs of the famlies they serve.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

It has been my privilege to see the work that Raising Special Kids has done by helping families walk through this journey with a special needs child. Families often come to this time completely in shock and fear and unaware of any resources that are available. The incredible people at RSK are not just there to tell them what to do, but guide them and nurture them through this valley. Wonderful people performing a wonderful service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2010

more

October 27, 2010

I'm a former board member and also a parent who has relied on RSK for valuable insight and support in the many years since my son's diagnosis with autism. The staff is responsive and professional and has provided me with invaluable guidance on issues relating to my son's treatment and education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Both in my own life and hearing testimonials from other families who have been helped through difficult times by RSK.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the good work!

October 14, 2010

more

October 14, 2010

Raising Special Kids puts a personal face on families that have children with disabilities. I often host medical residents in my home and share the story of how we received Josie's diagnosis. It allows me the opportunity to educate new doctors on Cerebral Palsy and the effect that diagnosis has on us as a family. On a very personal level I hope that new docotrs undertand that their choice of words echo foreaver in our mind. That information empowers us as parents and that Raising Special Kids as an organization is family friendly and provides accurate, up to date information on disabilities and a network that guides us through the maze of this new challenge.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Raising Special Kids has assisted me in obtaining accurate and up to date information on Cerebral Palsy. I have also sought them out in matters concerning my daughters IEP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the Resident Hosting Program to include dentists and teachers. I would like to see the newsletter Connecting by Raising Special Kids available in doctors offices and hospital waiting rooms.

October 14, 2010

more

October 14, 2010

It is an absolute pleasure to host resident doctors in my home, share our story about our disabled daughter, and further educate them on the necessity of organizations such as Raising Special Kids. It is a relief to these residents to know that there is a capable organization with an abundance of resources to where they can refer their patients and families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

feedback from doctors

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

train/educate more OB's and specialty doctors and professionals

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

mentor another parent of a child with special needs.