Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

As a mediator working in Chicago's Divorce Court for twenty years, I say, "Thank God there is a Rainbows"! Daily I interview children who are in the midst of their parents' divorce and high conflict. Children hurting from loss, anger, and feeling helpless. Often parents in their own pain are unaware of their children's needs. As a mediator I can not "save" these children but because there is Rainbows I can refer them to a place of ongoing support and hope. In Rainbows the children find a place to grieve and move on with their lives. Without Rainbows thousands of children would be "lost". Thank God for Rainbows! Kathleen Borland

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Rainbows For All Children is one of the best charities to help children and teens who are grieving. They've helped so many children worldwide through their difficult life stages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have had a connection to Rainbows in so many ways throughout my life. As a first grader, I attended Rainbows programs that were held at my Catholic elementary school. I think one of the many great benefits that children experience, and that I remember, is a feeling of connection to other classmates as well as the development of relationships with adults whom you can trust and feel supported by during a time of great change occuring in the home. I also remember that the opportunity to talk about divorce and change in the groups made it easier to have those conversations with my parents, and I think it helped them to understand what I was experiencing. As an adult I became a professional therapist that works with children experiencing trauma and loss, it is evident to me that when there is a significant crisis or change, children need their community to respond and support them so that they and their families can adjust. Rainbows is a low cost program that schools can implement relatively easily to provide children with the critical help they need so that they can have a positive outcome to the changes and losses that they may experience. As an adult, a professional in the field, and an alum I am proud to support Rainbows and would suggest anyone who has experienced a loss in their family to utilize this resource.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I originally heard about Rainbows through the Church in which my children were going to preschool. Going through a divorce when the kids were so young - I did not know anyone that was in my position. I was also relatively new to this state and had no support of family or friends. I figured I would try it once and see how it went. Our Rainbows group was for parents and children; each week we split into our parent and children groups and had an of support and fun, tears and laughter. What a great feeling that there was this organization available to us ! 12 years later, I am grateful for meeting one of my best friends through Rainbows and am so grateful for Rainbows being around for us, when nothing else was. Thank you Rainbows for helping my kids and myself through such a dark time. Rainbows do come after storms!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

As a child dealing with parents going through a divorce, Rainbows was the most sensational program I could have been introduced to. At the time, I did not realize that was taking part in a program that was so widespread around globe. I participated in my school (public grammar school) with the school counselor. While in Rainbows I not only dealt with issues I was having at home because of the divorce, but was also a victim of adolescent bullying. My counselor that ran Rainbows also helped guide me through those struggles as well. I feel that even if it is unclear whether or not a child is having difficulty grieving that it is extremely helpful to be around those that are also dealing with similar circumstances. Rainbows is THE program to guide children and families through difficult times. I would absolutely 100% recommend it to anyone that feels it may help, because it will. Being a non-profit they can certainly use any amount of funding to continue to grow the program. People need it all over the world as they continue bloom into other countries each year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

My husband, Len, and I have been involved with Rainbows for nearly 15 years -- Len has served on the golf committee and Board of Trustees and I have been involved with the Women's Board and several committees. We support Rainbows because it provides such needed service and support to grieving children. The results are simply extraordinary. We do not have children of our own, and being involved with Rainbows is our way ot giving back to kids.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

As a parent of four children who attended Rainbows during their school day while dealing with a divorce, I spoke with each child and asked them how Rainbows helped them. Two of my children said it helped explain what divorce is and helped them bond with others who shared similar situations. My son said it made him understand better. One of my daughters went to Rainbows and discovered that another child, one she was in conflict with regularly, also was dealing with divorce. She learned about empathy and understanding in a way I couldn't teach myself. I think it is a truly valuable program, offering valuable insight and a place to feel safe to children when they most need it. Parents know they need to provide it for the children, but are having a difficult time providing it themselves due to their own trauma experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

As a Board Member and volunteer for over five years, I have had the privilege of learning about the Rainbows programs and the life changing effect is has had on millions of children. The more I talk about Rainbows the more I learn of its miraculous healing power in the lives of people I meet. Children need the support and guidance to understand the grieving and be able to heal through their time spent in Rainbows. The organization is truly committed to making a difference in the lives of all children suffering a loss from death, divorce, deployment or other traumatic life events. What amazes me about Rainbows is how effective they are in using the dollars they receive as donations to benefit great numbers of grieving children and the passion with which they take on that mission!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Through its programs Rainbows provides one of the most necessary and most effective services to children who experience a major life loss, such as the divorce, death, or deployment of a parent, or a natural disaster. The trauma of such events can cause lasting damage to a child for a lifetime. Indeed, it can be generational in scope as children who suffered trauma in their family become spouses and parents as adults. Rainbows takes on this essential challenge through programs with proven effect and volunteers with strong commitment. Rainbows is a blessing and a wonder that many of us wish we could have experienced as children. Now it is our duty to save children from sadness, and the trouble at home and school that it brings, by making Rainbows available to more children of this generation and the next.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

I have been involved with Rainbows for the last dozen years. RAINBOWS is unique in the way that we are able to serve so many children with so few resources. We are able to leverage the support of so many volunteers by providing them professional training and resources they need to make an impact in their local community. The children are able to play and not even realize that they are healing during that whole process while learning new relationship skills. I continue to be impressed with the resourcefulness of the organization and the quality of the materials. Our recent expansion into Japan to serve the needs of those children touched tandem tsunami and with military families for deployed parents is tremendous.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers