Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Throughout the years I have volunteered for various organizations but have always wanted to help an organization that strived to make a greater impact on individuals lives. Rainbow Kitchen Community Services fits that mold as they excel at everything they do and go beyond providing a nutritious source of food for low-income individuals or families. They enhance the well-being through various youth programs, clothing drives and community activities. I feel honored to serve as a Board Member and to participate in events to promote what a great organization Rainbow Kitchen Community Services is for the local community. Please go to http://www.rainbowkitchen.org for more information or to find out how you can help make a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been associated with the Rainbow Kitchen for over 25 years. I have been a board member, donor and volunteer. RKCS does an outstanding job providing food and social services to the community it serves. The executive director and staff are excellent people to work with. They are professional and dedicated to their clientele. I continue to support the Rainbow Kitchen because I see firsthand how much they care about the people they serve. If anyone is looking for an excellent non-profit to support, I highly recommend they visit their website.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, they do a fantastic job given their resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have always wanted to assist those in need and have found Rainbow Kitchen to be exemplary in its mission of improving the quality of life for low-income families and individuals through programs that address hunger and child nutrition. I have been a board member for 3 years and have found the experiences gained at RKCS rewarding both personally and professionally. Based on my experiences I intend to find other ways to serve RKCS and its mission in the years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a transplant to this region, I felt a strong desire to find somehow make a positive impact in one of this region's struggling communities. That desire lead me to Rainbow Kitchen Community Services, located in Homestead, PA. The name Rainbow Kitchen Community Services does not even begin to describe the love, dedication and support that this organization provides to the community. Through its provision of breakfast and lunch meals, community programming and coat distributions (just to name a few), this organization truly provides a rainbow of hope to the residents of Homestead and a few senior homes.

This past weekend my wife and a few colleagues from work had the privilege and opportunity to serve soup and sandwiches to hundreds of local residents in conjunction with Rainbow Kitchen's annual winter coat distribution. It was a very moving experience, to say the least.

I invite everyone looking for a volunteer opportunity, or an organization to contribute to, to consider Rainbow Kitchen. (www.rainbowkitchen.org).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything about the organization. My hope is that society changes and improves to such a degree that people would no longer need such services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I have volunteered at Rainbow Kitchen for last couple of years and I am also a board member for the last 3 years. It is an organization that is committed to fighting against hunger and has gone above and beyond serving the cause. It not only works on supporting hungry families, but also has programs such as kids café program. Rainbow Kitchen (RKCS) has establish community programs like the daily breakfast program and the case management program that impacts the Homestead neighborhood and Pittsburgh region. I have worked with excellent staff of Rainbow kitchen and volunteers who serve with equal passion to eliminate the hunger. I am sure non profit organization like Rainbow Kitchen (RKCS) who zealously work we can eliminate hunger in this world. Keep up the good work RKCS !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to assist the organization do deliver the good work beyond Pittsburgh region

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I have volunteered at Rainbow Kitchen for over 27 years. My first mission was to provide free Mother's Day Brunch for the female clients at my Resturant . My staff provided a delicious meal,great service,white tablecloths and flowers. My family provided live music and performances for their entertainment. This became a 15 year tradition. I then personally decided to help the RKCS staff provide the same atmosphere of hospitality during Thanksgiving. Working with young school children to provide a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. The students and their families worked hard to cook,serve,and clean up for the less fortunate people that coul not afford a nice dinner for their families. I have participated in many fund raising activities and eventually was asked to become a Board Member. I have seen many transitions and changes over the years. However the main mission has remained solid and unchanged,to improve the quality of life for low-income individuals and families through programs that address hunger,child nutrition and supportive services. I am proud to recommend RKCS as a great nonprofit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would improve the visibility so that more people would be aware of the wonderful staff,pantry and social services that are provided at RKCS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I joined the Rainbow Kitchen Community Services (RKCS) as a board member last year. My experience with the organization has been extremely fulfilling with the commitment to fight against hunger. Recognized as strong and reliable source of aid to individuals in need, RKCS continues to hold true to the commitment of providing support to hungry children, low-income elderly, ill and disabled individuals, and struggling families. Their established community programs such as the kids café program, daily breakfast program and various pantry programs are just some of the ways RKCS have helped those in extreme need of resources. The RCKS has done an excellent job with their commitment to the fight against hunger.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I was on the Board for a least eight year with one brea in the middle I saw Rainbow Kitchen grow in the way the staff supported the programs and its ultimate cohesion I observed the breadth of its programing and how Executive Director learned constantly to work with the staff an Board members to explain and show us how to to be responsible .With the help of one other Board member the director learned how to write grants and organize major fund-raising events

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would always create an opportunity for the Board members to understand and be helpful if necessary to formulate the Budget which is what the director had been doing more of in the last few years that I was on the Board

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Rainbow Kitchen Community Services is a "steady rock" in the Homestead area for over 30 years. They serve their communiy by being an accessible resource for so many wonderful programs. As a board member I have come to know familiar faces in the clients they serve and have made so many friends along the way. I am grateful for the opportunity to volunteer my time to help them keep the necessary programs available to their clients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Rainbow Kitchen Community Services (RBKCS) is exemplary in both strategy and execution. With a mission and vision to address hunger by tackling the root causes within a community and leveraging all facets of social entrepreneurship to raise funds for its philanthropic cause, the organization has done a remarkable job with limited funds in a challenging economic envirnoment . With a passionate board and a dedicated dynamic executive director the organization has stretched every dollar it receives to ensure it can maximize the funds to propel its vision and mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish I could contribute more time and money...

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers