Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.851855
Write A Review
June 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I enjoyed volunteering but I went to sign up someone for the Oasis center and the child refused to sign the discriminatory policy. I first found this insulting, but later read it and understood the child. Oasis does not allow straight people, a discriminatory act. However, they are funded by the government, so it is illegal to discriminate, even against straight people. Kind of a backwards way of thinkg, isnt it? Because the gay population was discriminated against, they are now discriminating against straight and using public taxes. Not quite fair, is it?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take out the policy saying straight people cannot go to Oasis. It is discriminatory and rude. Dont you want everyone to learn about the gay population and teach fairness and love? Discrimating is not love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 1, 2012

When I first came into contact with the Rainbow Center it was a small one room space in a United Way building. Today and several years later its is a free standing operation that is supported by its c... more

April 6, 2013

I am not just a current Board Member, I am also a Donor. After the surprise from the Advocate stating Tacoma Washington was the nations #1 Gayest city many were shocked. However this only confirms what many already know. Tacoma is a GREAT place to be right now. Tacoma is lucky enough to have a long continuous running Gay Community Center and this year it is full speed ahead as they along with OASIS Youth Center take the next step in Growth, Longevity and Community Building and move into a new shared space. Although I live in South Hill, SE of Tacoma it is the nearest place to gay life in regards to venues and events. The Rainbow Center has been in the mix for along time now doing many great things to help those who need assistance or those looking to have fun or meeting other people. It has provided myself and family the opportunity to do our small part in community outreach and support for those in need. As time goes on maybe one day there will be a 'center' in my part of the woods, until then I know I always have the Tacoma Rainbow Center and am proud to serve the community by being on its Board and as a ACTIVE Donor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2012

When I first came into contact with the Rainbow Center it was a small one room space in a United Way building. Today and several years later its is a free standing operation that is supported by its community and provides many much needed services in today's economic depression as well as many social opportunities. Serving as a Board Member today inspires me when I hear stories of how the center and we as a community work together to make peoples lives better and easier and even possible saving a life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2009

It is astonishing and GREAT to see such a city as Tacoma can attain and support one of the best Gay Community Centers in the Pugest Sound area! I am proud to be a citizen of Pierce County and know that there is a place to go to meet new people, have fun, find support and all while being Out And Proud! Bigger cities may call us (Tacoma)names and throw stones, but at least we have a Gay Community Center!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many efforts over the years since moving to Puyallup, Pierce County Washington in 1992. It is a great achievement of our community to have attained and continue to sustain such a vibrent Community Center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As my resources allowed get the word out to as much of Tacoma and Pierce County as possible, to let people know it is here for them.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Meeting new people and working on various projects while a Board Member helping it on its path of growth.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The current ED (Aimee)and Manager (Andre)are great people, pull of energy and ideas and really passionate about what they do for our community.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Buy its own space and not have to worry about rent and the whims of landlords. Probably be able to offer more needed services to the community or colaborate even further with other community groups/organizations to make life better.

Ways to make it better...

More of the community in other parts of Pierce County coming together to support the center and making it bigger, better, and long living.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Enough community members as individuals or those in business stepping up to make sure the center continues for generations to come.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Everyone needs to step up and do as much as you can as often as you can to support the community as a whole and make sure we never lose our GREAT COMMUNITY CENTER!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

During my life in Pierce County I have been involved with the Rainbow Center in way or another, as a Board Member, supporter and participant. When the former organization that I was the last board member of approached the center board to merge it was met with enthusiasm and excitement. The one condition was I would again join the board- which I did. The center means alot to a great deal of people in many situations and different needs. Our board all believes in its mission, the community believes in our role and also supports the centers efforts. If the center was to vanish it would create a huge void that would be hard to fill. The center and its supporters have done great work and continues to do so while changing many lives for the better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Tacoma's GLBTQ population is fortunate to have been served by the Rainbow Center for many years. It offers counseling , social opportunities, a library, drop-in center, information, etc., for the local gay community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a regular tuesday afternoon volunteer, I have been profoundly impacted by the sensitive, caring, compassionate nurturing, understanding, and help that the RC staff extends to absolutely every person who calls or walks through our door no matter their gender, sexuality, race, economic, or educational position in the world. If only staff and programs could be cloned to allow the rest of the community to learn from them. Cheryl

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me with my transition, helping others, providing support and education to the entire community not just the LGBT community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I won the lottery I would build them a larger more user friendly space which would allow expansion of services and programs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I honestly don't know because I always feel so appreciated for what little I am able to do

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I'm "old" (66) and trans. I am accepted for who I am and what I can offer. I really have not ever lacked for self confidence but I do believe that the RC experience has helped me feel more at home in my community

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

fulfilled

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Rainbow Center provides tremendous support and and access to information and meeting space in the Tacoma area. In addition being the only LGBTQ center in the entire Puget Sound Region. They provide meeting space for many varied segments of the LGBTQ communities. This is an invaluable service. In addition they gather and distribute an incredible amount of information and services to help those individuals in these varius communities. The leadership run the center very efficiently in all the volunteer endeavors I have participated in with them. The Rainbow Center is an invaluable resource for our community and runs very efficiently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the Board of the Rainbow Center several years ago when I felt that I was ready for board leadership and wanted to give back to my community in a way that felt meaningful to me. During my tenure on the board, I have been consistently impressed with the effort, dedication and results of the team that works there. This is truly a small but mighty organization and one that is very much needed by our community. And, our current Executive Director and staff are the best and most professional that we have ever had. We are blessed to have them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Rainbow Center is the only place like it in the area. The staff works so hard and offers me space to work and get connected with resources. It is a safe environment for people in the community to come and get connected to jobs and have accesss to computers. Counseling and resources for people who have been victims of crime is important and the Rainbow Center provides this. It is a great place for LGBTQ members of the community to stop in if they are new to the area. There is also guides for LGBTQ supportive businesses. There are many support groups that meet throughout the week. I cannot think of a better place for people to get plugged into the LGBTQ community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came here just looking for a place to hang out with other gay people and ended receiving a lot of help with issues that were and are a real roadblock to my happiness and well being. Many things in my life have improved recently, some of them are a direct result of my association with the Rainbow Center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful interaction with those that come to the center. Staff always pleasant and helpful with resources to help empower those that come to the center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help set up for Out in the Park, Tacoma's LGBTQA Pride Celebration. Or, many other options depending on if you have 3 hours once a year, 3 hours once a month, or 3 hours once a week. Volunteer