Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Write A Review
January 20, 2015

more

January 20, 2015

I am an occupational therapy student and really enjoyed my trip with PUSH to Mazatlan. Even though I do not speak Spanish and understand very little, I felt like a member of the team and community at the center. The hands-on expereince with the kids was so helpful- to integrate both what I am learning in school as well as hear about techniques and treatement perspectives from other (both American and Mexican) therapists. I was encouraged to plan treatment and ask questions about how to implement the therapy. I felt like I was able to be independent in coming up with treatment but supported by expereinced therapists if my treatment plan did not address a skill I wanted to target or where a modification to my treatment plan would be more therapeutic. I also really enjoyed the wheelchair distribution day, home visits, wheelchair sports, adaptove driving, and the city tour. I would very highly recommend this trip to any student (PT or OT), regardless of the year in the program! I also think one could benefit from this trip coming from a non-therapy background. The leaders were great about explaining things simply and clearly, and I really appreciated their openess to our questions. The hospitality of the center was also wonderful- lots of smiles, good food and flexibility for everyone's needs.
April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

Volunteering with Push International was an enlightening experience. The push staff was very warm and welcoming. Push International was very helpful in facilitating our trip as student volunteers and providing a beneficial experience for both our learning and the people whom we had the ability to help. With the help of Push we were able to interview, fit, and distribute wheelchairs to several members of the disabled community in Mazatlan thus providing mobility for those who previously were not able to access their community. Push also promoted and facilitated an experience that provided for cultural learning. This experience has impacted and changed my life, and I can only hope the same for those that we served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

Push International is an incredible organization that provides such an amazing service in Mazatlan, Mexico! I was fortunate enough to spend one week with fellow occupational therapy classmates and other health care students from Washington state at Padres y Compadres, and had a life changing experience that not only affected me and the way I will lead my professional career, but also the people of Mazatlan who benefit from Push International. This organization provides mobility and freedom to local residents with disabilities and helps these people learn to enjoy life again through wheelchair distribution events. One gentleman in particular had not been out of his home in 3 years due to his disability and the gratitude and joy he felt when he received his wheelchair was a moment I will never forget! I will absolutely be seeking funding to participate in future trips to Mazatlan with Push International!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more

April 21, 2013

Push International offers so much to the people of Mazatlan! They work with locals to specifically meet the needs of the many families they help. My experience there left such an impact on my life and I only hope that I left an impact on the hearts of the beautiful people of Mazatlan. Being a Physical Therapy program, my time in Mexico will also impact my future professional decisions. It is a wonderful organization and I know my time with them is not over.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

Push International brings to Mexico, an experience in learning. Not only for the local people, but for the students who give there time. Push helps students and disabled adults and children get together, for a positive, interactive experience. Bringing mobility and smiles to everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

This organization does a wonderful service to the local community in Mazatlan, Mexico. Through providing mobility devices to those in need, people are able to participate in their communities and decrease the amount of care they may need. Additionally this organization provides ongoing supports for people who access this service to make sure that their mobility device is continuing to meet their needs. They have built a strong relationship with community members and have become a place of hope for those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

My wife and I loved the experience. The people we met were so nice. The most memorable moment for me was when I helped seat a man who had been lying in bed for a whole year. He was so happy and so was his mom who was crying with happiness. Push International helps change people's lives. They give people opportunities to be independent and live fruitful lives. We hope to go back and volunteer again. Push International is an excellent organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I am so glad I went on the trip to Mazatlan with Push International! During the trip, we were able to distribute mobility equipment and enhance the therapy services at Padres y Compadres. I had an amazing cultural experience, I learned so much about occupational therapy, and I gained more confidence in my abilities by getting hands-on practice and instruction. It was great to be part of such an amazing organization that really helps the local people and allows personal growth at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I was part of the 28th team to travel to Mexico and distribute wheelchairs. During my time there it was obvious that Push International has been embraced by the community and been able to make a tremendous impact on the individuals it serves. During wheelchair distributions there was one young girl who we fitted for a new wheelchair that had an amazing smile. She was there to receive her second chair because she had outgrown her first one, which she had received a few years before. I will never forget the moment that the founder of Push, Bree, realized she had given this young girl her first wheelchair a few years before, saying she could never forget that smile. It was very touching experiences that brought tears to many eyes to be able to see and hear how Push International had made a difference in this young girl's life. This volunteer experience was the best I have had and I am returning again next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2012

more

February 8, 2012

Wonderful people and warm atmosphere at Padres y Compadres. I loved the entire experience, from the cultural aspects of the locals and town to the wheelchair distributions and treatment we provided. Overall, it was an amazing trip. I'm going back next year to help again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Someone with 3 hours to volunteer could help us load equipment into a container headed to Mexico, collect equipment in their area, help plan a fundraiser, help in the office.... Contact us, there is plenty of work to be done! Volunteer