Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Pure Water for the World builds local capacity and community buy-in by combining education with service provision. Having volunteered with Pure Water both in the US and in Honduras, I've been impresse... more

June 14, 2013

Pure Water is committed to quality water, sanitation and hygiene service provision that focuses not only on making available to communities technology to improve water quality, but also the skills needed to ensure healthy families. With a participatory philosophy and a commitment to thorough M&E, Pure Water works with participants to make sure that PWW services are effective and impactful.

As a student of international development, PWW is an organization that continually impresses me with its firm commitment to its mission and desire to provide the best programming possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Pure Water for the World builds local capacity and community buy-in by combining education with service provision. Having volunteered with Pure Water both in the US and in Honduras, I've been impressed by the staff's dedication to providing sustainable solutions to some of the most vulnerable populations in Honduras. Pure Water works with rather that for communities and trains local staff and volunteers to work directly with communities. My work as an intern with Pure Water was one of the most valuable learning experiences of my college career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Our business proudly supports Pure Water and the work they do in Haiti and Honduras. PWW is an organization where you feel the money you have donated has made an enormous impact in the lives of those... more

June 14, 2013

Our company has been donating annually to Pure Water for the World and we have volunteered on a mission to trip to Honduras. I have never met a more focused and passionate group of people both in the US and in Honduras. We have pledged to continue to donate to their organization and to stay involved as the organization progresses. Water is our passion and ensuring those around us has access to safe water is our first priority. Thank you PWW for the wonderful work you are doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

Our business proudly supports Pure Water and the work they do in Haiti and Honduras. PWW is an organization where you feel the money you have donated has made an enormous impact in the lives of those most in need. The focus of PWW is exactly where it ought to be, on getting individuals their most basic human right, clean drinking water and proper sanitation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Pure Water for the World is a fantastic non-profit that is making a huge difference in the lives of people around the world. This organization provides sand filters and latrines to families and villages to help support clean drinking water. I have been teaching fourth grade in Upstate New York for the past seven years. Each year, my students have participated in a local fundraiser called The Water Walk, which raises money for Pure Water for the World. This has provided an amazing experience for my students to learn the value of giving to those who are less fortunate. They absolutely LOVE this event and even come back the following years to participate! This past summer, I was fortunate enough to take a week long trip to Honduras to volunteer with Pure Water and get a closer look at what this organization does with the money that we have donated. It was definitely an eye-opening experience for me. The videos and pictures that are online just don’t do justice the hard work and incredible difference that this organization makes! Their efforts are saving the lives of many children and adults. To learn more about what Pure Water does, visit purewaterfortheworld.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have volunteered working with Pure Water in Choluteca, Danli, and other areas of HOnduras with Pure Water and also served on their board. Seeing and talking with people who have been helped by the use of their units plus the work they do to teach good hygiene as well as giving the people clean water has convinced me they do an excellent job in giving a more healthy, productive lives to many people who other wise would not have. I enjoy working with and and helping them in their work in Central America Bob Conant

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have traveled to Haiti with Pure Water twice now. Their devotion to providing clean water to a populace that suffers daily losses from contaminated water is extraordinary. There are so many needs in Haiti but it all begins with access to clean water. They are concentrating on the children and their schools by providing water filters. Unlike many other NGOs, they continue to stay in touch with the schools, clinics, etc to ensure their goals are being met. I have worked in Pure Waters' factory, handed out filters to the schools, and toured orphanages and villages that have been identifed as recipients of the filters in the near future. Pure Water's approach is very methodical, professional and caring in a world of need and chaos. They are my heroes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have volunteered for Pure Water for the World for several months. Since I was based in Trojes, Honduras for all the time I served the NGO, I could witness first-hand how important is the PWW contribution to the local families.

Imagine extremely little communities, usually made of 20 to
30 houses each, a church and a school all spread around a rough mountainous land. Imagine unpaved roads connecting such communities that are useless for the majority of the year due to torrential rain and non-existing maintenance. Imagine the closest pueblo being 1 to 3 hours away and the closest city (and paved road) being a whole travelling day away.

Imagine houses that lack of running water, gas and latrines. Imagine the family wealth based only upon coffee harvest, which happens once a year and whose profits have to sustain a family (usually 6+ persons) for the remaining 11 months.

Imagine children and elders alike that get continuously sick due to the poor hygienic conditions and the lack of clean water. Imagine a population neglected by its own people, by its own government.

Now imagine an NGO that serves these forgotten communities.
Imagine a team of 6 workers going every day in the field, enduring long and risky trips to such places. Imagine motorbikes running on the edge of dangerous mountain ridges and 4x4 jeeps fighting against mud and unthinkable gradients. Imagine Biosand filters and latrines carried and installed both in houses and schools, under such circumstances.

Now think of a NGO that puts sustainability first, trying to have a long lasting impact on the territory by training respected members of each community on how to maintain the filters, educating children and elders on the importance of hygiene in each and every aspect, from personal matters to the household, to the environment. Imagine the same organization following up with a treatment program to rid community members of existing internal parasites. Imagine the same NGO running checks and always monitoring its results, constantly trying to improve and learn from its mistakes.

Imagine an NGO that not only serves the forgotten with the most important source of life in the world against all odds and difficulties, but also makes them feel acknowledged and loved.

Imagine Pure Water for the World.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been associated with Pure Water since 2003, having served on their Board of Directors for several of those years. I chose Pure Water because they are an independent organization whose sole purpose is to save lives and improve the health for children and their families in countries where the need for help is critical. I have traveled to Honduras many times and have led five group trips there to witness and support Pure Water's efforts, so I can attest to the effectiveness of their work. They do not impose anything on the people of Honduras, but rather equip Hondurans to help themselves. It is the most impressive, impactful and unselfish philanthropic work I have witnessed in a developing country. They could not be more deserving of recognition for their efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have met and worked with Directors of this organization and with staff and volunteers in Honduras. Every single one is committed to changing lives for the better and you can see it in the way they work and treat the people they are helping.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I started with Pure Water in 2010 after a Rotary District trip to Honduras in which Pure Water bio-sand filters were installed in homes. That trip changed my whole outlook on volunteering. Since then I have returned to Honduras three times and have been to Haiti three times - all for Pure Water for the World. Pure Water's installation of filters and latrines and emphasis on hygiene education is just what these countries need to pull themselves out of poverty. Clean water allows their children to go to school healthy and well - a first step to avoid the scourge of poverty and disease.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Pure Water for the World teaches sanitation, provides sand filters and latrines to Haitian and Honduran families and schools. They have partnered with NGOs to provide essential services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers