Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

Pure Water for the World is the real thing. They are quite literally changing lives of children and families in Haiti and Honduras. I got to be a part of this (and so can you!). PWW offers working trips to their locations; something I can't speak highly enough about! I travelled with PWW down to Haiti last year and got to participate in installing water filters in homes in Bouda Chita as well as going all over Haiti to talk with families who are working with PWW and hear their stories. The family members of these homes were so excited, so proud, so honored to be a part of this program. They beam when they talk about PWW. Prior to PWW, generation after generation of family members have never had clean water in their homes. They have suffered, and witnessed families in their communities suffer, from intestinal distress. All because they lacked access to uncontaminated water...a glass of clean water, something we take for granted many times every day. On my trip, I got to talk with families who received water systems just months before and they told me how it has literally changed their lives. The pride in their voices, their faces, their eyes, spoke volumes of how much gratitude they have for what PWW has given to them. PWW isn't just placing water systems into homes and wishing the families well as they head off. They are giving them extensive training on hygiene and they are continuing to support them to be sure they are using their systems correctly, supporting them along the way. PWW is changing lives. Get involved with Pure Water for the World!
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

One time I was speaking with a recipient of a Pure Water filter and asked him what having a filter meant to him and his family. He said, "well, the children have stopped dying". Your support of the amazing work that Pure Water does saves children's lives. What could be more meaningful?
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I first became involved with Pure Water for the World in 2010 when my husband was invited to go on a trip to visit the site in Haiti. He came back and we knew that our dream of living and volunteering in a foreign country was going to be made possible through Pure Water. We have had the pleasure of being volunteers for 5 months in the small rural town of Trojes, in southern Honduras. From an inside perspective I can articulate the passion Pure Water has for helping people. It is not only shown through the hard work of those who are raising funds and publicizing, but also through the Hondurans who work for Pure Water. These men and women have pride and loyalty that is rare and astounding. Their jobs are by no means easy. Many days they drive by truck or motorcycle on rough dirt roads for hours each way. Their days are long and sometimes grueling, but they know their job is important to make a difference in their country and a difference in the lives of their neighbors, friends, and family. By going out in the communities, I have seen the sheer appreciation of the locals; they offer whatever they have - eggs, mangoes, coffee - as gifts to the Pure Water employees just to show their gratitude. The people of the communities know that with the filters and latrines provided by Pure Water, their families are becoming healthier; ensuring their children can continue their education and slowly break the cycle of poverty. Pure Water is doing great work and making a difference in a country that is usually forgotten by others.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I am a volunteer for Pure Water for the World in Trojes, Honduras. My experience since beginning in April 2014 has been extremely positive. Pure Water is an organization dedicated to helping families break the cycle of poverty by providing sustainable water and sanitation solutions. This is something that I have seen everyday going into the field. The communities served are extremely thankful for the work we have done and their lives have been visibly improved. It is easy to see the difference between the communities we have already served and the new ones we go into. These communities are some of the poorest in Honduras – in one of the poorest countries in the world. Pure Water really is giving the poorest of the poor a chance for a better future for themselves and their children.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

About 7 years ago, I was first exposed to Pure Water for the World (aka "PW"), while in Haiti. I was impressed about their organization, and "tucked away" the info. received for future reference. In late 2011, I was given the opportunity to develop a service project for my local Rotary club. However, we needed a "host" club (in Haiti), and was having difficulty in linking up with one that was responsive. The director at the Port-au-Prince office located a cooperating Rotary club, and literally drove to visit with this club on several occasions. Because of this, we could proceed with a rather extensive project, encompassing 76 schools, 324 water filters, encompassing ~20,000 beneficiaries (primarily children). If it weren't for PW being so passionate, professional, and the willingness to figuratively and literally go the extra mile, this project would not have happened. They must know that their efforts have kept many school children in school and, no doubt, have SAVED LIVES in the process! I now consider the people of PW my personal friends, and sincerely hope that we can collaborate on a similar project again in the not-too-distant future. PW is truly a wonderful organization that and, in my experience, embodies the Rotary "Service about Self" mindset. They have and will continue to make a difference in the lives of many people when and wherever they are! Thank you, Pure Water for the World, for what you do, and who you are!!!
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

My experience so far has been great.They are genuinely interested in previous volunteer teams that I have been on.I hope to join the team on a project in January.
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

As a member of a supportive Church and Rotary Club, I have been a donor, volunteer and supporter of efforts to address health, hygiene and clean water issues in Haiti through Pure Water for the World. PWW has a strong local presence (largely Haitian staffed), a methodical approach to planning, implementation and followup which is uniquely exceptional. Their efforts have demonstrated sustainable results in schools and communities throughout Haiti. Their efforts are accelerating as their solutions become more widespread and credible. The organization has strong leadership on Staff and it's Board. People should be extremely confident in supporting this organization to address the serous issues facing Haiti.
June 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Pure Water for the World builds local capacity and community buy-in by combining education with service provision. Having volunteered with Pure Water both in the US and in Honduras, I've been impresse... more

June 14, 2013

Pure Water is committed to quality water, sanitation and hygiene service provision that focuses not only on making available to communities technology to improve water quality, but also the skills needed to ensure healthy families. With a participatory philosophy and a commitment to thorough M&E, Pure Water works with participants to make sure that PWW services are effective and impactful.

As a student of international development, PWW is an organization that continually impresses me with its firm commitment to its mission and desire to provide the best programming possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Pure Water for the World builds local capacity and community buy-in by combining education with service provision. Having volunteered with Pure Water both in the US and in Honduras, I've been impressed by the staff's dedication to providing sustainable solutions to some of the most vulnerable populations in Honduras. Pure Water works with rather that for communities and trains local staff and volunteers to work directly with communities. My work as an intern with Pure Water was one of the most valuable learning experiences of my college career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Our business proudly supports Pure Water and the work they do in Haiti and Honduras. PWW is an organization where you feel the money you have donated has made an enormous impact in the lives of those... more

June 14, 2013

Our company has been donating annually to Pure Water for the World and we have volunteered on a mission to trip to Honduras. I have never met a more focused and passionate group of people both in the US and in Honduras. We have pledged to continue to donate to their organization and to stay involved as the organization progresses. Water is our passion and ensuring those around us has access to safe water is our first priority. Thank you PWW for the wonderful work you are doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

Our business proudly supports Pure Water and the work they do in Haiti and Honduras. PWW is an organization where you feel the money you have donated has made an enormous impact in the lives of those most in need. The focus of PWW is exactly where it ought to be, on getting individuals their most basic human right, clean drinking water and proper sanitation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Pure Water for the World is a fantastic non-profit that is making a huge difference in the lives of people around the world. This organization provides sand filters and latrines to families and villages to help support clean drinking water. I have been teaching fourth grade in Upstate New York for the past seven years. Each year, my students have participated in a local fundraiser called The Water Walk, which raises money for Pure Water for the World. This has provided an amazing experience for my students to learn the value of giving to those who are less fortunate. They absolutely LOVE this event and even come back the following years to participate! This past summer, I was fortunate enough to take a week long trip to Honduras to volunteer with Pure Water and get a closer look at what this organization does with the money that we have donated. It was definitely an eye-opening experience for me. The videos and pictures that are online just don’t do justice the hard work and incredible difference that this organization makes! Their efforts are saving the lives of many children and adults. To learn more about what Pure Water does, visit purewaterfortheworld.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers