Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.93755
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Working with PPAF have been fantastic. David is a great mentor and has great vision and goals for PPAF.
It was amazing to learn the work on ethanol cookstoves being done and its impact on the lives of people in Haiti . I wish to support PPAF in the best way I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

The work that the Public Private Alliance Foundation has done thus far has already had a tremendous impact on the people of Haiti. The Alliance’s Ethanol Clean Cookstove Partnership is truly remarkable. It is an inexpensive and clean way for the people of Haiti to get their energy. Instead of getting their energy from charcoal and wood they can now get their energy from sugar cane. The dedication of the Executive-Director can be seen throughout this NGO and that is why I feel the Alliance will succeed in their present and future endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Not only is the concept of the PPAF sound, its executors are sincere, savvy and devoted.
In particular their work in Haiti is practical and helpful to development in that fascinating yet disaster-prone country. The Foundation and its supporters work with locals rather than coming in as outside
do-gooders, and the provide them with the tools and finance to build themselves. Expatriate Haitians are bustling entrepreneurs and the Foundation helps reimport some of that energy and drive to their home country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 7, 2012

I continue to be impressed with the dedication of the Executive Director and those who work with him to moving forward significantly while being extreemly efficient in his use of the funds available. ... more

September 17, 2013

The Public-Private Alliance Foundation creates organizational and intellectual space for synergy between for-profit and non-profit entities, leading to improved development in low-income countries. While this has been in vogue for more than a decade in development circles, the direct experience of PPAF, especially in the Haiti alcohol stoves efforts, amply demonstrates the benefits of this approach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sharpen the statements of results desired from each activity, including expected costs and metrics intended to measure outcomes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2012

I continue to be impressed with the dedication of the Executive Director and those who work with him to moving forward significantly while being extreemly efficient in his use of the funds available. The recent kick-off of the ethanol stoves project in Haiti is an example of just one such successful effort.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Public-Private Alliance Foundation is a leader in the non-profit sector. Through collaboration, they have helped stimulated entrepreneurship and encouraged investment for sustainable development. We have been able to collaborate with David, the Executive Director in PPAF's support for our project, Social Tap, Inc./The Haiti Initiative in Haiti. We highly support the wonderful work that PPAF is doing in the community. Margarette Tropnas, Board President, Social Tap, Inc.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

The Public-Private Alliance Foundations has demonstrated impeccable leadership in providing a forum where key stakeholders can engage collaboratively on critical issues central to economic development. I have closely followed PPAF's work for several years and I am always inspired and energized by the dedication of its leadership team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

The Public Private Alliance Foundation engages Rotary and most important for them is not how much they are able to give to humanity, is HOW they give it! .... indeed changing lives.

Giorgio Balestrieri
P. President
NY ROTARY
Engage Rotary, Change Lives

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

The PPAF is an organisation that not only wants to do go for people, but wants to involve the people that they benefit, so that they in turn are involved to help others with the same need. The focus of their project is not to hand out a benefit, but to address a need that also solves other social and environmental problems.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 30, 2011

The Public-Private Alliance Foundation derives from the passion of the former General Manager of the UN Public-Private Alliance for Rural Development, who tirelessly tries to improve the life of under... more

August 22, 2013

I have known Public-Private Alliance Foundation, PPAF, for several years, it is very well run by highly qualified individuals that have a long experience working at the UN in various development projects. They have excellent networking capacity with government agencies in several countries as well as connection to private enterprises, a great match-maker between the two, bringing real solution to solve a chronic problems that inflict the developing countries. They have excellent administration, very nice people to work with. Dr. David Stillman, the Executive Director, was our honoree at our Earth Day celebration a few years ago. I highly recommend the support to PPAF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire more people, but it also requires more funding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2011

The Public-Private Alliance Foundation derives from the passion of the former General Manager of the UN Public-Private Alliance for Rural Development, who tirelessly tries to improve the life of underserved population in developing countries.

What I like about the PPAF is its sensibility
to the environment that ensures a long lasting sustainable development, an example is the ethanol cook stove project – on one hand it helps save the tree, on the other the clean burning stove improves the health of the poor people.

For that reason I invited Dr. Stillman, founder and director, to exhibit and explain the ethanol cooking stove at our recent Earth Day celebration.

PPAF deserves our support.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It convinced me that a Public Private joint venture is a win win situation for both the private sector and the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to get more people and business community involved.

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

During my time interning at PPAF, I have come to find that the smaller size of the organization has not stopped it from taking on a very important task in the field of sustainable development in developing countries. While working on their clean- burning, ethanol-based cook stove project that they have piloted in Haiti, I had the opportunity to visit the country to do some field testing with the cook stoves and even visit some of the hospitals to see how respiratory disease is affecting the people. I found the buzz phrase, "Helping people to break out of the poverty-disease-deforestation trap", to be very apt with regard to the potential impact of the project. Replacing charcoal with ethanol as a cooking fuel indeed provides a unique opportunity to bolster the Haitian economy while stopping deforestation and improving the health of the people. What I appreciate about PPAF is the manner in which it uses its strengths in networking to take this project off the ground. I have seen how PPAF aims to connect Haitian sugar cane farmers, grass-roots NGOs, and local organizations with the private sector and the international organizations that can provide the resources, expertise and funding needed to bridge the gaps. It has been a pleasure working with the organization and I am very lucky to have worked on such an important and amazing project. I hope PPAF is able to continue connecting people and organizations to help get Haitians out of what is indeed a poverty-disease-deforestation trap.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

PPAF could recruit a volunteer or intern who could work on raising awareness of the issues locally and on increasing PPAF's presence in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at a conference, draft a press release, carry out internet reseacb for a project, assist with the database, or organize materials. Volunteer