Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 30, 2011

Although PPAF is a young non-profit, it has done some outstanding work. The people behind the organization are extremely hard working and dedicated to the PPAF mission. more

October 20, 2014

I had an outstanding experience interning at PPAF in 2008. It was a real pleasure working with David and Ginger. While interning, I had the opportunity to conduct interesting research, plan the Partners Against Poverty event, and attend meetings at the UN. I am now an Associate of PPAF. I am very proud of everything the organization has accomplished in a short time. Keep up the good work!
March 30, 2011

Although PPAF is a young non-profit, it has done some outstanding work. The people behind the organization are extremely hard working and dedicated to the PPAF mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

bringing together a variety of interests (business, non-profit, United Nations, academic, etc.) through its annual Partners Against Poverty conference, which aims to stimulate entrepreneurship and commerce-related activities in the Domincan Republic and Madagascar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

engage more youth.

October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I have interacted with PPAF for the past several years and found that their dedication and skills are truly extraordinary. I have worked with them on their cook stove project in Haiti, and witness them taking an idea and transforming it into a sustainable project that supports economic development while protecting and enhancing women’s health. It has been inspiring! I look forward with anticipation to many more and continuing projects supported by this group.
October 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 31, 2011

The Public Private Alliance Foundation is working to bring cookstove practices which protect human health from lethal indoor smoke, preserve forests, allow women to avoid dangerous wood gathering miss... more

October 20, 2014

PPAF is working with excellent partners to promote sustainable fuel and improved cook stoves
for Haiti. PPAF identified many ways to make ethanol production more efficient and is working to demonstrate that high quality affordable ethanol for cooking can be produced in Haiti using local feed

stock. Wood and wood charcoal are currently used by 1.85 million households (out of 2 million) in Haiti using about 4 million tons of trees. Sustainable yield from current Haitian forest is estimated at .5 million tons. Volunteer time is used to stretch effective use of donations to the maximum extent possible.
March 31, 2011

The Public Private Alliance Foundation is working to bring cookstove practices which protect human health from lethal indoor smoke, preserve forests, allow women to avoid dangerous wood gathering missions and girls to go to school. Work in Haiti promises to demonstrate the practicality and economic viability of ethanol cookstoves to replace current charcoal based methods.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a Board member I have seen the day to day efforts to bring improved tachnology for cookstoves, safer fuels, and potential markets together to address deforestation and improve human health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization might be more effective in colaboration with initiatives to promote national level approaches which promise more rapid dissemination of these important innovations.

October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

I have had experience with PPAF for almost two years and what I have seen and heard is remarkable! The work they have done and continue to do in the DR and Haiti is inspiring, and it's not hard to tell that the people behind it have incredible drive and passion. I hope that their work is able to continue long into the future - the world needs changemakers like PPAF.
October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 16, 2013

PPAF is a not for profit who has gone way beyond the regular not for profits , the founders and board members are striving 24/ 7 to improve the lives of women and families who are disenfranchised. It... more

October 19, 2014

PPAF is a not for profit with passiona nd power to make a difference. I have had the opportunity of working with PPAF on their amazing cooking stoves project . This project has been contributing to empowering the lives of many women and restoring their dignity. I think this is a great example of a grassroots project which has garnered tremendous support from all the stakeholders in taking it to the next step. Any donation made is for a truly worthy cause
Mini
September 16, 2013

PPAF is a not for profit who has gone way beyond the regular not for profits , the founders and board members are striving 24/ 7 to improve the lives of women and families who are disenfranchised. It is not an exaggeration to say that it has changed many lives by being a beacon of hope. The work they do is really inspiring and is having a ripple effect in that it laying a strong foundation for sustainability. Thisd is a role model for a not for profit in terms of leadership and service delivery

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing I can think of at present

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 24, 2013

PPAF is a wonderful organization. It works in Haiti, Madagascar, Dominican Republic and elsewhere. It is accredited by the United Nations more

October 5, 2014

It is a real pleasure to work with PPAF. It is doing fantastic work in Haiti and is engaged in cutting-edge work on clean cook stoves and ethanol. The US government is supporting these aims as well, which makes the work all the more important. In Madagascar PPAF also works to supply medical equipment and has the support of the Highest levels of the Malagasy government.
September 24, 2013

PPAF is a wonderful organization. It works in Haiti, Madagascar, Dominican Republic and elsewhere. It is accredited by the United Nations

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2011

Public Private Alliance Foundation is a wonderful organization. It is new and small, but it does a great deal. PPAF works closely with the United Nations and some of its Board members are Ambassadors.

Immediatly after the 2010 earthquake in Haiti, PPAF mobalized to provide assitance,
notably in private sector capacity building. PPAF has worked with a Haitian-American organization to promote development along the Southern coast of Haiti.

PPAF has worked to promote public and private sector alternative energy programs in the countries in which it operates, notably in the Dominican Republic (ethanol) and Madagascar (jatropha).

PPAF also has helped strengthen the health care sector in Madagascar, which is a country particularly of interest to me. PPAF was instramtental in delivering millions of dollars of medical equipment to hospitals in Madagascar and in promoting the gift of hearing in Madagascar.

Anyone wishing to help promote sustainable development should strongly consider working the PPAF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I personally have seen the PPAF work very well with the United Nations and NGO's in Madagascar and Dominican Republic.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would work to raise more funds for the PPAF's programs and operational budgets.

June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

I have had the honor to have had the opportunity to work as a consultant with PPAF and their incredible work in Haiti to provide alternatives to charcoal as a cook fuel. They are tireless and consistent at pushing forward with innovative and productive ways to identify uses of several potential biofuel sources that would improve the health and environment of the Haitian people. My work , to provide Ethanol as clean burning alternative fuel has been extremely rewarding. I have been honored and thankful for the opportunity to work with this outstanding,dedicated and focused organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 13, 2013

PPAF is devoted to helping both people and the environment by promoting clean, ethanol-based cookstoves. Their current focus is Haiti, where the need is enormous. A very worthwhile cause! more

April 25, 2014

This organization is doing great work for human health and the environment by promoting clean cookstoves in Haiti.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 13, 2013

PPAF is devoted to helping both people and the environment by promoting clean, ethanol-based cookstoves. Their current focus is Haiti, where the need is enormous. A very worthwhile cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2012

PPAF is a small organization with a highly skilled and dedicated staff. They know how to focus their efforts in ways that pay off in practical results. Nothing gets lost in bureaucracy. Their projects benefit both people and the environment, rather than pitting those goals against each other.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2014

more


4 previous reviews - show all
August 14, 2013

Already in 2013 the Foundation has greatly expanded its work on clean cookstoves and ethanol fuel in Haiti, to help overcome the poverty - disease - deforestation trap of charcoal. The team has manag... more

April 18, 2014

I work with the Public-Private Alliance Foundation (PPAF) as Board Secretary and in communications and as internship coordinator. PPAF has made a real impact with a number of sugarcane distillers in Haiti. PPAF brought a biochemist and a distillery specialist to Haiti to work with them to produce ethanol. Now the distillers can produce ethanol for cookstoves much more efficiently and at lower cost. This is a win-win-win situation. Distillers can make more money through efficient production. Mothers and children using ethanol cookstoves don't have to breathe noxious fumes from charcoal. As more and more use ethanol for cooking, trees don't have to be cut down for wood and charcoal for cooking. Long term this will help reduce the destruction of forests. 75% of energy use in Haiti is for cooking!

The Foundation also educates other non-governmental organizations (NGOs) through its outreach. In March 2014 the Foundation worked with the UN's Department of Public Information to organize a briefing at the UN that was attended by over 150 representatives of NGOs. The topic was Bioenergy, Clean Cookstoves and Sustainable Development. This took place during the Commission on the Status of Women, A follow-up meeting was held with about 25 people to discuss possible collaborations among several organizations working in Haiti.



August 14, 2013

Already in 2013 the Foundation has greatly expanded its work on clean cookstoves and ethanol fuel in Haiti, to help overcome the poverty - disease - deforestation trap of charcoal. The team has managed two field tests there and also organized important policy meetings on Ethanol Cookstoves and Fuel at the United Nations and in Washington (in which I participated). The team joined in the first meeting of the Technical Advisory Group on Clean Cookstoves and Clean Cooking Solutions and PPAF's Executive Director spoke to a joint meeting of the All-Party Parliamentary Groups on the Dominican Republic and Haiti at Parliament in London. I supervise talented interns (six so far this year) and work with other volunteers who are committed to making a difference for the people of Haiti.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2012

I am happy that the Foundation is starting pilot implementation to bring clean fuels and clean stoves to Haitian families. These include a stove that burns ethanol distilled from local sugar cane, a traditional crop, and briquettes made from agricultural waste for other stoves. The purpose is to reduce deforestation, to help improve health especially of women and children affected by noxious fumes from burning charcoal and wood, and to reduce the burden of poverty. The Foundation is working with two Haitian non-profits as well as with a local hotel. and has technical support from other organizations. The aim is to create jobs and to improve peoples' lives. Next steps are to raise funds to increase the impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2012

Beyond its work with focus countries of Haiti, Madagascar and the Dominican Republic, the Foundation is doing a great job of bringing information about sustainable development, energy and especially about clean cookstoves to Rotary Clubs, colleges, and conferences. Board members and Senior Fellows join the Executive Director in this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2011

The Public-Private Alliance Foundation facilitates collaboration among businesses, non-profits, governments, universities, individuals and international organizations. Last June over 100 people attended a seminar to discuss and plan for the rebuilding of Jacmel and Southern Haiti. Since then a number of organizations are collaborating in a partnership to introduce ethanol-based cookstoves into Haiti, to build them there, to stimulate sugar-cane farming and distillation. The purpose is to reduce wood- and charcoal-based cooking, reduce deforestation, and help protect health, especially that of women and children, by reducing the noxious fumes that come from charcoal.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've watched the Foundation grow in its outreach to others, and to expand the message of sustainable, green development.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publicize the work of the Foundation broadly and expand its funding.

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Public-Private Alliance Foundation is a wonderful organization. Their mission and vision to reduce poverty in the Dominican Republic, Haiti, and Madagascar truly makes a difference and should not go unnoticed. The Stillman's are wonderful people to work for, and they are extremely capable of fulfilling the organizations goals. Seeing the difference they are making in these countries assures me I am working for the right non-profit organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at a conference, draft a press release, carry out internet reseacb for a project, assist with the database, or organize materials. Volunteer