Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.761195
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been an active volunteer, committee member and now Board member with PLEN since 2000 and continue to be impressed by the quality of the students and the programs. I learn and get back from each seminar so much more than I give. PLEN is a wonderful organization that provides a meaningful and unique educational experience to hundreds of students each year at a very low cost.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved as volunteers and sponsors so that PLEN could serve more students and offer even more programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of the PLEN Board of Directors, I am happy to help college women learn more about government relations and public policy. I attended an all-girls, college prep high school and have known, since that time, how important the camaraderie and support of other women is in the educational process. Seeing young women become more confident in their skills over the days during a PLEN seminar, and in the time following, is priceless. I enjoy being part of an organization which gives such great opportunities to young women.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As both an alumna and a board member of PLEN, I'm so glad to see engaged young women taking advantage of all that this organization has to offer. It definitely broadened my perspective to the breadth of opportunities in Washington, D.C., as well as expanded my network to an amazing group of women who were so willing to help me in any way that they could.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN seminars provide college women with insider access to Washington, D.C., an opportunity that is not otherwise available to many students on the West Coast. Students learn the art of networking and come back with a great understanding of why it is important to create and maintain connections in order to succeed in their careers.

Each time a student returns from PLEN, she is overwhelmed with enthusiasm and energized by the women leaders that she met. I see PLEN as a key educational component for any woman interested in pursuing a career in policy or politics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As both an alumna and a board member of PLEN, I have seen the impact its program has from both sides. It helped me connect with peers and mentors when I was a part of the program, which helped me achieve what I have this far in my career. Now as a board member, I continue to hear of the amazing achievements PLEN alumni have reached and the impact they say PLEN had.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 3, 2012

PLEN, the Public Leadership Education Network, is probably one of the busiest and most effective organizations I have encountered of its size. PLEN seeks to encourage college women to explore public p... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a PLEN Board Member as well as highly active volunteer. PLEN program participants have a life changing experience, and I am so proud to be part of this organization. If you are considering a career in public policy, attending a PLEN program is critical. Not only will you also gain career insights but also learn career jumpstarting, networking and leadership skills. PLEN is also a relevant and cost-effective corporate investment opportunity for any organization that has a Washington, DC office and/or works on policy issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012

PLEN, the Public Leadership Education Network, is probably one of the busiest and most effective organizations I have encountered of its size. PLEN seeks to encourage college women to explore public policy careers. It's 3- and 5-day seminars throughout the year expose the students to legislators and their staff, high-ranking executive branch decision-makers, and for-/not-for-profit women impacting public policy. The students are able to see the breadth of public policy career options available to them. Additionally, PLEN provides a summer internship enrichment program that DC-area interns can participate in. I am a Board Member and very active volunteer for PLEN as well as serve as the organization's Advancement Committee Chair. I am an alum of Goucher College, one of PLEN's founding members. I am proud to be part of this small but highly impactful organization. I urge others who do not already know about PLEN to learn more at www.plen.org.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the alumni I encounter. Thousands of women have participated in PLEN's programming in the past 30-plus years and speak about how life-changing their experience has been for them and in the career paths they have chosen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more funds available for our programs and hard-working staff as well as for scholarships for our students in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

My alma mater, Goucher College, is a founding memebr of PLEN. A dear friend invited me to attend a PLEN reception a few years ago and I have been volunteering with PLEN ever since.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Providing quality programming to as many students as are interested in attending the seminars. This includes making sure we have relevant and interesting speakers, convenient venues for the program, transportaiton, food and housing for our students, and enough scholarship funds to ensre we do not have to turn any student away.

What is its top priority in the long run?

All of the above along with greater finanical stability. We seek to increase the long-term financial commitments of our existing donors, grow our donor base, and create strategic partnerships with other relevant women's organizations to strengthen the mentoring aspect of our mission.

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

College women participants tell me that the Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN) has made a difference in their life. PLEN's mission is to prepare women for leadership in the public policy arena. It's a lofty goal and one that PLEN has accomplished for 35 years. I believe PLEN changes the lives of all that participate: students, speakers, staff, interns, colleges, sponsors and board members. We share the passion for the next generation of women leaders, and see the legacy of a seed that is planted and nurtured.

We all have a role to play. When the last session is completed, the last thank you note written, all the feedback compiled and we reflect on the experience, we must take what we've learned and put it into action. What is your role?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2011

I attended my first PLEN seminar during my first year at Douglass College of Rutgers University. After that first foray into Washington, I couldn't get enough! So, I went several more times during my... more

May 17, 2013

PLEN always makes such a difference in the lives of our students! They return to campus filled with excitement about the public policy process and ready to take on the challenges of our world. SO many of our recent graduates have attended PLEN seminars and then moved to Washington to find important jobs where they can make a difference. PLEN is transformative!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2011

I attended my first PLEN seminar during my first year at Douglass College of Rutgers University. After that first foray into Washington, I couldn't get enough! So, I went several more times during my years in college. The view of Washington, D.C. that I received from the many women leaders who spoke to us and shared their own stories was priceless. Those early entries into Washington resulted in a career in politics and now in higher education that has provided a lifetime of love for public policy and for the critical role that women mentors can play in the lives of young women. PLEN opens doors - it is that simple - to young women's careers and life development. In my own life and career, I have discovered that the power of giving to young women is multiplied exponentially over time. I am grateful for that power that PLEN gave to me almost a quarter of a century ago. It is only a pleasure to give back to PLEN and to young women now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own life, in the lives of my fellow alumnae and my current students

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue doing what they do so well - open the doors in Washington to young women interested in public leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 15, 2011

more

May 15, 2011

I participated in PLEN's internship program during my senior year of college, and I was lucky enough to work for PLEN after graduation. PLEN helped demystify what "working in DC" means and connected me with a network of women committed to mentoring young women.

I now serve on PLEN's board
as an alumni member, and I'm glad to have the opportunity to give back to an organization that did so much for me.

From my experience with PLEN, I know that the organization and staff are dedicated to providing students with a personal, rewarding seminar experience in DC.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Each job I've had after PLEN has been a direct result of my experience with PLEN, both in terms of the knowledge I gained and the connections I made.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to have past PLEN participants talk about their experience to other students-- that's how I decided to apply for the internship program and I think personal testimony is quite powerful.

March 2, 2011

more

March 2, 2011

I was a PLEN seminar student my sophomore year in college, the experience changed my life. I came to DC for the first time, I PLENs program that introduces young women to policy and government showed me a whole new world and change my life forever. I returned to school with a new plan, returning to DC as soon as possible. That very summer I attended the PLEn internship program where I worked for an international women's research and advocacy group. I built up a great DC professional network, PLEN helped me with my resume and my interview skills. After graduation returned to DC and have been involved with PLEN ever since. I have spoken to student seminars and I am now an alumni representative on the Board of Directors. PLEN is yet again giving me an experience that I wouldn't normally have as a young professional. This is what PLEN does opens young women's horizons to the possibilities and helps make those possibilities into realities.

PLEN changed my life and has changed that of women for more then 25 years. The small seminars with women working in policy across the career spectrum from new grads to seasoned professionals give students a great perspective of possible career paths.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my ability to network in DC. My knowledge of the public policy system and having a network of other PLEN women to rely on when needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more well know in the college circles so that more young women could participate in its programs.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

do online research to assist our development and communications efforts Volunteer