Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.761195
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer mentor at a recent PLEN seminar for young women from across the country who want to make a difference , I could see first-hand how important PLEN is to these aspiring leaders. By connecting these young women to successful women leaders in a variety of careers in the public arena, PLEN is providing advice, role models and guidance early in their college educations and careers. You could feel the excitement in the room as well as the gratitude of the young women for the advice and encouragement from women leaders who were sharing their experience and expertise. PLEN offers terrific opportunities like this one throughout the year in which women leaders open doors for younger women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way for PLEN to raise more money so they can serve more women students and provide additional scholarship money to students who have financial need. PLEN keeps its program fees reasonable so students can afford to attend; contributions from donors who believe in PLEN's mission are critical.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN prepares outstanding female leaders for public service careers by connecting college students with real world leaders in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get it on the radar of every business, nonprofit and government organization out there that works in the public service service, and every college and university.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

As an intern with PLEN, I have learned more about professional development during a weeklong seminar than I could have over a year as a recent graduate. PLEN offers a fantastic experience for college women to be able to network and meet women leaders in their field of interest. PLEN’s career development workshops are something I wished I had experienced during my undergraduate career. PLEN seminars truly give college women the tools to get ahead and kick start their careers in public policy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN encouraged me to jump start my career in International Policy. Furthermore, the organization directed me to a network of inspirational women who share my motivation to initiate change in the US and abroad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

PLEN opens the world of public policy to college women and makes it come alive through meetings with influential female policy makers, briefings, internships and mentorships. Public policy as taught in colleges is often really dry, technical, and boring -- and often attracts kids who have been exposed to CSPAN by their parents from a young age, leaving out those who might be interested if it had a chance to catch their imaginations. Unfortunately, the field does not always catch the imaginations of enough young women. PLEN is amazing in its committment to showing the way to a fascinating career in a field that desperately needs gender balance. I have participated in resume review sessions with PLEN students, helped source speakers for panels, and hosted happy hours to feature the organization. They have always been fabulous to work with, and make a shoestring budget do wonders, and I look forward to volunteering with them again in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

PLEN is an amazing organization that offers college women unique exposure to careers in public policy, an experience that is unparalleled by any other organization in the nation. PLEN's public policy seminars are inspiring, eye-opening, motivating, and in some cases life-changing. PLEN is truly a great nonprofit that makes a big impact with a small staff and few resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide PLEN with more funding to expand programs to more students and hire more staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Networking and educational event opportunities were in abundance.

September 20, 2011

more

September 20, 2011

I was lucky enough to attend PLEN's "Women, Law and Public Policy" seminar. The experience was enlightening, practical, and fun. Now, working as a PLEN Ambassador, I am able to encourage other young women to take part in PLEN programs. PLEN helped me in the difficult process of figuring out what I want to do after college, and I hope that many other young women can have this opportunity as well!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Washington, D.C.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

September 20, 2011

more

September 20, 2011

I attended the PLEN Women and Science/Technology Policy seminar in January, and it was great! I got to meet with women leaders all across the fields of science, as well as tour the National Institute or Health and NASA headquarters. The seminar really gave me a complete idea of what it is like to be a woman in public policy, and how to go about achieving my goals. Also, I really enjoyed all the career building tips and workshops they provided for us. PLEN is a great experience for any woman who is considering the field of public policy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My internship searches and in school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

August 4, 2011

more

August 4, 2011

I was hired at the Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN) to advance their communication outreach efforts and assist with a national marketing campaign. An internship was part of my American University graduate program requirement and I am so fortunate I was able to fulfill that requirement at PLEN. In my first week at PLEN, I wrote their first-ever media release about a salary-negotiation workshop hosted by PLEN Executive Direct Pamela O'Leary and Career Coach Alyssa Best, which was covered by the Washington Post. Additionally I helped brainstorm, develop and format PLEN's Media Room section of their website, which catalogs PLEN media coverage throughout the past year. PLEN gave me a lot of creative freedom with projects, were receptive and open to ideas and gave great constructive criticism. PLEN is a small non-profit, but is the only organization dedicated solely to forwarding women in public policy, so it is important that its message is heard nationally. I had a wonderful experience helping to promote this message and am excited to see what the future brings for PLEN.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The PLEN Media Room went live at the end of July, and it was a great opportunity to be there to assist with the process. Additionally, I edited and formatted the Intern Blog page on the PLEN wesbite, so I was personally able to oversee the project where the PLEN summer Women in Public Policy interns wrote about working and living in Washington DC throughout the summer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

PLEN is a great organization with a powerful mission unparalleled by many other non-profits. However, to fully reach the goals of their national marketing campaign, they will need to take on more communications and marketing interns to insure that PLEN has the tools to modernize and increase outreach and membership.

August 3, 2011

more

August 3, 2011

I am just wrapping up my summer internship with Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN) this week, and I have nothing but positive things to say about the organization. My experience was great mostly because of the staff at PLEN. They care so much about the mission of PLEN and the interns for the organization, and it's truly inspiring. These people are really doing everything they can to make sure that women have every opportunity to participate in policymaking and achieve their dreams, and my work with PLEN has most definitely inspired the feminist in me!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own personal values- through PLEN I found out about multiple events in Washington DC this summer and was able to meet so many different people involved in making equality for women a reality. These people were inspiring and made the feminist in me come out!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a single thing that I would change. They are doing great things!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Inspired!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

do online research to assist our development and communications efforts Volunteer