Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.761195
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 3, 2012

PLEN, the Public Leadership Education Network, is probably one of the busiest and most effective organizations I have encountered of its size. PLEN seeks to encourage college women to explore public p... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a PLEN Board Member as well as highly active volunteer. PLEN program participants have a life changing experience, and I am so proud to be part of this organization. If you are considering a career in public policy, attending a PLEN program is critical. Not only will you also gain career insights but also learn career jumpstarting, networking and leadership skills. PLEN is also a relevant and cost-effective corporate investment opportunity for any organization that has a Washington, DC office and/or works on policy issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012

PLEN, the Public Leadership Education Network, is probably one of the busiest and most effective organizations I have encountered of its size. PLEN seeks to encourage college women to explore public policy careers. It's 3- and 5-day seminars throughout the year expose the students to legislators and their staff, high-ranking executive branch decision-makers, and for-/not-for-profit women impacting public policy. The students are able to see the breadth of public policy career options available to them. Additionally, PLEN provides a summer internship enrichment program that DC-area interns can participate in. I am a Board Member and very active volunteer for PLEN as well as serve as the organization's Advancement Committee Chair. I am an alum of Goucher College, one of PLEN's founding members. I am proud to be part of this small but highly impactful organization. I urge others who do not already know about PLEN to learn more at www.plen.org.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the alumni I encounter. Thousands of women have participated in PLEN's programming in the past 30-plus years and speak about how life-changing their experience has been for them and in the career paths they have chosen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more funds available for our programs and hard-working staff as well as for scholarships for our students in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

My alma mater, Goucher College, is a founding memebr of PLEN. A dear friend invited me to attend a PLEN reception a few years ago and I have been volunteering with PLEN ever since.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Providing quality programming to as many students as are interested in attending the seminars. This includes making sure we have relevant and interesting speakers, convenient venues for the program, transportaiton, food and housing for our students, and enough scholarship funds to ensre we do not have to turn any student away.

What is its top priority in the long run?

All of the above along with greater finanical stability. We seek to increase the long-term financial commitments of our existing donors, grow our donor base, and create strategic partnerships with other relevant women's organizations to strengthen the mentoring aspect of our mission.

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended the PLEN Women, Law and Public Policy Seminar in November 2012. The PLEN Seminar introduced me to the many options that are available to someone to work within the field of Law and Public Policy. We heard from and talked with women in DC who are doing a wide range of work from Non-Profit starters to Lobbyists. The Seminar taught me how to effectively network and how to promote myself in a professional setting. I would strongly recommend PLEN to any female-identified person interested in public policy in DC and in their home state.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended one of PLEN's seminars in Washington, DC. During the seminar I learned about how to be a more effective citizen advocate. It also helped prepare me for the scary process of getting a job. I had a few interviews scheduled for the week after the PLEN conference, and signed a contract a week later! Thanks PLEN!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN was the more formative week of my life. The org helped me realize what I wanted to do and how to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN help me to recognize the potential in myself to go above and beyond to achieve my goals. They opened my eyes to the inner workings of Washington DC and offered me an opportunity I would have never received if it were not for this amazing organization. I met alumni who cared about me and my goals and have made friendships for life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

College women participants tell me that the Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN) has made a difference in their life. PLEN's mission is to prepare women for leadership in the public policy arena. It's a lofty goal and one that PLEN has accomplished for 35 years. I believe PLEN changes the lives of all that participate: students, speakers, staff, interns, colleges, sponsors and board members. We share the passion for the next generation of women leaders, and see the legacy of a seed that is planted and nurtured.

We all have a role to play. When the last session is completed, the last thank you note written, all the feedback compiled and we reflect on the experience, we must take what we've learned and put it into action. What is your role?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Such a great opportunity to not only learn about women in public policy, but also about yourself and what your interests are. This is definitely a program I would recommend to anyone who is contemplating a public policy career, be it international or domestic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN encouraged me to jump start my career in International Policy. Furthermore, the organization directed me to a network of inspirational women who share my motivation to initiate change in the US and abroad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I attended the Women and International Policy Seminar last year and I highly recommended it to any female college student. I LOVED my time participating in PLEN because its a truly amazing organization where it offers young women the opportunity to learn and listen to other female professionals in the international field. I couldn't ask for a better seminar in DC and I know that with a non profit like PLEN, it will make a great difference in so many lives as it did for mine!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways! I was able to meet and listen to amazing speakers throughout the week and expand my knowledge on topics such as human rights and security. I enjoyed the ability to talk to someone one on one about my resume and especially strengthen my networking skills. I also had the opportunity to met other college student and explore DC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

honestly not change anything... wish the seminar was longer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

My professor sent an email about the opportunity to attend the seminar.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Helped me think about my future goals in the international field and particularly my plans in moving to DC once I graduate.

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

Great opportunity for me to meet women in the professional work force, hear their stories, and learn about job options in my field of study. Very empowering and I would suggest this to any young woman who hopes to work in Washington DC after school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

do online research to assist our development and communications efforts Volunteer