Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.761195
Write A Review
July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN seminars provide college women with insider access to Washington, D.C., an opportunity that is not otherwise available to many students on the West Coast. Students learn the art of networking and come back with a great understanding of why it is important to create and maintain connections in order to succeed in their careers.

Each time a student returns from PLEN, she is overwhelmed with enthusiasm and energized by the women leaders that she met. I see PLEN as a key educational component for any woman interested in pursuing a career in policy or politics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN is an experience of a lifetime! I went to their technology conference knowing it would be great, but it exceeded my expectations. The programing was insightful and engaging. But most importantly, the PLEN volunteers, staff, and fellow attendees made it a rewarding and empowering experience. I recommend women to join the PLEN network, they won't regret it. It is also a great opportunity to explore D.C. with other talented and curious participants.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As both an alumna and a board member of PLEN, I have seen the impact its program has from both sides. It helped me connect with peers and mentors when I was a part of the program, which helped me achieve what I have this far in my career. Now as a board member, I continue to hear of the amazing achievements PLEN alumni have reached and the impact they say PLEN had.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PLEN prepares outstanding female leaders for public service careers by connecting college students with real world leaders in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get it on the radar of every business, nonprofit and government organization out there that works in the public service service, and every college and university.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

PLEN is an amazing organization. I spent a week in Washington, D.C. and met many women in the field of international policy through their Women & International Policy seminar. They were able to connect young women (like myself) to women in all stages of their career development. It was a great introduction for me to understand what I might want for myself in the future as well as to begin building my connections now. The speakers they were able to bring held senior positions yet they were also a group of women who are really open to helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have loved for the seminar to be longer than a week.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2011

I attended my first PLEN seminar during my first year at Douglass College of Rutgers University. After that first foray into Washington, I couldn't get enough! So, I went several more times during my... more

May 17, 2013

PLEN always makes such a difference in the lives of our students! They return to campus filled with excitement about the public policy process and ready to take on the challenges of our world. SO many of our recent graduates have attended PLEN seminars and then moved to Washington to find important jobs where they can make a difference. PLEN is transformative!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2011

I attended my first PLEN seminar during my first year at Douglass College of Rutgers University. After that first foray into Washington, I couldn't get enough! So, I went several more times during my years in college. The view of Washington, D.C. that I received from the many women leaders who spoke to us and shared their own stories was priceless. Those early entries into Washington resulted in a career in politics and now in higher education that has provided a lifetime of love for public policy and for the critical role that women mentors can play in the lives of young women. PLEN opens doors - it is that simple - to young women's careers and life development. In my own life and career, I have discovered that the power of giving to young women is multiplied exponentially over time. I am grateful for that power that PLEN gave to me almost a quarter of a century ago. It is only a pleasure to give back to PLEN and to young women now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own life, in the lives of my fellow alumnae and my current students

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue doing what they do so well - open the doors in Washington to young women interested in public leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I spent the week of March 18-22 in Washington, D.C. attending a week long educational program, Women and Congress, consisting of a series of seminars sponsored by the Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN). It was an enlightening and invigorating experience.
PLEN is a national
organization dedicated to preparing women for leadership in the public policy arena (www.plen.org). But don't let that switch off your interest! The primary goal of PLEN is to ensure that college women have the professional skills, connections, and knowledge needed to launch their careers upon graduation (www.plen.org). This they accomplished in spades! During the week long program we were exposed to a variety of political leadership careers and given advice on how to become leaders ourselves. We met with female Congressional and Executive Branch leaders, their staff, and other policy oriented professionals. Several of the speakers were previous PLEN participants and all were engaged, enthusiastic, and supportive. I never felt so encouraged! I wish there had been a program like this when I was in my early twenties; it would have changed my life's path.
The speakers were dynamic and varied, as were the topics. We heard presentations on how congress really works, careers in energy, environment and transportation policy, healthcare implementation policy, congressional rules, advocating for immigration policy reform, nat’l. & homeland security policy, how congress affects women globally, women’s leadership in congress, careers on the campaign trail, finding the right job and landing it, and DC business etiquette. We met with Representative Virginia Foxx (NC-05), Michelle Altman (Health-care Implementation), Meghan Taira (Leg.Assist. to Senator Schumer (D-NY), Jeanne Butterfield (Special Council, Immigration policy reform), Michele Jawando (Gen'l. Council, Senator Gilibrand (D-NY)), Susan Scanlan (Chair, Nat'l. Council on Women Org. and President, Women's Research and Education Institute), Melissa Feld (Mgr., PAC & Political Affairs, Gen'l Motors Co.), and many, many more. We participated in advocacy training, a lobby day, a goal setting workshop, a resume workshop, a visit to the Democratic/Republican National Committee (your choice), and an evening networking reception. We arranged meetings with our members of congress and observed Senate/House hearing(s). Free time (though there was little of it) was spent sightseeing in our nation's capitol.
While most of the participants were in their twenties, there were several of us who were age thirty and above (I am 56). There were probably as many different reasons for attending as there were attendees. However, we all gained valuable insight, instruction, ideas, and contacts to further each of our goals. One of the caveats that we were given was this: "As with any experience in life, you get out of it what you put into it."
I came away from the experience feeling empowered and excited. I had personally spoken with three of the speakers in the field I was interested in, exchanged business cards and made plans for further meetings. Every young (or not so young) woman should participate in this kind of experience to prepare for entry into the workforce. An immersion in a female focused business environment like this is so beneficial that I think it should be required for every female college student. The experience of being surrounded by like-minded, intelligent, and engaged women is worth the cost of the program. For those traveling from other states, discounted hotel accommodations were arranged by the PLEN at the Carlysle Hotel at a very reasonable rate.
Washington DC has its own energy and pulse; the people who work there are like no other. Just being in the environment was invigorating. You should do it, even if you think you don't have the time. It is so worth it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

As an intern with PLEN, I have learned more about professional development during a weeklong seminar than I could have over a year as a recent graduate. PLEN offers a fantastic experience for college women to be able to network and meet women leaders in their field of interest. PLEN’s career development workshops are something I wished I had experienced during my undergraduate career. PLEN seminars truly give college women the tools to get ahead and kick start their careers in public policy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

As a Sophomore in college, I went to PLEN Women and Congress in Washington DC for a week. The people I got to meet changed my whole perspective on what I want to do in the future, as did the experiences I had. I went back to school and recommended that all women go to PLEN at least once. With PLEN, I think that my interests would never have come out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

As a sophomore, I attended PLEN to learn about the difference between obtaining a J.D. or a M.P.P. During the Seminar, I learned about lobbying, met other outstanding women and traveled back to New Jersey knowing a lot more than I had expected. PLEN is an amazing and irreplaceable resource for young women to obtain professional knowledge. The seminars that PLEN provides allows collegiate women of different backgrounds and interests to speak with professional women and network. There are more women needed in our government and PLEN is doing a great job of introducing young women to possibilities earlier on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

do online research to assist our development and communications efforts Volunteer