Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

While I am a Board Member, I am also a former employee of the Public Justice Center (PJC). So, I have seen the PJC from a few different angles. I'm impressed by a lot of what they do, but two things stand out in my mind. First, there is no doubt about the dedication and passion of each staff person from the attorneys and paralegals, to the development staff, to the Executive Director. These folks know their stuff and they fight hard for their clients and social justice for all. Second, they are innovative in the approaches they take to effect systemic change. They respond to the new crises and they approach the problems from legal, legislative, and educational angles, to name a few.

I'm so proud to support the PJC and keep them doing what they do so well - making our society a better place for everyone.
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is a pleasure to serve on the board of such a wonderful organization. I started at the PJC as a high school intern. It opened my eyes to how much good lawyers do in the world. I am now a practicing attorney and have the privilege to give to an organization that ignited my passion to serve. It is a wonderful organization!
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Public Justice Center provides legal services to groups and individuals. It also advocates for broader changes throughout our legal system via the courts and the legislature. On top of that, PJC offers education to the legal community and broader public on issues of concern. The dedicated and skilled PJC staff continues to amaze. PJC is a bold and effective organization that proves that justice is achievable in our society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The PJC plays a valuable role in Maryland and the nation by working for systemic change for the poor. This is a unique mission. It requires vision, drive, sharp legal skills, and a dedicated staff. The PJC has all these qualities and more. When I donate to PJC, I know that my support is going to a vital cause carried out by an organization that has met the rigorous Standards of Excellence established by the Maryland Association of Non-Profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I started as a volunteer over 20 years ago in the Tenant Advocacy Program and saw the impact that the PJC was making in the lives of people in low-rent housing. Since then I have been a donor and served on the board of directors.

The PJC is well managed and fiscal responsible, as a
donor I appreciate knowing that my contributions are being used wisely.

The PJC staff is passionate about the causes they fight for. Their hard work is making a real difference in the lives of many people who would not have a voice if it were not for this organization. Hearing the stories about children not receiving education, renters losing their homes due to landlord foreclosures, unfair wage practices against laborers is heartbreaking. I'm proud to know the PJC has changed the laws and defended the people being marginalized to ensure a just society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

The Public Justice Center is an organization striving to and succeeding in making systematic change in Maryland and beyond. The PJC uses all of the tools that good advocates should use to address the issues affecting the underrepresented: litigation, legislative lobbying, education, and negotiating. The leadership is excellent and the staff are all energetic, experienced, and dedicated to serving their clients and the whole of Maryland. From top to bottom, they are very good lawyers and advocates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding to achieve the great results they have gotten in the past.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I have worked with the Public Justice Center as a Board Member since 2008. One of the things that most impresses me about this organization is that impact that it makes with a small but energetic staff. Given the enormity of the public justice issues that confront us and the limited resourses that it has, the results that it has obtained are outstanding. It focuses its resources on issues that will have the maximum effect in the public justice arena, be it through the use of impact litigation, legislative enactments, or public education. Recently, it has expanded its clout by partnering with outside law firms with greater frequency to pursue litigation that has the potential to affect thousands of lives. Ii could not be more proud of its work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2012

more

May 2, 2012

About ten years ago, I was invited to join the Board of Directors of the Public Justice Center. The PJC is well respected as a legal services organization in Baltimore and its Board is made up of attorneys and other persons from Baltimore and Washington. The Board guides the Executive Director in developing major case litigation and in supporting legislative directions in the Maryland General Assembly. I have always described the PJC as a small organization with a major impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

There are not many nonprofits like this one: what you get with PJC is a systemic, determined, coordinated effort to remove root causeswith a direct link to suffering, for those populations we most care about when their story rises to the top of the news media outrage and then disappear. This is not a quick fix on hunger, or abuse, or neglect, it is not a bandaid, it is a collection of intellectual, political and humanitarian power that makes the world we live in better. This is a nonprofit where every dollar, those in the overhead category included, is safeguarded, used well, and critical to achieving important wins that benefit every level of society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers