Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The PJC is highly committed to their mission of addressing poverty at its very roots, and while that is a tall order, the team of talented and caring advocates show no signs of being daunted by it. Having worked there over the last year as a Lutheran Volunteer, I had the privilege of seeing the PJC in action and was inspired by attorneys and clients whose persistence has had an undeniable impact on the quality of life of low-income Marylanders. I am so thankful that I was able to have a transformative experience of professional and personal growth through my time at the PJC.
September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Public Justice Center is the best! Their dedication to their work, to help improve the lives of poor and marginalized Marylanders, is inspiring and it is woven into everything they do. I worked there as an intern over the summer and their office is very open and welcoming, there is a team spirit that pervades, and I think that helps their work be even more effective. They pay attention to what's going on on the ground, so their advocacy can be aimed at providing realistic solutions to real problems. They are genuine about their commitment to their communities and Baltimore is lucky to have them!
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Public Justice Center is a fantastic organization. I am a current volunteer at PJC and I am extrememly impressed with how much the staff genuinly cares about their clients. Even though it is a small office the employees posess a wide aray of legal knowledge and skills. The mission of the organization is truely a sustainable approach to helping the most volunterable in society.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

The Public Justice Center is one of my greatest experiences. I have been working as a volunteer for a month now and it is incredible to see their work having so much impact in all marginalized communities!
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Public Justice Center is great. The staff & environment is very professional and friendly. I am an intern in the Human Right to Housing program & the PJC is always looking for ways to help and serve the community better. They do this by taking different approaches such as creating partnerships with other organizations that have similar goals and get things done! The staff is so knowledgeable and passionate about everything they do so they always give 110% in their work. This opportunity has been very rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I spent a year at the Public Justice Center working full-time as a Lutheran Volunteer Corps member. The experience for me was life changing, and I feel incredibly lucky to have been able to volunteer with such an amazing staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I began volunteering with PJC 2 years ago. Since my retirement 12 years ago, I have volunteered with 4 other non-profits. PJC is the only one that has fully used my abilities. No xeroxing, answering phones, getting coffee; instead my experiences with young people, the correctional facilities in Maryland and program development have been utilized in a professional manner. The staff has treated me with respect and appreciation. My time spent with PJC is personally rewarding, and I believe in this organization's ability to make important and vital changes in our cit and state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest that they publicize their achievements nd efforts more widely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I volunteered for PJC for six or seven months a few years ago and I continue to interact with staff on a professional basis. I was and am very impressed with the professionalism, dedication, intelligence and charisma of everyone at PJC. The work they undertake makes a real difference for low-income Marylanders.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

While working at the Public Justice Center as a Jesuit Volunteer with the Human Right to Housing project, I was amazed by the multifaceted approach utilized. Within all of the projects there is a focus on preserving human dignity by advocating for those in a variety of ways. Another unique characteristic is the lateral versus a hierarchical structure that makes the Public Justice Center so successful. Not only did I thoroughly enjoy working at the Public Justice Center, I was incredibly proud of our work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

When I moved to Maryland in 2005, I was looking for an organization that had the potential to make significant impact and that was focused on helping those with limited access to resources (including housing, employment, education, legal protections, etc). I found that organization in the Public Justice Center. The breadth and depth of the issues that they work on is astounding. I first volunteered on their access to education for homeless kids project, enforcing the McKinney-Vento Act. And from there I was hooked by the mission of this organization and the people within the organization, who care passionately about these issues. I have since worked on a variety of issues with the PJC including ensuring basic health care and sanitation for detainees at the Baltimore City Detention Center, on their Civil Gideon project and increasing safeguards for tenants against retaliation from their landlords when they demand to have safe housing. The issues that PJC work on are tough ones, not easily solved. Yet when I spend my time with the PJC and their employees I see how systemic change is possible, and it makes me inspired to continue working on these issues that have such deep impact for those that are least protected in our society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers