Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.985075
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Only a very few non-profits get my attention and my donation. Proyecto Itzaes is one and my most favorite. I strongly believe in their mission whereby the goal is to provide education resources and health information to thousands of Mayan children and families on the Yucatan peninsula. Everyone should support this program because it does nothing but good for all participants.
August 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She und... more

August 21, 2014

Proyecto Itzaes is an excellent example of how to be a high impact non profit. It is managed by a highly competent people with a passion for the organization's mission. As a financial supporter who has personally observed PI's activities, I can say that its work is having a big impact on local Yucatan communities. Financial resources are used very efficiently and are well focused on the organizations mission. It is easy for me to urge others to support PI as well. Bill Gomez

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She understands the Yucatan community and its needs extremely well. Proyecto Itzaes services are very well targeted and cost effective in servicing the community. My wife adn I are very enthusiastic donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Many places on this planet could benefit from using Proyecto Itzaes as a model. The seed for this project, planted by Cindy Wilbur in 1995, has grown and blossomed into a flower of literacy, education and community involvement that should travel well beyond the little Mayan village in the Yucatan Peninsula. Watching the progress on the PI Facebook page, and learning that once-illiterate children have been helped by PI to graduate from college and then come back to help others to do so tells me that the seed Cindy planted is bearing abundant fruit. Definitely a worthwhile organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes provides resources for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal villages of the Yucatan. PI has been providing access to books, essential school and learning sup... more

August 11, 2014

Proyecto Itzaes provides education resources, conservation of cultural heritage, and health information for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal Mayan villages of the Yucatan. I have been a donor and friend of PI since 2004. They provide access to books, essential school and learning supplies, 21st Century technology education, life skills and generational literacy programs and services producing amazing results. Many of the youth participating in the Proyecto Itzaes program have gone on to become graduates of the University of Merida, a testament to the quality of this extraordinary program! Many graduates have returned to their villages to start careers and businesses and also to volunteer at PI "to give back, pay it forward, and help the next generation of children and improve the quality life of the village." I know every dollar I commit to Proyecto Itzaes benefits and helps to improve the quality of life for children and will improve opportunities for their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes provides resources for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal villages of the Yucatan. PI has been providing access to books, essential school and learning supplies, computer education, life skills and generational literacy programs and services producing amazing results. Many of the children participating in the Proyecto Itzaes program have gone on to become graduates of the University of Merida, a testament to the quality of this extraordinary program! Many of the graduates have returned to their villages starting successful careers and businesses and also volunteer at PI "to give back and help the next generation of children and improve the quality life of the village." I know every dollar I commit to PI benefits and helps to improve the quality of life for children and will improve opportunities for their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

Projecto Itzaes is an amazing organization that is performing critical work to empower the Mayan community in Yucatan, Mexico. Providing both educational and health resources, the staff of PI works di... more

August 10, 2014

PI is an amazing organization with a devoted staff that is committed to improving the lives of Maya families in Yucatan. Please support generously!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013

Projecto Itzaes is an amazing organization that is performing critical work to empower the Mayan community in Yucatan, Mexico. Providing both educational and health resources, the staff of PI works directly with the community to listen and comprehend the needs of a people that live on less than $1 a day. Respecting their cultural heritage, PI also provides the educational materials for the Mayan community to connect with the environment. PI has also coordinated trips so that the young children can visit the famous Mayan ruins in Yucatan and have the opportunity to get a glimpse into the history of their culture, which they otherwise would not be able to do given the high price of tourism. Thanks to PI, many of the families and young children are learning the value of eating healthy rather than spending the little money they make on cheap processed foods and drinks that have had a negative impact in the health of their community. Furthermore, with the resources and help of PI, some of the young people have gotten themselves into college and are using their education to help back home! It’s truly admiring the work that founder, Cindy Wilber, and Simon Clopton have done in this humble community. Donations to PI are more than just donations, they are an investment in the human capital of this indigenous community that has been undermined by society and the Mexican government for so long. PI is the organization to trust and believe in when it comes to using all the funding for the Mayan people it serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I am very pleased to be able to donate to Proyecto Itzaes. I had been looking for a nonprofit to donate to that was not too large so that I could better see the impact of my contributions. I have truly found that in Proyecto Itzaes. I have the utmost confidence in Cindy Wilber regarding her vision of this program and its effect on the people who have benefited from it. I have felt very appreciated by Cindy and I look forward to each payday when I donate. I am very excited for the opportunities that Proyecto Itzaes will provide for its recipients in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Proyecto Itzaes is an inspiring charity organization that directly helps people in Yucatan where their own industries of fishing and farming can no longer sustain them. The good work this group has improved literacy for children and their families because it respects Mayan heritage and does not impose an outside culture on the people. The programs builds a better future for those in the Yucatan villages by helping them find new opportunities. We can all help out in some way. My husband and I make an annual donation to P.I., and were glad to give items for a benefit yard sale in Palo Alto. Proyecto gives hope, not just to those in the Yucatan but to us in the U.S. as our support makes a difference, and we are part of the global village.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

As others have said, PI is an extremely effective organization, but perhaps more important, they are creative. The organization fosters a fruitful interaction among efforts to improve literacy, train learners to teach others, promote thoughtful health behaviors, protect ecosystems, and acknowledge the value of local culture while introducing young people to global ideas. Such efforts are normally kept separate, but PI brings them together in a way that feels organic and sustainable. Even as a donor, I am made to feel like an essential part of the effort and not just a source of cash. PI is on my list of regular donations, but for holidays and special occasions I also donate on behalf of others because I feel so strongly about its mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes works at the grass roots to build bright futures through partnership. PI invests where it means the most: with children and with community. This organization will continue to serve t... more

April 24, 2013

Proyecto Itzaes is an incredible organization that makes so much out of its resources. Because of its hard working and creative team and its strong local support, PI makes the most out of every donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes works at the grass roots to build bright futures through partnership. PI invests where it means the most: with children and with community. This organization will continue to serve the communities of Yucatan with empathy and creativity for a long time to come!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

PI is doing great things to highlight the science of ecology in Mayan Villages as well as promoting education. The focus on science and inclusion of scientists and graduate students into the programming is an excellent complement to literacy and education overall. PI is definitely making a difference in the communities it serves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers