Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.985515
Write A Review
August 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a Doctoral candidate in math education at Stanford University specializing in teacher education of linguistic and ethnic/racial minority students, and I have been a mathematics teacher for 22 years. What I like most about Proyecto Itzaes is that our donations translate into real differences for people at both the everyday and big-life levels. For example, the summer science projects brings engaging enrichment activities to children in these Yucatec Maya communities, and not only does this put smiles on their little faces, but it also lays the groundwork for their lifetime love affair with education. I have seen photos of children buried amidst mountains of legos, and they are building, creating, and flourishing. I have seen pics of children making games and activites, armed with only their imaginations and cardboard. I met a 22 year-old woman who was ushered through their programs since elementary school, who is now teaching at Proyecto Itzaes and is finishing her degree in math. She will be helping me with my research project in the Yucatan next year, and we are hoping that she goes to Stanford in the future to study math education to bring back her expertise to her local community. When you donate to Proyecto Itzaes, you are not just teaching a child for a day or a week or a school year, you are teaching a kid to love to learn for a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them have more money to bring even bigger opportunities to the local community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

It's been a pleasure to work with the Proyecto Itzaes team; their longtime record and passion for serving students in the Yucatan region of Mexico is impressive and inspiring .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

Cindy Wilber,
Is an incredibly focused, driven and hard working individual who has devoted herself to this charitable organization that she single handedly founded, formed and contiues to serve. She is opening a window of opportunity to these children that would never be opened otherwise, since
they live in a remote area with nearly no access to proper education. I have worked with her on a professional level with my own high risk, high need students in a California, and the compassion and creativity and committment that she demonstrated in this capacity is something that I have rarely seen in the field of education. She is extremely focused, organized and passionate about what she does and her organization deserves every bit of support that it can get, so that it can continue to focus and flourish far into the future. She is changing lives and changing the future and giving hope to these children, who live in such dire poverty.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes fulfills a much needed role in the Yucatan. From library books to computer literacy to varied educational opportunities, PI works hard to serve thousands of families in the Yucatan. Other projects include education about the environment, including reforestation and beach clean-up. I am the board chair of Mujeres de Maiz Opportunity Foundation and can attest to the uncountable hours, untiring effort, and total devotion to her cause that Cindy Wilber, founder and executive director of PI, invests in her organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers