Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.978265
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

Cindy is an amazing and hardworking passionate individual. She pours so much of herself into Proyecto Itzaes and gets RESULTS. Not only does she raise money for the students, but she is personally involved in their community. She spends time in the Yucatan and loves every minute. The students receive some funding from Proyecto that truly changes their educational experience, often the funding is the factor that allows some to continue attending school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I know Cindy personally and when she started this I supported her because it sounded like a worthwhile program.
I am so happy that I was in from the beginning. It has blossomed into an incredible organization which keeps expanding its programs. It has made a major impact on so many lives. I
love hearing that some of these children are now finishing high school and college and giving back to their communites. Also, the fact the the families are part of it brings it altogether.
Dania

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

I am chair of International Service for the Rotary Club of Palo Alto. We have been so impressed with the work of Proyecto Itzaes in poor Maya villages in the Yucatán that we have done several projects with them. Before PI, the principal occupations in the villages were fishing and subsistence farming. PI introduced books, computers, better nutrition, sustainable agriculture, and even a local farmers market to attract customers from Mérida, saving farmers transportation costs. Now students are attending university and entering new occupations, but still returning to live in their villages and volunteer to teach. We can't think of a more effective program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

PI is one of the most outstanding programs in the world of nonprofits for public service due to the beneficial influence it has on Yucatán communities. Because it teaches a philosophy of self-perpetuating, self-sustaining education, it grants underdeveloped communities empowerment to create change for the benefit of everyone. PI works holistically to tackle problems centered around nutrition and health, environmental and ecological degradation, lack of sustainability, and general poverty. It emboldens individuals to rise up and pursue their dreams, and most importantly, to give back to the community. I met a PI student, Javi (Javier), when he came up to visit Stanford University to give a talk about the program. Javi is studying in college in México supported by PI and by his community. He is the first to go to college from his home and is an exceptional individual who is a stellar product of PI's success. He has the chance to pursue higher education because of PI's efforts. Talking to Javi personally I can sense how passionate he is about PI. In light of current world trends regarding environmental desecration and loss of traditional ecological knowledge (which are fields I work in) I am particularly conscious of the importance of PI's work and think what they are doing is a model system of utmost importance to the world currently.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

For over 20 years I have learned about the dreams and the goals for Proyecto Itzaes. As it has grown, the program has never waivered from its mission to provide more educational opportunities for the children in small villages in the Yucatan. Whether this has meant setting up computers and teaching tech skills, acquiring donated Internet access capabilities, bringing in new books and building rooms in which learning can take place, generating youthful interest in the Maya culture and its language, starting a farmers market to benefit so many villagers, teaching children about their environment, or planning festivals for the enjoyment of all ages, this has been one of the most worthwhile programs I have seen and has involved the efforts of so many selfless volunteers. Its success is evident in the accomplishments of the young people whose lives it has enriched,, the enthusiasm of the villagers it serves, its expansion from one small area to many villages, and its plans for the future. The smiles of the children on its web page www.proyectoitzaes.org testify to the excellence of this nonprofit and to its true meaning. mbaron

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes is a remarkable organization run by some of the best people I know. They work tirelessly to bring educational opportunities to children in small rural towns. Anyone who has been lucky enough to visit the villages that Proyecto Itzaes is able to reach knows that they are making a huge difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Wonderful Organization. Take the time to view the website and have a look at all the amazing opportunities that the foundation supports.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Great organization! I would highlky recomend supporting PI any way that you can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes is a model for the many nonprofits struggling to improve the lives of underserved children. I have personally visited the sites PI serves in the Yucatan and seen the daily successes first hand. The afterschool programs are culturally rich offering the children an understanding of their Mayan heritage as well as exposing them to quality literature, challenging crafts, diet/health awareness and computer technology.

On my visit, I took down a doorway puppet theatre and in my lousy Spanish lead the kids in impromptu presentations. Soon I was in the audience watching and laughing at how personalities came alive when hidden from view by a couple of yards of material.

What makes this organization stand out in my mind is the commitment to involve the families. I saw parents standing under umbrellas on a weeknight in stormy weather waiting to help their children select books from the take-home library. Plus, I know that teens, who grew up with PI enrichment, return regularly as volunteers to help with the younger children.

Proyecto Itzaes positively changes lives. I‘m grateful each year for the opportunity to support such a credible and dedicated organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

It has been a rewarding pleasure to help Proyecto Itzaes. They do great job in allowing the kids of the small towns to have access to education that they wouldn´t have otherwise. Any help and funding would be greatly increase it´s huge benefits to the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers