Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.978265
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

The mission of Proyecto Itzaes (PI) is to help impoverished and neglected Maya families in the Yucatán with literacy, health, and a stronger economy. I’m very familiar with it, because as chair of International Service for the Rotary Club of Palo Alto, I have worked to have our club make several grants to PI and also traveled there three times to do hands-on work. When PI was founded, most people in the affected villages were illiterate fishermen or subsistence farmers. With our help, PI equipped an empty local library in one village with books and furniture and offered after-school classes on computer skills. The result was absolutely transforming: Children lined up every day with their book bags, and families began reading to each other. PI gave college scholarships to promising students, who returned with higher skills to teach others, following the motto of “Learning in order to Teach.” PI has since extended its program to five other villages, expanded its offerings to include subjects such as nutrition (to avoid Diabetes) and organic agriculture, and set up a successful farmers market. It would be hard to imagine a program with greater positive impact on people’s lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't see how they could do better with their limited resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

Proyecto Iztaes is a wonderful organization, led by Cindy Wilber. They have really made a difference in several villages in Yucatan, by promoting education, reading, computer skills, culture preservation, and healthy food habits. I have known Cindy most my life, and consider her a role model. Her drive, generosity, high energy, and commitment are unparalleled, and Proyecto Itzaes is a product of all these virtues in action, seeking to improve the quality of life of Mayan children and their families. I sincerely wish Proyecto Itzaes continued success and that many more people contribute to its much needed cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

Proyecto Itzaes deserves to be rated in the top echelons of service agencies. Their respect for the Mayan culture and family based learning is unparalleled. While I have no personal experience with the agency I have heard of their good work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I am very pleased to be able to donate to Proyecto Itzaes. I had been looking for a nonprofit to donate to that was not too large so that I could better see the impact of my contributions. I have truly found that in Proyecto Itzaes. I have the utmost confidence in Cindy Wilber regarding her vision of this program and its effect on the people who have benefited from it. I have felt very appreciated by Cindy and I look forward to each payday when I donate. I am very excited for the opportunities that Proyecto Itzaes will provide for its recipients in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

Cindy Wilber,
Is an incredibly focused, driven and hard working individual who has devoted herself to this charitable organization that she single handedly founded, formed and contiues to serve. She is opening a window of opportunity to these children that would never be opened otherwise, since
they live in a remote area with nearly no access to proper education. I have worked with her on a professional level with my own high risk, high need students in a California, and the compassion and creativity and committment that she demonstrated in this capacity is something that I have rarely seen in the field of education. She is extremely focused, organized and passionate about what she does and her organization deserves every bit of support that it can get, so that it can continue to focus and flourish far into the future. She is changing lives and changing the future and giving hope to these children, who live in such dire poverty.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I worked with Proyecto Itzaes during the summer of 2011. I had studied human biology, and worked with local leaders to help organize community events on health, nutrition, and diabetes. The people of ... more

April 26, 2013

I worked for Proyecto Itzaes a few summers back, and the relationships I formed there remain strong to this day. There is such a strong local community, and the kids and adults alike are achieving tremendous things. I will continue to support their work and i hope that you do to!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2012

I worked with Proyecto Itzaes during the summer of 2011. I had studied human biology, and worked with local leaders to help organize community events on health, nutrition, and diabetes. The people of Ixil had really taken ownership of PI, and welcomed me with open arms. I was lucky enough to work with many of the kids to make a music video about staying healthy. You can get a pretty good idea for how awesome the kids are by watching the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5TMFN0wCimA .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Cindy has done an outstanding job of developing reading programs as well as helping to create economic opportunities for the local Maya. She is highly focused and spends the organizations funds carefully and wisely, getting the most from her resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Proyecto Itzaes is an inspiring charity organization that directly helps people in Yucatan where their own industries of fishing and farming can no longer sustain them. The good work this group has improved literacy for children and their families because it respects Mayan heritage and does not impose an outside culture on the people. The programs builds a better future for those in the Yucatan villages by helping them find new opportunities. We can all help out in some way. My husband and I make an annual donation to P.I., and were glad to give items for a benefit yard sale in Palo Alto. Proyecto gives hope, not just to those in the Yucatan but to us in the U.S. as our support makes a difference, and we are part of the global village.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She understands the Yucatan community and its needs extremely well. Proyecto Itzaes services are very well targeted and cost effective in servicing the community. My wife adn I are very enthusiastic donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

As others have said, PI is an extremely effective organization, but perhaps more important, they are creative. The organization fosters a fruitful interaction among efforts to improve literacy, train learners to teach others, promote thoughtful health behaviors, protect ecosystems, and acknowledge the value of local culture while introducing young people to global ideas. Such efforts are normally kept separate, but PI brings them together in a way that feels organic and sustainable. Even as a donor, I am made to feel like an essential part of the effort and not just a source of cash. PI is on my list of regular donations, but for holidays and special occasions I also donate on behalf of others because I feel so strongly about its mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers